How to Become a Principal in New Jersey

Requirements verified Sep 7, 2026 against the New Jersey Department of EducationTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

New Jersey’s Principal Certificate of Eligibility is endorsement 0200. Candidates need a qualifying master’s in educational leadership, curriculum and instruction, or a recognized leadership field—or a master’s plus a graduate leadership program—plus a 300-hour PSEL-aligned internship, a valid instructional, educational services, or administrative certificate, five years of successful educational experience under that certificate, and SLLA 6990 at New Jersey’s passing score of 151. Apply through NJEdCert.

  1. Hold a qualifying master’s degree or complete a graduate leadership program
    Hold a master’s in educational leadership, curriculum and instruction,…
  2. Complete a 300-hour internship aligned to PSEL
    Finish a 300-hour internship aligned to the Professional Standards for…
  3. Hold a valid instructional, educational services, or administrative certificate
    Maintain a valid New Jersey certificate—or the equivalent—in instructio…
  4. Document five years of successful educational experience
    Verify five years of successful educational experience under a valid ce…

Key takeaways

  • New Jersey’s Principal Certificate of Eligibility is endorsement 0200. Candidates need a qualifying master’s in educational leadership, curriculum and instruction, or a recognized leadership field—or a master’s plus a graduate leadership program—plus a 300-hour PSEL-aligned internship, a valid instructional, educational services, or administrative certificate, five years of successful educational experience under that certificate, and SLLA 6990 at New Jersey’s passing score of 151. Apply through NJEdCert.
  • Hold a qualifying master’s degree or complete a graduate leadership program
  • Complete a 300-hour internship aligned to PSEL
  • Hold a valid instructional, educational services, or administrative certificate

New Jersey principal requirements, step by step

Principal Certificate of Eligibility (endorsement 0200). Each requirement is stated as New Jersey Department of Education publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Hold a qualifying master’s degree or complete a graduate leadership program

    Hold a master’s in educational leadership, curriculum and instruction, or a recognized leadership or management field; or hold a master’s degree plus a graduate leadership program; or hold an out-of-state accredited educational leadership master’s degree.

    Source: nj.gov

  2. Complete a 300-hour internship aligned to PSEL

    Finish a 300-hour internship aligned to the Professional Standards for Educational Leaders. The internship is independent of other course requirements and cannot be folded into unrelated graduate hours.

    Source: nj.gov

  3. Hold a valid instructional, educational services, or administrative certificate

    Maintain a valid New Jersey certificate—or the equivalent—in instruction, educational services, or administration. The Principal CE (0200) is an additional leadership endorsement, not a first certificate.

    Source: nj.gov

  4. Document five years of successful educational experience

    Verify five years of successful educational experience under a valid certificate. Experience that was not served under a valid certificate does not meet this NJDOE requirement.

    Source: nj.gov

  5. Pass SLLA 6990 at New Jersey’s passing score of 151

    Pass the School Leaders Licensure Assessment 6990. New Jersey’s official passing score is 151, as published on the NJDOE certification testing requirements page.

    Source: nj.gov

  6. Apply for CE 0200 through NJEdCert; standard certification follows employment rules

    Submit the Principal Certificate of Eligibility (endorsement 0200) in NJEdCert. The CE authorizes employment as a principal. Standard certification follows the employment and residency rules the New Jersey Department of Education publishes for this endorsement.

    Source: nj.gov

New Jersey’s first principal document is a Certificate of Eligibility, not a standard license, and the endorsement number is 0200. The New Jersey Department of Education’s 0200 CE page is the checklist. Degree options are specific: a master’s in educational leadership, curriculum and instruction, or a recognized leadership or management field; a master’s in another area plus a graduate leadership program; or an out-of-state accredited educational leadership master’s. A master’s in a content field with a few leadership electives is not automatically a “recognized leadership or management field.” Candidates who guess at that phrase without program confirmation are the ones whose NJEdCert files bounce.

The internship is a 300-hour experience aligned to the Professional Standards for Educational Leaders and is independent of other course requirements. Logging 300 hours of assistant-principal shadowing that a campus already required for a grade does not automatically satisfy the independent-internship rule. Likewise, the five years of successful educational experience must have been served under a valid certificate—New Jersey or the equivalent. Years as an uncertified charter staff member or as a long-term substitute without a certificate do not convert into the five-year count just because the work felt administrative.

Testing is SLLA 6990 at a New Jersey-specific cut. The Department’s certification testing page publishes a passing score of 151. Scores that would be “close enough” in another jurisdiction are not New Jersey passes. Register for 6990, not an older SLLA form, and do not treat a superintendent or teacher-leader assessment as a substitute unless NJDOE’s testing page lists it for endorsement 0200.

The CE is what authorizes a district to employ the candidate as a principal. Standard certification is a later step that follows the employment and residency rules NJDOE publishes for this endorsement. Applicants should read the 0200 CE page and the Department’s current standard-certification instructions rather than inventing a residency calendar. All of it files through NJEdCert. Selecting a supervisor or school-administrator endorsement instead of 0200 will not place a principal CE on the certificate, even when SLLA 151 and the 300-hour internship are already complete.

Required exams and fees

New Jersey uses SLLA 6990. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).

New Jersey principal / administrator exams — New Jersey Department of Education — Principal Certificate of Eligibility (0200). Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Institutions with educational leadership programs

The table lists educational leadership CIP codes and award levels from IPEDS. This extract reported no completion counts, so none are shown. An award conferred does not mean the program is approved to recommend candidates for Principal Certificate of Eligibility (endorsement 0200). Verify approval with New Jersey Department of Education.

Educational leadership CIP programs in New Jersey — NCES IPEDS — Completions by CIP and award level (C2023_A revised), IPEDS Completions C2023 (AY 2022-23, revised). Retrieved 2026-09-07. This source reported no completion counts for these programs, so no completions column is shown. Rows are awards catalogued by CIP code, not a ranking and not proof of state licensure approval.
InstitutionCIPAward level
Caldwell University (Caldwell, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (research)
Caldwell University (Caldwell, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Caldwell University (Caldwell, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralPost-master’s / EdS
Centenary University (Hackettstown, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (research)
Centenary University (Hackettstown, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Centenary University (Hackettstown, NJ)13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum SupervisionMaster’s
Centenary University (Hackettstown, NJ)13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, OtherPost-master’s / EdS
Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan Campus (Teaneck, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Felician University (Lodi, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Felician University (Lodi, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralPost-master’s / EdS
Georgian Court University (Lakewood, NJ)13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum SupervisionMaster’s
Kean University (Union, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Kean University (Union, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralPost-master’s / EdS
Kean University (Union, NJ)13.0410 Urban Education and LeadershipDoctorate (research)
Monmouth University (West Long Branch, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (professional)
Monmouth University (West Long Branch, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Montclair State University (Montclair, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
New Jersey City University (Jersey City, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (research)
New Jersey City University (Jersey City, NJ)13.0410 Urban Education and LeadershipMaster’s
Ramapo College of New Jersey (Mahwah, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Rider University (Lawrenceville, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (research)
Rider University (Lawrenceville, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Rider University (Lawrenceville, NJ)13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum SupervisionMaster’s
Rider University (Lawrenceville, NJ)13.0409 Secondary School Administration/PrincipalshipMaster’s
Rowan University (Glassboro, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (research)
Rowan University (Glassboro, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralPost-master’s / EdS
Rowan University (Glassboro, NJ)13.0408 Elementary and Middle School Administration/PrincipalshipMaster’s
Rowan University (Glassboro, NJ)13.0408 Elementary and Middle School Administration/PrincipalshipPost-master’s / EdS
Rutgers University-Camden (Camden, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralPost-master’s / EdS
Rutgers University-New Brunswick (New Brunswick, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (research)
Rutgers University-New Brunswick (New Brunswick, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Rutgers University-New Brunswick (New Brunswick, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralPost-master’s / EdS
Saint Elizabeth University (Morristown, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (research)
Saint Elizabeth University (Morristown, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Saint Elizabeth University (Morristown, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralPost-master’s / EdS
Saint Peter's University (Jersey City, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (professional)
Saint Peter's University (Jersey City, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (research)
Saint Peter's University (Jersey City, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Saint Peter's University (Jersey City, NJ)13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, OtherDoctorate (research)
Seton Hall University (South Orange, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (research)
Seton Hall University (South Orange, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Seton Hall University (South Orange, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralPost-master’s / EdS
Strayer University-New Jersey (Piscataway, NJ)13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, OtherMaster’s
The College of New Jersey (Ewing, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
The College of New Jersey (Ewing, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralPost-master’s / EdS
The College of New Jersey (Ewing, NJ)13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum SupervisionPost-master’s / EdS
The College of New Jersey (Ewing, NJ)13.0410 Urban Education and LeadershipMaster’s
Thomas Edison State University (Trenton, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
William Paterson University of New Jersey (Wayne, NJ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s

Renewal and professional development

After the Certificate of Eligibility and employment, follow NJDOE rules to advance to standard certification. Confirm current expectations in NJEdCert and on the 0200 CE page.

Moving an administrator credential to New Jersey

Confirm out-of-state administrator evaluation rules directly with New Jersey Department of Education. This site does not republish NASDTEC interstate-agreement text.

New Jersey Department of Education

Salary and job outlook in New Jersey

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for New Jersey; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $137,440
    Employed
    11,450
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $131,570
    Employed
    4,100
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $78,200
    Employed
    40,300
    Projected growth
    +5.5%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $78,770
    Employed
    23,650
    Projected growth
    +5.5%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $82,200
    Employed
    38,140
    Projected growth
    +5.8%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, New Jersey, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Frequently asked questions

What is New Jersey principal endorsement 0200?

It is the Principal Certificate of Eligibility. The CE authorizes employment as a principal. Standard certification follows the employment and residency rules NJDOE publishes for this endorsement.

What passing score does New Jersey require on SLLA 6990?

151, as published on the New Jersey Department of Education certification testing requirements page.

How long is the New Jersey principal internship, and what standards does it use?

300 hours, aligned to the Professional Standards for Educational Leaders, and independent of other course requirements.

How much experience does the New Jersey Principal CE require?

Five years of successful educational experience under a valid New Jersey or equivalent instructional, educational services, or administrative certificate.

References

  1. New Jersey Department of Education — Principal Certificate of Eligibility (0200). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  2. Pass SLLA 6990 at New Jersey’s passing score of 151. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  3. New Jersey Department of Education. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  4. New Jersey credential portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.