How to Become a Teacher in Virginia
The short answer
Virginia teachers need a bachelor's degree, a VDOE-approved preparation program with student teaching, Praxis subject tests (VCLA eliminated July 1, 2024), and statutory trainings (dyslexia, CPR, etc.). Apply via VALO. Renewable licenses run ten years with 270 PD points, or five years with 180. Reciprocity available for OOS licenses, approved EPPs, or NBPTS.
- Earn a bachelor's degree
- Complete a VDOE-approved educator preparation program
- Pass required Praxis assessments
- Complete statutory training requirements
Key takeaways
- Virginia teachers need a bachelor's degree, a VDOE-approved preparation program with student teaching, Praxis subject tests (VCLA eliminated July 1, 2024), and statutory trainings (dyslexia, CPR, etc.). Apply via VALO. Renewable licenses run ten years with 270 PD points, or five years with 180. Reciprocity available for OOS licenses, approved EPPs, or NBPTS.
- Earn a bachelor's degree
- Complete a VDOE-approved educator preparation program
- Pass required Praxis assessments
Virginia certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Virginia Department of Education (VDOE) publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Earn a bachelor's degree
Complete a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution. Virginia requires a baccalaureate degree for standard teaching licenses unless a specific license type exempts the requirement.
Source: doe.virginia.gov
Complete a VDOE-approved educator preparation program
Finish a state-approved educator preparation program including student teaching or an approved clinical experience equivalent. The institution recommends you for licensure upon completion.
Source: doe.virginia.gov
Pass required Praxis assessments
Pass the Praxis subject assessments and any other assessments required for your endorsement area. As of July 1, 2024, the Virginia Communication and Literacy Assessment (VCLA) is no longer required; Praxis and endorsement-specific requirements apply.
Source: doe.virginia.gov
Complete statutory training requirements
Satisfy Virginia statutory trainings including dyslexia awareness, CPR/AED, emergency first aid, and child abuse and neglect recognition training as required for your license type.
Source: doe.virginia.gov
Apply through VALO
Submit your licensure application through the Virginia Licensure Online (VALO) system with official transcripts, assessment scores, and institutional recommendation.
Source: valo.virginia.gov
Virginia's licensure landscape shifted in 2024 when the Virginia Communication and Literacy Assessment (VCLA) requirement ended on July 1, 2024, leaving Praxis subject assessments and endorsement-specific requirements as the primary testing gate for most candidates. Applicants who prepared under the old VCLA regime should confirm current assessment tables in VDOE's Licensure Assessment Requirements document rather than relying on outdated program checklists.
Beyond examinations, Virginia embeds statutory trainings directly into licensure eligibility. Dyslexia awareness, CPR/AED, emergency first aid, and child abuse recognition requirements reflect state code mandates that traditional university programs typically integrate but reciprocity candidates must verify independently. Missing a training certificate can delay VALO application approval even when Praxis scores and degrees are complete.
Renewal architecture offers flexibility with accountability. Educators on ten-year renewable licenses accumulate 270 professional development points over the validity period, while a five-year option requires 180 points. That dual-track system rewards educators who prefer longer license cycles but still ties renewal to documented professional growth rather than simple fee payment.
Reciprocity in Virginia is credential-specific rather than blanket. VDOE recognizes valid out-of-state licenses, graduates of approved out-of-state preparation programs, and National Board Certified Teachers through distinct pathways, each with its own assessment and experience documentation. Career changers should not assume a generic 'reciprocity agreement' waives Virginia's endorsement-level Praxis requirements without a VALO specialist review.
Required exams and fees
Virginia uses ETS Praxis subject and professional assessments (VCLA eliminated July 1, 2024). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- Praxis subject assessments — endorsement-specific
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Virginia certification exams, VDOE — Licensure Services. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
Renewable licenses may be renewed every ten years with 270 professional development points, or every five years with 180 points depending on the renewal option selected. Educators must complete statutory training updates as required.
Moving a license to Virginia
Virginia offers reciprocity for holders of valid out-of-state licenses, completers of VDOE-approved out-of-state educator preparation programs, and National Board Certified Teachers, subject to assessment and training requirements. VDOE reviews credentials individually; reciprocity is not automatic.
Official Virginia reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Virginia
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Virginia; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $106,100
- Employed
- 8,470
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $120,840
- Employed
- Not reported.
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $65,550
- Employed
- 37,880
- Projected growth
- +5.6%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $63,520
- Employed
- 18,290
- Projected growth
- +5.7%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $72,170
- Employed
- 31,100
- Projected growth
- +6%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Virginia, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Virginia
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Virginia subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Virginia preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
Is the VCLA still required in Virginia?
No. VDOE eliminated the Virginia Communication and Literacy Assessment (VCLA) requirement effective July 1, 2024. Endorsement-specific Praxis and other assessments listed in the Licensure Assessment Requirements document apply instead.
How many PD points do I need to renew a Virginia teaching license?
Renewable licenses may be renewed every ten years with 270 professional development points or every five years with 180 points, depending on the renewal option selected.
Where do I apply for a Virginia teaching license?
All licensure applications are submitted through the Virginia Licensure Online (VALO) system at valo.virginia.gov.
Does Virginia accept National Board Certification for reciprocity?
Yes. VDOE's reciprocity page includes pathways for National Board Certified Teachers, along with holders of valid out-of-state licenses and completers of approved out-of-state educator preparation programs.
References
- VDOE — Licensure Services. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Pass required Praxis assessments. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Apply through VALO. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Virginia Department of Education (VDOE). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.