How to Become a Teacher in Massachusetts
The short answer
Massachusetts Route One requires a bachelor's degree, DESE-approved prep, MTEL Communication and Literacy ($112 both subtests) plus subject tests, and SEI for core academic teachers. Initial licenses last five employment years; Professional licenses renew every five calendar years with 150 PDPs. First ELAR application fee is $100.
- Earn a bachelor's degree through an approved preparation program
- Pass required MTEL assessments
- Obtain the SEI endorsement for core academic teachers
- Receive an Initial license
Key takeaways
- Massachusetts Route One requires a bachelor's degree, DESE-approved prep, MTEL Communication and Literacy ($112 both subtests) plus subject tests, and SEI for core academic teachers. Initial licenses last five employment years; Professional licenses renew every five calendar years with 150 PDPs. First ELAR application fee is $100.
- Earn a bachelor's degree through an approved preparation program
- Pass required MTEL assessments
- Obtain the SEI endorsement for core academic teachers
Massachusetts certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Earn a bachelor's degree through an approved preparation program
Complete a DESE-approved educator preparation program (Route One) including required field-based experience. Route One is the standard university-based pathway for candidates who enroll in preparation as part of or after their bachelor's degree.
Source: doe.mass.edu
Pass required MTEL assessments
Pass the MTEL Communication and Literacy Skills test (Reading and Writing subtests) and the subject matter test(s) for your license area. Approved alternative assessments may substitute for specific MTEL exams where listed by DESE.
Source: doe.mass.edu
Obtain the SEI endorsement for core academic teachers
Core academic teachers, principals, and supervisors must hold the Sheltered English Immersion (SEI) endorsement. Most approved preparation programs integrate SEI requirements before recommending candidates for licensure.
Source: doe.mass.edu
Receive an Initial license
Upon program completion and passing all required MTEL tests, DESE issues an Initial license valid for five years of employment. Initial licenses may be extended once and must be advanced to Professional status.
Source: doe.mass.edu
Advance to a Professional license
After three years of employment under an Initial license and completion of an induction program, advance to a Professional license valid for five calendar years, renewable with 150 professional development points (PDPs).
Source: doe.mass.edu
Massachusetts licenses educators on an employment-year clock that differs materially from calendar-year validity used elsewhere. Initial licenses measure validity in years of employment—not calendar time—meaning educators who substitute, leave the profession temporarily, or work part-time may consume fewer validity years than the calendar suggests. Professional licenses shift to five calendar years, and renewal requires 150 PDPs with mandated content areas including SEI, disability strategies, and bullying prevention.
MTEL remains the statutory assessment backbone even as DESE expands approved alternative assessments for Communication and Literacy Skills and select subject areas. The Communication and Literacy combined administration costs $112 for both subtests on the MTEL vendor site, with individual subtests at $69.50 each. Praxis and other alternatives may substitute only where DESE has explicitly approved comparability; subject matter tests generally have no waiver pathway.
The SEI endorsement requirement embeds English learner instruction expectations into core academic licensing from the start. Route One completers typically satisfy SEI through their approved preparation program, but out-of-state applicants on Temporary or Provisional pathways must verify SEI status before advancing to Initial or Professional licenses. That requirement distinguishes Massachusetts from states where ESL endorsements remain optional add-ons.
603 CMR 7.04 structures license types—Temporary, Provisional, Initial, Professional, Military Spouse—with distinct advancement rules. Out-of-state teachers with three years of experience may enter on Temporary licenses valid one year, while others may receive Provisional or Initial licenses after ELAR review. First-time ELAR applications cost $100 with $25 for each additional license field or grade level.
Required exams and fees
Massachusetts uses Massachusetts Tests for Educator Licensure (MTEL); approved Praxis alternatives for Communication and Literacy Skills only. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- MTEL Communication and Literacy Skills (Reading 101 + Writing 201)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- $112
- MTEL subject matter test(s) — license-area specific
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Massachusetts certification exams, DESE — License Types and Validity. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
Professional licenses renew every five calendar years with 150 professional development points (PDPs), including required content in mentoring, training in strategies for effective schooling for students with disabilities, and English learner education, plus school-wide training on prevention of bullying.
Moving a license to Massachusetts
Out-of-state educators may qualify for Temporary (one year, three years OOS experience), Provisional (five years), or Initial licenses depending on credentials and experience. DESE reviews each application through ELAR; testing waivers may apply for approved alternative assessments or military spouse licenses.
Official Massachusetts reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Massachusetts
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Massachusetts; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $128,430
- Employed
- 10,570
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $128,970
- Employed
- 9,120
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $94,000
- Employed
- 29,930
- Projected growth
- +1.4%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $89,450
- Employed
- 16,570
- Projected growth
- +1.6%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $95,260
- Employed
- 28,460
- Projected growth
- +2%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Massachusetts, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Massachusetts
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Massachusetts subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Massachusetts preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
Does Massachusetts use Praxis for teacher certification?
Massachusetts primarily uses MTEL. DESE accepts approved alternative assessments in place of the MTEL Communication and Literacy Skills test and select subject matter tests, which may include Praxis where listed as comparable.
How much does the MTEL Communication and Literacy test cost?
The MTEL vendor site lists $112 for both Communication and Literacy subtests together, or $69.50 per individual subtest.
What is the first Massachusetts license application fee?
DESE charges a $100 application fee for the first license submitted through ELAR; each additional license field or grade level costs $25.
How many PDPs are required to renew a Professional license?
Professional licenses renew every five calendar years with 150 professional development points, including required content in disability strategies, English learner education, and bullying prevention.
References
- DESE — License Types and Validity. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Earn a bachelor's degree through an approved preparation program. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Pass required MTEL assessments. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- MTEL Communication and Literacy Skills (Reading 101 + Writing 201). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Massachusetts certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.