How to Become a Teacher in New Jersey
The short answer
New Jersey's traditional route awards a CEAS after completing an approved prep program, meeting GPA (3.0 post-2016) and Praxis subject tests, then a district-issued provisional certificate for up to two years with mentoring and AchieveNJ evaluations. Permanent Standard certification follows successful Provisional Teacher Process completion. CE/CEAS application fee is $170 per N.J.A.C. 6A:9B-5.6.
- Complete a New Jersey-approved educator preparation program
- Meet GPA and Praxis subject-matter requirements
- Receive a Certificate of Eligibility with Advanced Standing (CEAS)
- Obtain employment and enter the Provisional Teacher Process
Key takeaways
- New Jersey's traditional route awards a CEAS after completing an approved prep program, meeting GPA (3.0 post-2016) and Praxis subject tests, then a district-issued provisional certificate for up to two years with mentoring and AchieveNJ evaluations. Permanent Standard certification follows successful Provisional Teacher Process completion. CE/CEAS application fee is $170 per N.J.A.C. 6A:9B-5.6.
- Complete a New Jersey-approved educator preparation program
- Meet GPA and Praxis subject-matter requirements
- Receive a Certificate of Eligibility with Advanced Standing (CEAS)
New Jersey certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete a New Jersey-approved educator preparation program
Earn a bachelor's degree or higher through an NJDOE-approved educator preparation program that includes a coherent sequence of professional education courses culminating in clinical practice. Your institution nominates you for certification upon completion.
Source: nj.gov
Meet GPA and Praxis subject-matter requirements
Candidates graduating on or after September 1, 2016 need a cumulative GPA of at least 3.00 (2.75 before that date, with GPA–Praxis flexibility options). Pass the Praxis subject assessment(s) required for your instructional endorsement.
Source: nj.gov
Receive a Certificate of Eligibility with Advanced Standing (CEAS)
The CEAS authorizes you to seek and accept employment in New Jersey public schools requiring certification. NJ-approved program completers are nominated for the CEAS by their educator preparation program in NJEdCert.
Source: nj.gov
Obtain employment and enter the Provisional Teacher Process
Once hired, the school district enrolls you in the Provisional Teacher Process (PTP) and requests a provisional certificate valid for up to two years (renewable once). Complete mentoring (minimum 30 weeks) and AchieveNJ evaluations.
Source: nj.gov
Convert to a permanent Standard certificate
After two effective or highly effective final summative ratings (one per school year within a three-year span) and completion of mentoring, the district initiates conversion to the permanent Standard Teaching Certificate in NJEdCert.
Source: nj.gov
New Jersey separates eligibility from employment authorization in a three-step architecture that shapes every hiring timeline. The Certificate of Eligibility with Advanced Standing (CEAS) is not a teaching license in the daily sense—it certifies that a preparation-program completer has met academic and testing prerequisites and may seek certified employment. Only after a district hires the candidate does the Provisional Teacher Process begin, converting the CEAS into an actual employment credential with mentoring and evaluation obligations under AchieveNJ.
Academic thresholds tightened for the modern pipeline. Graduates on or after September 1, 2016 face a 3.00 cumulative GPA requirement, though NJDOE's GPA–Praxis flexibility tables allow some candidates between 2.75 and 2.99 to offset GPA shortfalls with elevated subject-test performance. Institutions nominate CEAS candidates in NJEdCert, so applicants who completed programs outside New Jersey follow different documentation paths even when tests and degrees appear equivalent on paper.
The Provisional Teacher Process is district-operated and time-bounded. Provisional certificates run up to two years, with one renewal possible if standard requirements are not yet met. Mentoring must span at least 30 weeks, and educators need two effective or highly effective summative ratings—one per year within a three-year window—before the district can initiate Standard certificate conversion. That structure makes district quality of induction programming a material variable for new hires.
Fee policy consolidates provisional and standard issuance into a single $170 CE/CEAS charge under N.J.A.C. 6A:9B-5.6(b), covering both the provisional and standard certificates in the instructional pipeline. Reciprocity applies to CEAS and Standard pathways with rules-based review, but the alternate-route Certificate of Eligibility itself is not reciprocated—career changers from other states cannot simply transfer a non-traditional credential and skip New Jersey's CE program requirements.
Required exams and fees
New Jersey uses ETS Praxis (Core, subject, and educational services assessments). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- Praxis subject assessment(s) — endorsement-specific
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
New Jersey certification exams, NJDOE — Traditional Route Step 1: Establishing Eligibility. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
The Standard Teaching Certificate is permanent and does not require periodic renewal. Educators holding other certificate types should consult N.J.A.C. 6A:9B for continuing education and advancement requirements applicable to their credential.
Moving a license to New Jersey
Out-of-state educators with a valid standard or CEAS-equivalent certificate may qualify for New Jersey certification through reciprocity review under N.J.A.C. 6A:9B, subject to basic skills, subject-matter, and program requirements. Certificate of Eligibility (alternate-route) credentials are not reciprocated from other states.
Official New Jersey reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in New Jersey
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for New Jersey; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $137,440
- Employed
- 11,450
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $131,570
- Employed
- 4,100
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $78,200
- Employed
- 40,300
- Projected growth
- +5.5%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $78,770
- Employed
- 23,650
- Projected growth
- +5.5%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $82,200
- Employed
- 38,140
- Projected growth
- +5.8%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, New Jersey, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in New Jersey
The U.S. Department of Education designates these New Jersey subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every New Jersey preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
What GPA do I need for a New Jersey CEAS?
NJDOE requires a cumulative GPA of at least 3.00 for candidates graduating on or after September 1, 2016 (2.75 for earlier graduates). GPA–Praxis flexibility may apply for GPAs between 2.75 and 2.99.
Do I apply for my own provisional certificate?
No. NJDOE states candidates cannot apply for the provisional certificate; the hiring school district requests it after enrolling the teacher in the Provisional Teacher Process.
How much is the CE or CEAS application fee?
N.J.A.C. 6A:9B-5.6(b) sets a $170 nonrefundable fee for each CE and CEAS, which includes issuance of both the provisional and standard certificates.
Can I reciprocate an alternate-route certificate from another state?
New Jersey reciprocates CEAS and Standard certificates with rules-based review, but the Certificate of Eligibility (alternate route) is not reciprocated from out-of-state non-traditional credentials.
References
- NJDOE — Traditional Route Step 1: Establishing Eligibility. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Obtain employment and enter the Provisional Teacher Process. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Praxis subject assessment(s) — endorsement-specific. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- New Jersey certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.