Virginia approved educator preparation programs and alternate routes appear in Title II state reporting. VDOE licensure assessments (Praxis) are state requirements layered on top of federal Title II disclosure.
Data vintage
Current cycle: 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Official portal: Title II Higher Education Act reports.
How to read this table
Title II counts an institution offering both traditional and alternative routes as two providers. This site keeps that split and does not merge routes.
Pass rates based on fewer than 10 test takers, or rates the source suppressed, appear as “Not reported.” We never invent a rate from completers and enrollment.
Tables show published Title II figures for the current reporting cycle. Missing or unpublished rates appear as Not reported.
Provider outcomes in Virginia
Pass rates appear only as published. Rates based on fewer than 10 test takers are shown as Not reported.
- Averett Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 75
- Completers
- 11
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Bluefield Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 8
- Completers
- 5
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Bridgewater Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 128
- Completers
- 36
- Pass rate
- 96% (27 test takers)
- Christopher Newport Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 72
- Completers
- 34
- Pass rate
- 100% (32 test takers)
- College of William and Marytraditional
- Enrollment
- 118
- Completers
- 46
- Pass rate
- 100% (44 test takers)
- Eastern Mennonite Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 42
- Completers
- 10
- Pass rate
- 100% (10 test takers)
- Emory & Henry Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 28
- Completers
- 18
- Pass rate
- 100% (18 test takers)
- Ferrum Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 3
- Completers
- 3
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- George Mason Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 1,342
- Completers
- 270
- Pass rate
- 99% (234 test takers)
- Hampton Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 47
- Completers
- 1
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Hollins Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 22
- Completers
- 0
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- James Madison Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 1,000
- Completers
- 346
- Pass rate
- 100% (323 test takers)
- Liberty Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 913
- Completers
- 612
- Pass rate
- 99% (611 test takers)
- Longwood Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 648
- Completers
- 131
- Pass rate
- 100% (91 test takers)
- University of Lynchburgtraditional
- Enrollment
- 41
- Completers
- 14
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Mary Baldwin Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 165
- Completers
- 22
- Pass rate
- 95% (22 test takers)
- Marymount Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 21
- Completers
- 10
- Pass rate
- 100% (10 test takers)
- Univ. of Mary Washington - COEtraditional
- Enrollment
- 373
- Completers
- 81
- Pass rate
- 100% (79 test takers)
- Norfolk State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 24
- Completers
- 20
- Pass rate
- 90% (10 test takers)
- Old Dominion Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 75
- Completers
- 45
- Pass rate
- 100% (41 test takers)
- Old Dominion Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 1,521
- Completers
- 235
- Pass rate
- 99% (216 test takers)
- Radford Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 121
- Completers
- 79
- Pass rate
- 100% (78 test takers)
- Randolph-Macon Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 41
- Completers
- 13
- Pass rate
- 92% (13 test takers)
- Randolph Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 10
- Completers
- 3
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Regent Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 59
- Completers
- 50
- Pass rate
- 100% (55 test takers)
- Regent Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 73
- Completers
- 28
- Pass rate
- 82% (28 test takers)
- Roanoke Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 48
- Completers
- 24
- Pass rate
- 100% (23 test takers)
- Shenandoah Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 87
- Completers
- 40
- Pass rate
- 100% (39 test takers)
- Shenandoah Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 239
- Completers
- 70
- Pass rate
- 100% (63 test takers)
- Sweet Briar Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 5
- Completers
- 1
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- University of Richmondtraditional
- Enrollment
- 82
- Completers
- 23
- Pass rate
- 100% (23 test takers)
- University of Virginiatraditional
- Enrollment
- 294
- Completers
- 117
- Pass rate
- 96% (116 test takers)
- University of Virginia at Wisetraditional
- Enrollment
- 81
- Completers
- 19
- Pass rate
- 95% (19 test takers)
- Virginia Commonwealth Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 17
- Completers
- 13
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Virginia Commonwealth Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 672
- Completers
- 158
- Pass rate
- 92% (143 test takers)
- Virginia State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 63
- Completers
- 17
- Pass rate
- 64% (14 test takers)
- Virginia Techtraditional
- Enrollment
- 149
- Completers
- 67
- Pass rate
- 99% (67 test takers)
- Virginia Union Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 62
- Completers
- 0
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Virginia Wesleyan Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 24
- Completers
- 11
- Pass rate
- 100% (11 test takers)
- Washington and Lee Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 5
- Completers
- 3
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Virginia Community College Systemalternative
- Enrollment
- 58
- Completers
- 58
- Pass rate
- 100% (58 test takers)
Virginia Title II teacher preparation outcomes, U.S. Department of Education — Title II Higher Education Act (2025 State Reports) (AY 2023-24).
Four-year institutions in Virginia
70 active degree-granting four-year institutions from IPEDS: 16 public, 40 private nonprofit, 14 private for-profit. Institution detail pages remain noindex. Average net price, when shown, is the College Scorecard figure for that UNITID — suppressed values read Not reported.
- Agora University
- American National University
- Appalachian College of Pharmacy
- Appalachian School of Law
- Arizona College of Nursing - Chesapeake
- Arizona College of Nursing-Falls Church
- Ascent College
- Averett University
- Bluefield University
- Bon Secours Memorial College of Nursing
- Bridgewater College
- Bryant & Stratton College-Virginia Beach
- Centra College
- Centura College-Chesapeake
- Chamberlain University-Virginia
- Christopher Newport University
- DeVry University-Virginia
- Divine Mercy University
- Eastern Mennonite University
- Eastern Virginia Medical School
- ECPI University
- Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine
- Emory & Henry University
- Ferrum College
Showing 24 of 70 alphabetically. Browse the full set via institution pages linked from Title II providers as outcomes publish.
Source: NCES IPEDS — Institutional Characteristics Directory Information (HD2024) (IPEDS HD2024). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Teacher Preparation Program Outcomes by State, 2025 cycle
All 51 jurisdictions in one downloadable file, with a stable citation string and a versioned archive of prior reporting cycles.
Looking for licensure steps? How to become a teacher in Virginia.
Frequently asked questions
What is Title II teacher preparation data?
Title II of the Higher Education Act requires annual reporting on teacher preparation enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates. States submit consolidated reports to the U.S. Department of Education.
Why are some pass rates shown as Not reported?
Small samples (fewer than 10 test takers) and rates the source did not publish are shown as Not reported so unstable or unpublished figures never appear as numbers.
Which Title II cycle does this page use?
This page uses 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Confirm the latest cycle on title2.ed.gov before citing.
How many Title II providers are listed for Virginia?
This cycle lists 41 provider-route rows for Virginia: 36 traditional and 5 alternative. Title II counts an institution that offers both routes as two providers. These counts are not a ranking.
What enrollment and completer totals are published for Virginia?
For Virginia, published enrollment across 41 rows is 8,856; published completers across 41 rows are 2,744. These are sums of published cells, not a pass rate.
How should I read Virginia Title II rows?
Virginia approved educator preparation programs and alternate routes appear in Title II state reporting. VDOE licensure assessments (Praxis) are state requirements layered on top of federal Title II disclosure.