How to Become a Principal in Virginia
The short answer
Virginia does not issue a stand-alone administrator license. It adds an Administration and Supervision preK-12 endorsement to a license. Level I is required for building administrators; Level II Principal of Distinction is optional after five years and induction. The approved-program route is a master’s, three years of successful full-time licensed instructional experience, and an approved program. Principals and assistant principals must pass SLLA 6990 at Virginia’s cut score of 146. The alternate route is division-restricted.
- Understand that Virginia adds an endorsement, not a stand-alone admin license
- Complete the approved-program route: master’s, three years, and an approved program
- Pass SLLA 6990 if you will serve as principal or assistant principal
- Treat the alternate route as division-restricted
Key takeaways
- Virginia does not issue a stand-alone administrator license. It adds an Administration and Supervision preK-12 endorsement to a license. Level I is required for building administrators; Level II Principal of Distinction is optional after five years and induction. The approved-program route is a master’s, three years of successful full-time licensed instructional experience, and an approved program. Principals and assistant principals must pass SLLA 6990 at Virginia’s cut score of 146. The alternate route is division-restricted.
- Understand that Virginia adds an endorsement, not a stand-alone admin license
- Complete the approved-program route: master’s, three years, and an approved program
- Pass SLLA 6990 if you will serve as principal or assistant principal
Virginia principal requirements, step by step
Administration and Supervision preK-12 endorsement (Level I; Level II Principal of Distinction optional). Each requirement is stated as Virginia Department of Education publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Understand that Virginia adds an endorsement, not a stand-alone admin license
Virginia does not issue a stand-alone administrative license. Administration and Supervision preK-12 is an endorsement added to a license. Level I is required for a building administrator. Level II Principal of Distinction is optional after five years and induction.
Source: law.lis.virginia.gov
Complete the approved-program route: master’s, three years, and an approved program
Hold a master’s degree, document three years of successful full-time experience in an instructional personnel position that required licensure, and complete an approved administration and supervision program.
Source: law.lis.virginia.gov
Pass SLLA 6990 if you will serve as principal or assistant principal
The School Leaders Licensure Assessment is required for those seeking to serve as principals or assistant principals. It is not required for candidates who will serve only as central-office instructional personnel. Virginia’s approved cut score on SLLA 6990 is 146, approved July 26, 2018, and required effective January 1, 2020.
Source: doe.virginia.gov
Treat the alternate route as division-restricted
An alternate route exists, but 8VAC20-23-620 makes it division-restricted and not portable to another Virginia school division. Do not use the alternate route if you expect to change divisions while remaining a building administrator.
Source: law.lis.virginia.gov
Apply through VALO, then consider Level II after five years
Request the Administration and Supervision preK-12 endorsement in the Virginia Licensure Online system. After five years of service and induction, Level II Principal of Distinction is an optional advancement, not a requirement to remain a building administrator.
Source: law.lis.virginia.gov
Virginia’s administrative authority lives on the same license that already authorizes teaching or another instructional role. The Virginia Department of Education does not print a separate administrator card. Regulation 8VAC20-23-620 adds an Administration and Supervision preK-12 endorsement. Level I is what a building administrator must hold. Level II Principal of Distinction is a later, optional designation after five years and induction—it is not the credential that first puts someone in the principal’s office, and skipping it does not make Level I expire.
The approved-program route is a three-part stack: a master’s degree, three years of successful full-time experience in an instructional personnel position that required licensure, and completion of an approved program. Experience as a classified instructional aide, or as a teacher on a license that was not required for the position, does not automatically satisfy the “position requiring licensure” clause. Candidates who spent three years in a private school that did not require a Virginia license should read 8VAC20-23-620 with a licensure specialist before paying for an approved program.
SLLA 6990 is role-dependent. VDOE requires the School Leaders Licensure Assessment for people seeking to serve as principals or assistant principals. Central-office instructional personnel who will not serve as building administrators are not under that testing requirement. The cut score is not a rumor from a prep book: VDOE’s assessment document sets 146, approved July 26, 2018, and required effective January 1, 2020. A 145 is not a Virginia principal pass.
The alternate route is the trap for mobile administrators. It exists, but the regulation makes it division-restricted and not portable. An alternate-route endorsement that works in one division does not travel when the educator takes a principalship in the next county. Anyone who expects to change divisions should use the approved-program route instead. Applications file through VALO. Adding the endorsement to an expired license will fail; renew or reinstate the underlying license first, then request Administration and Supervision preK-12.
Required exams and fees
Virginia uses SLLA 6990. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- School Leaders Licensure Assessment (SLLA) 6990
- Passing score
- 146
- Fee
- Not reported.
Virginia principal / administrator exams — 8VAC20-23-620 — Administration and Supervision preK-12. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Institutions with educational leadership programs
The table lists educational leadership CIP codes and award levels from IPEDS. This extract reported no completion counts, so none are shown. An award conferred does not mean the program is approved to recommend candidates for Administration and Supervision preK-12 endorsement (Level I; Level II Principal of Distinction optional). Verify approval with Virginia Department of Education.
| Institution | CIP | Award level |
|---|---|---|
| Averett University (Danville, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Bluefield University (Bluefield, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Ferrum College (Ferrum, VA) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Master’s |
| Ferrum College (Ferrum, VA) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Post-master’s / EdS |
| George Mason University (Fairfax, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Hampton University (Hampton, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Hampton University (Hampton, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Liberty University (Lynchburg, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Liberty University (Lynchburg, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Liberty University (Lynchburg, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Liberty University (Lynchburg, VA) | 13.0410 Urban Education and Leadership | Master’s |
| Marymount University (Arlington, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Marymount University (Arlington, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Old Dominion University (Norfolk, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Old Dominion University (Norfolk, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Radford University (Radford, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Radford University (Radford, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Regent University (Virginia Beach, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Regent University (Virginia Beach, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Regent University (Virginia Beach, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Regent University (Virginia Beach, VA) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Doctorate (research) |
| Regent University (Virginia Beach, VA) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Shenandoah University (Winchester, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Shenandoah University (Winchester, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Shenandoah University (Winchester, VA) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Strayer University-Virginia (Arlington, VA) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Master’s |
| University of Lynchburg (Lynchburg, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Richmond (University of Richmond, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Richmond (University of Richmond, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| University of Virginia-Main Campus (Charlottesville, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of Virginia-Main Campus (Charlottesville, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Virginia-Main Campus (Charlottesville, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Virginia Commonwealth University (Richmond, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Virginia Commonwealth University (Richmond, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Virginia Commonwealth University (Richmond, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Blacksburg, VA) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Doctorate (research) |
| Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Blacksburg, VA) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Master’s |
| Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (Blacksburg, VA) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Virginia State University (Petersburg, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Virginia State University (Petersburg, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| William & Mary (Williamsburg, VA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| William & Mary (Williamsburg, VA) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Doctorate (research) |
Renewal and professional development
Renew the underlying Virginia license according to VDOE rules. The Administration and Supervision endorsement remains available only while that license is valid.
Moving an administrator credential to Virginia
Virginia’s alternate administration and supervision route is division-restricted and not portable to another school division. The approved-program route in 8VAC20-23-620 is the portable endorsement path.
Salary and job outlook in Virginia
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Virginia; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $106,100
- Employed
- 8,470
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $120,840
- Employed
- Not reported.
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $65,550
- Employed
- 37,880
- Projected growth
- +5.6%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $63,520
- Employed
- 18,290
- Projected growth
- +5.7%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $72,170
- Employed
- 31,100
- Projected growth
- +6%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Virginia, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Frequently asked questions
Does Virginia issue a separate principal license?
No. Administration and Supervision preK-12 is an endorsement added to a license. Level I is required for building administrators. Level II Principal of Distinction is optional after five years and induction.
What SLLA score does Virginia require for principals and assistant principals?
146 on SLLA 6990, approved July 26, 2018, and required effective January 1, 2020. The assessment is not required for candidates seeking only central-office instructional personnel roles.
What experience does Virginia’s approved-program admin route require?
Three years of successful full-time experience in an instructional personnel position that required licensure, plus a master’s degree and an approved administration and supervision program.
Can I take Virginia’s alternate administration and supervision route and later move to another division?
The alternate route is division-restricted and not portable. Use the approved-program route in 8VAC20-23-620 if you expect the endorsement to travel.
References
- 8VAC20-23-620 — Administration and Supervision preK-12. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Pass SLLA 6990 if you will serve as principal or assistant principal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Virginia Department of Education. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Virginia credential portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.