Alternative Teacher Certification in Massachusetts

Requirements verified Aug 11, 2026 against the Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE)Title II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

Massachusetts alternate routes include Provisional licenses (five employment years max) for candidates meeting degree and MTEL subject tests, plus Commissioner-approved pathways waiving Communication and Literacy MTEL for eligible candidates. Subject matter MTEL cannot be waived. Advance to Initial then Professional via ELAR; first application fee $100.

  1. Determine eligibility for an alternative licensure pathway
    Massachusetts offers alternative pathways including the Alternative Ass…
  2. Pass subject matter MTEL or approved alternatives
    All candidates must pass subject matter knowledge tests for their licen…
  3. Secure employment and receive a Provisional license
    Provisional licenses are available for individuals who meet testing and…
  4. Complete preparation while employed
    Finish an approved preparation program, PAL requirements, or district-s…

Key takeaways

  • Massachusetts alternate routes include Provisional licenses (five employment years max) for candidates meeting degree and MTEL subject tests, plus Commissioner-approved pathways waiving Communication and Literacy MTEL for eligible candidates. Subject matter MTEL cannot be waived. Advance to Initial then Professional via ELAR; first application fee $100.
  • Determine eligibility for an alternative licensure pathway
  • Pass subject matter MTEL or approved alternatives
  • Secure employment and receive a Provisional license

Massachusetts alternative certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Determine eligibility for an alternative licensure pathway

    Massachusetts offers alternative pathways including the Alternative Assessment Pathway (waiving Communication and Literacy MTEL for eligible candidates), Performance Assessment for Initial License (PAL), and district-based provisional routes for specific license areas under 603 CMR 7.04.

    Source: doe.mass.edu

  2. Pass subject matter MTEL or approved alternatives

    All candidates must pass subject matter knowledge tests for their license area. Communication and Literacy may be waived only through the Commissioner-approved alternative licensure pathway for candidates meeting specific eligibility criteria.

    Source: doe.mass.edu

  3. Secure employment and receive a Provisional license

    Provisional licenses are available for individuals who meet testing and degree requirements but have not completed an approved preparation program. Provisional licenses are valid for five years of employment and cannot be extended beyond the aggregate five-year cap.

    Source: doe.mass.edu

  4. Complete preparation while employed

    Finish an approved preparation program, PAL requirements, or district-supported mentoring and evaluation while teaching under Provisional status.

    Source: doe.mass.edu

  5. Advance to Initial then Professional license

    Convert Provisional to Initial licensure after meeting program and employment requirements, then advance to Professional status after three years under Initial license and induction completion.

    Source: doe.mass.edu

Massachusetts treats Provisional licensure as a time-limited employment authorization for candidates who have met testing and degree prerequisites but not yet finished approved preparation. Starting July 1, 2019, DESE capped aggregate Provisional employment at five years even when a candidate holds multiple Provisional licenses—an anti-stalling measure that forces advancement planning early in a career changer's timeline.

The Alternative Licensure Pathway for Communication and Literacy Skills MTEL is narrowly tailored. DESE's MTEL FAQ confirms only the Communication and Literacy test has a waiver pathway based on specific eligibility criteria; subject matter knowledge tests remain mandatory with no waiver. Career changers who assume prior professional experience substitutes for subject MTEL will find that assumption incorrect under 603 CMR 7.04.

Performance Assessment for Initial License (PAL) and district-supported routes add flexibility for candidates who can demonstrate competency through structured performance evidence rather than traditional campus-based sequences. These pathways still terminate in Initial and Professional license tiers with the same SEI, PDP, and induction obligations as Route One completers.

Out-of-state applicants should not conflate Massachusetts reciprocity with in-state alternative pathways. Temporary and Provisional licenses for out-of-state credentialed teachers follow ELAR review rules distinct from the Commissioner-approved Communication and Literacy waiver. Testing, SEI, and PDP requirements may persist even when prior state licensure appears comprehensive on paper.

Required exams and fees

Massachusetts uses Massachusetts Tests for Educator Licensure (MTEL); approved Praxis alternatives for Communication and Literacy Skills only. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).

Massachusetts certification exams, 603 CMR 7.04 — Types of Educator Licenses. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Full Massachusetts exam requirements →

Renewal and professional development

Provisional licenses cannot be extended beyond the five-year employment cap; candidates must advance to Initial licensure. Professional licenses renew with 150 PDPs every five calendar years.

Certificate term
5 years
Provisional licenses are valid for five years of employment; individuals holding multiple Provisional licenses may have no more than five total years of prospective employment under Provisional status combined.
PD required
150 hours
Clock hours / points cited by the state source
Application fee
$100
As published by the state agency

Moving a license to Massachusetts

Out-of-state educators may receive Temporary, Provisional, or Initial licenses through ELAR review. The alternative licensure pathway waiving Communication and Literacy MTEL applies to eligible in-state candidates meeting Commissioner criteria, not as automatic reciprocity for out-of-state licenses.

Official Massachusetts reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in Massachusetts

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Massachusetts; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $128,430
    Employed
    10,570
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $128,970
    Employed
    9,120
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $94,000
    Employed
    29,930
    Projected growth
    +1.4%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $89,450
    Employed
    16,570
    Projected growth
    +1.6%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $95,260
    Employed
    28,460
    Projected growth
    +2%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Massachusetts, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in Massachusetts

The U.S. Department of Education designates these Massachusetts subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

Computer Science

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, Massachusetts, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every Massachusetts preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View Massachusetts outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

Can I waive all MTEL tests on an alternate route?

No. DESE states only the Communication and Literacy Skills MTEL has an alternative licensure waiver pathway for eligible candidates. Subject matter knowledge tests cannot be waived.

How long can I teach on a Massachusetts Provisional license?

Provisional licenses are valid for five years of employment and cannot be extended. Candidates with multiple Provisional licenses face a combined five-year employment cap.

What is the Performance Assessment for Initial License (PAL)?

PAL is a DESE-approved performance-based pathway toward Initial licensure for candidates who demonstrate competency through structured assessment rather than a traditional Route One program sequence.

References

  1. 603 CMR 7.04 — Types of Educator Licenses. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  2. Pass subject matter MTEL or approved alternatives. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  3. Secure employment and receive a Provisional license. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  4. Complete preparation while employed. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  5. MTEL Communication and Literacy Skills (Reading 101 + Writing 201). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  6. Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  7. Massachusetts certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.