Alternative Teacher Certification in Missouri
The short answer
Missouri alternate routes include post-baccalaureate programs (two-year provisional while completing ~30 credits), Temporary Authorization Certificate (TAC with annual coursework), ABCTE, and Teachers of Tomorrow. All routes require Praxis content tests since July 2024, then IPC upgrade to 99-year CCPC after four years experience and mentoring.
- Choose an alternative certification route
- Post-baccalaureate college alternative route
- Temporary Authorization Certificate (TAC) route
- Pass Praxis content assessments
Key takeaways
- Missouri alternate routes include post-baccalaureate programs (two-year provisional while completing ~30 credits), Temporary Authorization Certificate (TAC with annual coursework), ABCTE, and Teachers of Tomorrow. All routes require Praxis content tests since July 2024, then IPC upgrade to 99-year CCPC after four years experience and mentoring.
- Choose an alternative certification route
- Post-baccalaureate college alternative route
- Temporary Authorization Certificate (TAC) route
Missouri alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) — Educator Certification publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Choose an alternative certification route
Missouri offers post-baccalaureate college alternative programs (coursework plus two-year provisional certificate), Temporary Authorization Certificate (TAC), ABCTE, Teachers of Tomorrow, and doctoral routes depending on content area and background.
Source: dese.mo.gov
Post-baccalaureate college alternative route
Return to a college of education for an alternative certification program. Teach on a two-year provisional certificate while completing approximately 30 semester hours, then receive IPC upon program completion and passing Praxis assessments.
Source: dese.mo.gov
Temporary Authorization Certificate (TAC) route
Hold a bachelor's degree in a content area, complete prescribed coursework (minimum 24 credits, varies by area), teach at least two years with district mentoring, and pass exit examinations. TAC is a one-year renewable certificate requiring nine semester hours annually. Not available for elementary, early childhood, or sensory impairment areas.
Source: dese.mo.gov
Pass Praxis content assessments
Pass the designated ETS Praxis content assessments for your certification area before receiving IPC or career certification, regardless of alternative route selected.
Source: dese.mo.gov
Upgrade to CCPC after four years
After four years of approved teaching, mentoring, PD, BTAP, and evaluation requirements, upgrade from IPC to the 99-year Career Continuous Professional Certificate.
Source: dese.mo.gov
Missouri maintains multiple alternate pathways rather than consolidating career changers into a single program type. Post-baccalaureate college routes pair approximately 30 semester hours with a two-year provisional certificate; Temporary Authorization Certificate candidates accumulate at least 24 credits while teaching under a one-year renewable credential requiring nine semester hours each renewal year. ABCTE and Teachers of Tomorrow serve limited content areas under statutory authorization.
TAC exclusions matter for career changers targeting early childhood or elementary classrooms. DESE does not issue TAC in elementary (1–6), early childhood (B–3), early childhood special education, blind/partially sighted, or deaf/hearing impaired areas—those candidates must use college post-baccalaureate or university traditional routes instead.
Praxis content assessments gate every route uniformly after July 2024. Whether a candidate enters via TAC, post-baccalaureate alternative, or doctoral shortcut (PhD in secondary content plus PLT Grades 7–12), designated ETS Praxis tests must be passed before IPC issuance. MoCA scores from the prior vendor are no longer accepted for new applications.
All routes converge on the same IPC-to-CCPC upgrade architecture. Four years of approved teaching, two years of mentoring, 30 PD contact hours, Beginning Teacher Assistance Program, and evaluation participation transform the four-year IPC into a 99-year career certificate—a long horizon that rewards persistence but demands early planning for alternate-route teachers balancing coursework and classroom duties.
Required exams and fees
Missouri uses ETS Praxis content assessments (required as of July 1, 2024; Pearson MoCA discontinued June 23, 2024). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- ETS Praxis content assessments — area-specific
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT): Grades 7–12 (5624) — doctoral route only
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Missouri certification exams, DESE — Become Certified Teacher. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
Provisional and TAC certificates have route-specific renewal rules (TAC requires nine semester hours annually). IPC upgrades to CCPC after four years with mentoring and 30 PD hours—not a standard renewal.
Moving a license to Missouri
Alternative routes are for candidates entering Missouri's pipeline. Out-of-state certified educators may receive comparable Missouri certificates through verification without entering provisional or TAC routes in most aligned cases.
Official Missouri reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Missouri
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Missouri; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $100,400
- Employed
- 7,120
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $104,560
- Employed
- 2,830
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $50,910
- Employed
- 33,180
- Projected growth
- -0.6%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $59,310
- Employed
- 11,330
- Projected growth
- -0.7%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $59,240
- Employed
- 24,380
- Projected growth
- -0.4%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Missouri, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Missouri
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Missouri subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Missouri preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
What is Missouri's Temporary Authorization Certificate?
TAC allows content-area bachelor's holders to teach while completing prescribed coursework (minimum 24 credits), with district mentoring and exit exams. It renews annually with nine semester hours and is not available for elementary or early childhood areas.
Can I teach while completing an alternative program?
Yes. Post-baccalaureate alternative routes issue a two-year provisional certificate while candidates complete approximately 30 semester hours of coursework.
Does Missouri accept ABCTE for certification?
Yes. DESE lists ABCTE as an alternative route in limited content areas on its routes to certification page.
References
- DESE — Become Certified Teacher. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Choose an alternative certification route. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Pass Praxis content assessments. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Upgrade to CCPC after four years. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) — Educator Certification. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Missouri certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.