Alternative Teacher Certification in New Jersey
The short answer
New Jersey's alternate route starts with a Certificate of Eligibility: bachelor's degree, Praxis Core (156/162/150), and endorsement coursework, then district employment and a CE educator preparation program under the Provisional Teacher Process. CE credentials are not reciprocated. The $170 CE fee covers provisional and standard certificate issuance.
- Hold a bachelor's degree and meet CE eligibility
- Pass Praxis Core basic skills assessments
- Receive a CE and secure district employment
- Complete the CE educator preparation program while teaching
Key takeaways
- New Jersey's alternate route starts with a Certificate of Eligibility: bachelor's degree, Praxis Core (156/162/150), and endorsement coursework, then district employment and a CE educator preparation program under the Provisional Teacher Process. CE credentials are not reciprocated. The $170 CE fee covers provisional and standard certificate issuance.
- Hold a bachelor's degree and meet CE eligibility
- Pass Praxis Core basic skills assessments
- Receive a CE and secure district employment
New Jersey alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Hold a bachelor's degree and meet CE eligibility
The Certificate of Eligibility (CE) pathway is for candidates who have not completed a formal teacher preparation program at hire. You must hold at least a bachelor's degree and meet endorsement-specific subject-coursework requirements.
Source: nj.gov
Pass Praxis Core basic skills assessments
All CE and CEAS candidates must meet the basic skills requirement, typically by passing Praxis Core Reading (5713, 156), Writing (5723, 162), and Mathematics (5733, 150), or an approved alternative.
Source: nj.gov
Receive a CE and secure district employment
Apply for the CE through NJEdCert. Once employed, the district enrolls you in the Provisional Teacher Process and requests a provisional certificate while you complete a NJDOE-approved CE educator preparation program (PTP).
Source: nj.gov
Complete the CE educator preparation program while teaching
Finish the Commissioner-approved CE educator preparation program, mentoring, and AchieveNJ evaluation requirements while serving under the provisional certificate. CE holders must complete the CE-EPP before Standard certification.
Source: nj.gov
Convert to Standard certificate
The district verifies 30 weeks of mentoring, two effective or highly effective summative ratings, and CE-EPP completion, then initiates Standard certificate conversion in NJEdCert.
Source: nj.gov
New Jersey's Certificate of Eligibility pathway preserves the classic alternate-route sequence—credential first, employment second, preparation while teaching—under the rebranded CE and CE-EPP framework codified in N.J.A.C. 6A:9B. Unlike CEAS holders who completed university-based clinical practice before hire, CE candidates enter classrooms with subject-matter and basic-skills verification but still owe a Commissioner-approved preparation program completed during the Provisional Teacher Process.
Basic skills testing is non-negotiable for CE entry. NJDOE's testing tables specify Praxis Core passing scores of 156 (Reading), 162 (Writing), and 150 (Mathematics). Subject-matter Praxis assessments follow endorsement-specific tables on the certification testing requirements page. Candidates should register using New Jersey's institution code so scores flow automatically to NJEdCert.
District sponsorship remains the gating factor after CE issuance. As with the traditional route, candidates cannot self-apply for provisional certificates; hiring districts initiate PTP enrollment and mentoring. CE holders face an additional completion requirement—the CE-EPP must verify program completion before Standard conversion, a step CEAS holders bypass because their university program satisfied preparation upfront.
Reciprocity asymmetry is important for interstate movers. While CEAS and Standard certificates from other states may transfer with rules-based review, the CE itself is not reciprocated. Career changers arriving with out-of-state alternate credentials should expect to enter New Jersey's CE pipeline rather than converting directly to provisional employment status.
Required exams and fees
New Jersey uses ETS Praxis (Core, subject, and educational services assessments). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators: Reading (5713)
- Passing score
- 156
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators: Writing (5723)
- Passing score
- 162
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators: Mathematics (5733)
- Passing score
- 150
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis subject assessment(s) — endorsement-specific
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
New Jersey certification exams, NJDOE — Alternate Route to Certification. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
The Standard Teaching Certificate is permanent. Provisional certificates expire after two years unless renewed once while PTP requirements remain incomplete.
Moving a license to New Jersey
The Certificate of Eligibility alternate-route credential is not reciprocated from other states. Out-of-state educators may qualify for CEAS or Standard reciprocity if they hold comparable credentials and meet New Jersey testing and program requirements.
Official New Jersey reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in New Jersey
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for New Jersey; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $137,440
- Employed
- 11,450
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $131,570
- Employed
- 4,100
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $78,200
- Employed
- 40,300
- Projected growth
- +5.5%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $78,770
- Employed
- 23,650
- Projected growth
- +5.5%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $82,200
- Employed
- 38,140
- Projected growth
- +5.8%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, New Jersey, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in New Jersey
The U.S. Department of Education designates these New Jersey subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every New Jersey preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
What Praxis Core scores does New Jersey require for CE?
NJDOE requires passing scores of 156 on Reading (5713), 162 on Writing (5723), and 150 on Mathematics (5733) for the basic skills requirement, per the certification testing requirements table.
What is the difference between CE and CEAS?
CEAS is for candidates who completed a formal educator preparation program with clinical practice. CE is for candidates without that preparation who will complete a CE-EPP while teaching under the Provisional Teacher Process.
Is the alternate-route CE reciprocated from other states?
No. New Jersey does not reciprocate the Certificate of Eligibility. Out-of-state alternate-route completers may qualify through CEAS or Standard reciprocity if they hold comparable credentials.
References
- NJDOE — Alternate Route to Certification. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Pass Praxis Core basic skills assessments. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Complete the CE educator preparation program while teaching. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- New Jersey certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.