Alternative Teacher Certification in Maryland
The short answer
Maryland alternate routes issue a three-year non-renewable Resident Teacher License through the employing LEA while candidates complete an approved alternative program, Praxis assessments, and edTPA/PPAT/portfolio. Conditional Licenses (3–5 years) cover other employed teachers working toward IPL. TEACH application fee $10.
- Enroll in a Maryland-approved alternative preparation program
- Obtain a Resident Teacher License (RTL)
- Complete program and assessment requirements while teaching
- Conditional License option for employed teachers
Key takeaways
- Maryland alternate routes issue a three-year non-renewable Resident Teacher License through the employing LEA while candidates complete an approved alternative program, Praxis assessments, and edTPA/PPAT/portfolio. Conditional Licenses (3–5 years) cover other employed teachers working toward IPL. TEACH application fee $10.
- Enroll in a Maryland-approved alternative preparation program
- Obtain a Resident Teacher License (RTL)
- Complete program and assessment requirements while teaching
Maryland alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) — Educator Licensure publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Enroll in a Maryland-approved alternative preparation program
Complete a Maryland-approved alternative teacher preparation program holding a bachelor's degree or higher. Alternative programs integrate coursework, mentoring, and performance assessment requirements.
Source: marylandpublicschools.org
Obtain a Resident Teacher License (RTL)
A local school system, State-operated school, or nonpublic special education program issues a three-year non-renewable Resident Teacher License to a candidate enrolled in an alternative preparation program who is employed as a teacher.
Source: marylandpublicschools.org
Complete program and assessment requirements while teaching
Finish alternative program coursework, mentoring, Praxis content and reading assessments, and pedagogy performance assessment (edTPA, PPAT, or approved portfolio) while serving under the RTL or Conditional License.
Source: marylandpublicschools.org
Conditional License option for employed teachers
Local systems may issue a Conditional License (three-year non-renewable for special education, five-year for other areas) to employed teachers working toward professional licensure who have not yet met all requirements.
Source: marylandpublicschools.org
Apply for Initial Professional License via TEACH
Upon completing the alternative program and all assessments, apply through TEACH for the five-year Initial Professional License.
Source: marylandpublicschools.org
Maryland's alternate route is employer-issued rather than candidate-applied for the employment credential itself. Resident Teacher Licenses are three-year non-renewable documents issued by local school systems, State-operated schools, or nonpublic special education programs—not by MSDE directly—to candidates enrolled in approved alternative preparation while teaching. That LEA gatekeeping means district hiring decisions precede formal alternate enrollment.
Conditional Licenses provide a parallel bridge for employed teachers working toward professional status who do not fit RTL criteria. Special education Conditional Licenses run three years non-renewable; other teaching areas receive five-year non-renewable Conditional Licenses. Both require active employment and documented progress toward IPL requirements.
Assessment stacks mirror the traditional pipeline without shortcuts. Alternate route candidates face Praxis Core, content tests, reading instruction assessments in applicable areas, and pedagogy performance evidence through edTPA, PPAT, or approved portfolios. Career changers expecting content tests alone to suffice will find Maryland's performance assessment requirement unchanged by route type.
Content-expertise transcript analysis pathways (Fine Arts and Secondary Content) offer additional entry options for candidates with demonstrated subject expertise plus 21 semester hours of professional coursework and portfolio or evaluation-based performance evidence. These sit alongside—not instead of—formal alternative programs for most endorsement areas.
Required exams and fees
Maryland uses Praxis Core/content, pedagogy performance assessments (edTPA, PPAT, or Maryland-approved portfolio), and reading instruction assessments. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators: Reading (5713)
- Passing score
- 156
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators: Writing (5723)
- Passing score
- 162
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis Teaching Reading: Elementary (5205) — reading instruction areas
- Passing score
- 159
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Pedagogy performance assessment (edTPA, PPAT, or Maryland-approved portfolio)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis content assessments — area-specific
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Maryland certification exams, MSDE — Educator Licenses / Certification Types. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
RTL and Conditional Licenses are non-renewable; candidates must complete program and assessment requirements and advance to IPL. Professional license renewal requires 90 PDPs and IPDP maintenance.
Moving a license to Maryland
Alternate-route RTL and Conditional Licenses are issued by Maryland employers to enrolled program candidates, not transferred from out-of-state alternate credentials. Out-of-state teachers use the Out-of-State Professional License pathway with reading assessment and experience/portfolio options.
Official Maryland reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Maryland
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Maryland; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $131,510
- Employed
- 7,200
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $118,550
- Employed
- Not reported.
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $77,680
- Employed
- 29,610
- Projected growth
- +0.6%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $78,510
- Employed
- 14,530
- Projected growth
- +0.6%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $78,670
- Employed
- 16,640
- Projected growth
- +0.9%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Maryland, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Maryland
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Maryland subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Maryland preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
Who issues the Maryland Resident Teacher License?
A Maryland local school system, State-operated school, or nonpublic special education program issues the three-year non-renewable RTL to candidates enrolled in an alternative preparation program.
How long is a Conditional License valid?
Conditional Licenses are three-year non-renewable for special education and five-year non-renewable for all other teaching areas per MSDE certification types guidance.
Can I reciprocate an alternate-route credential into RTL?
RTL and Conditional Licenses are for candidates in Maryland alternative programs. Out-of-state educators should use the Out-of-State Professional License pathway through TEACH.
References
- MSDE — Educator Licenses / Certification Types. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Enroll in a Maryland-approved alternative preparation program. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Complete program and assessment requirements while teaching. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Apply for Initial Professional License via TEACH. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.