How to Become a Principal in Missouri
The short answer
Missouri’s first building-level credential is the Initial Administrator Certificate for School Leader, Kindergarten–Grade 12, valid four years. Rule 5 CSR 20-400.610 requires a master’s in educational leadership from a DESE-approved program, institutional recommendation, passing scores on required exit assessments, and three years of approved teaching experience. Transition and Career upgrades follow DESE’s published mentoring, professional-development, graduate-hour, micro-credential, and evaluation options. Superintendent certification requires a minimum education specialist degree.
- Earn a master’s in educational leadership from a DESE-approved program
- Obtain an institutional recommendation and passing exit-assessment scores
- Document three years of approved teaching experience
- Apply for the Initial Administrator Certificate
Key takeaways
- Missouri’s first building-level credential is the Initial Administrator Certificate for School Leader, Kindergarten–Grade 12, valid four years. Rule 5 CSR 20-400.610 requires a master’s in educational leadership from a DESE-approved program, institutional recommendation, passing scores on required exit assessments, and three years of approved teaching experience. Transition and Career upgrades follow DESE’s published mentoring, professional-development, graduate-hour, micro-credential, and evaluation options. Superintendent certification requires a minimum education specialist degree.
- Earn a master’s in educational leadership from a DESE-approved program
- Obtain an institutional recommendation and passing exit-assessment scores
- Document three years of approved teaching experience
Missouri principal requirements, step by step
Initial Administrator Certificate (School Leader, Kindergarten–Grade 12). Each requirement is stated as Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) — Educator Certification publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Earn a master’s in educational leadership from a DESE-approved program
Complete a master’s degree in educational leadership from a DESE-approved program. Rule 5 CSR 20-400.610 treats the approved program and the degree as the academic core of the Initial Administrator Certificate for School Leader, Kindergarten–Grade 12.
Source: law.cornell.edu
Obtain an institutional recommendation and passing exit-assessment scores
Secure the preparing institution’s recommendation and a passing score on the required exit assessments. Confirm the current instruments with DESE and the approved program; this bundle does not invent exam names or cut scores beyond the rule’s “required exit assessments” language.
Source: dese.mo.gov
Document three years of approved teaching experience
Verify three years of approved teaching experience as stated in the rule text. The Initial Administrator Certificate (School Leader K–12) is valid for four years.
Source: law.cornell.edu
Apply for the Initial Administrator Certificate
Submit the administrator application through DESE’s educator-certification applications portal after the approved program, recommendation, exit assessments, and teaching experience are posted.
Source: dese.mo.gov
Upgrade to Transition, then Career, using DESE’s published options
Transition upgrade requires employment plus two years of mentoring and 120 professional-development hours, or eight graduate hours, or a combination, or three micro-credentials, plus an annual leader evaluation. Career upgrade requires four years of approved administrative experience, mentoring, and an education specialist or higher in specified fields or fifteen micro-credentials plus evaluations. Superintendent certification requires a minimum education specialist degree.
Source: dese.mo.gov
Missouri stages administrator certification instead of issuing one perpetual principal stamp. The first document is the Initial Administrator Certificate for School Leader, Kindergarten–Grade 12, and 5 CSR 20-400.610 caps it at four years. That four-year window is an upgrade clock. Educators who treat Initial as a career license discover at year four that DESE expected a Transition application, not a simple renewal. The academic core is a master’s in educational leadership from a DESE-approved program, an institutional recommendation, passing scores on required exit assessments, and three years of approved teaching experience as the rule text states.
Exit assessments are required, but DESE’s become-certified-administrator page and the rule language used here do not publish a vendor name or cut score. Candidates should take the instruments their approved program and DESE name for the current year rather than importing a Praxis or Pearson code from a neighboring state. Three years of approved teaching experience is likewise a rule phrase. Substitute, visiting, or out-of-field years may or may not be “approved”; the verification DESE accepts is the one that matches 5 CSR 20-400.610, not a generic employment letter.
Transition is a menu, not a single course. DESE’s administrator-upgrade page requires employment, two years of mentoring, and then one of several learning options: 120 professional-development hours, eight graduate hours, a combination of those, or three micro-credentials, plus an annual leader evaluation. Skipping the evaluation while completing 120 hours leaves the upgrade incomplete. Career is a higher bar: four years of approved administrative experience, mentoring, and either an education specialist or higher in specified fields or fifteen micro-credentials plus evaluations.
Superintendent certification is not the next automatic rung after Career School Leader. DESE requires a minimum education specialist degree for superintendent. A Career School Leader certificate plus longevity does not replace that EdS floor. Applications and upgrades file through DESE’s educator-certification applications portal. Selecting “administrator” without specifying School Leader K–12, or applying for superintendent on the strength of the master’s-only Initial certificate, are the two coding errors that most often delay an otherwise complete Missouri file.
Required exams and fees
Missouri uses Required exit assessments (confirm with DESE / approved program). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Required exit assessments for the Initial Administrator Certificate
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Missouri principal / administrator exams — Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education — Become a Certified Administrator. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Institutions with educational leadership programs
The table lists educational leadership CIP codes and award levels from IPEDS. This extract reported no completion counts, so none are shown. An award conferred does not mean the program is approved to recommend candidates for Initial Administrator Certificate (School Leader, Kindergarten–Grade 12). Verify approval with Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) — Educator Certification.
| Institution | CIP | Award level |
|---|---|---|
| Avila University (Kansas City, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Calvary University (Kansas City, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Columbia College (Columbia, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Drury University (Springfield, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Evangel University (Springfield, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Evangel University (Springfield, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Hannibal-LaGrange University (Hannibal, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Lincoln University (Jefferson City, MO) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Master’s |
| Lindenwood University (Saint Charles, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Lindenwood University (Saint Charles, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Lindenwood University (Saint Charles, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Lindenwood University (Saint Charles, MO) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Doctorate (research) |
| Lindenwood University (Saint Charles, MO) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Master’s |
| Lindenwood University (Saint Charles, MO) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Lindenwood University (Saint Charles, MO) | 13.0409 Secondary School Administration/Principalship | Doctorate (research) |
| Lindenwood University (Saint Charles, MO) | 13.0409 Secondary School Administration/Principalship | Master’s |
| Lindenwood University (Saint Charles, MO) | 13.0409 Secondary School Administration/Principalship | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Lindenwood University (Saint Charles, MO) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Master’s |
| Lindenwood University (Saint Charles, MO) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Maryville University of Saint Louis (Saint Louis, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Maryville University of Saint Louis (Saint Louis, MO) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Doctorate (research) |
| Missouri Baptist University (Saint Louis, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Missouri Baptist University (Saint Louis, MO) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Missouri Southern State University (Joplin, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Missouri State University-Springfield (Springfield, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Missouri State University-Springfield (Springfield, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Missouri Valley College (Marshall, MO) | 13.0409 Secondary School Administration/Principalship | Master’s |
| Northwest Missouri State University (Maryville, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Northwest Missouri State University (Maryville, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Northwest Missouri State University (Maryville, MO) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Master’s |
| Northwest Missouri State University (Maryville, MO) | 13.0408 Elementary and Middle School Administration/Principalship | Master’s |
| Northwest Missouri State University (Maryville, MO) | 13.0409 Secondary School Administration/Principalship | Master’s |
| Northwest Missouri State University (Maryville, MO) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Park University (Parkville, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Park University (Parkville, MO) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Master’s |
| Rockhurst University (Kansas City, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Saint Louis University (Saint Louis, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Saint Louis University (Saint Louis, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Southeast Missouri State University (Cape Girardeau, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Southeast Missouri State University (Cape Girardeau, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Southeast Missouri State University (Cape Girardeau, MO) | 13.0408 Elementary and Middle School Administration/Principalship | Master’s |
| Southeast Missouri State University (Cape Girardeau, MO) | 13.0409 Secondary School Administration/Principalship | Master’s |
| Southwest Baptist University (Bolivar, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Southwest Baptist University (Bolivar, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Southwest Baptist University (Bolivar, MO) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Post-master’s / EdS |
| University of Central Missouri (Warrensburg, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Central Missouri (Warrensburg, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| University of Central Missouri (Warrensburg, MO) | 13.0408 Elementary and Middle School Administration/Principalship | Master’s |
| University of Central Missouri (Warrensburg, MO) | 13.0408 Elementary and Middle School Administration/Principalship | Post-master’s / EdS |
| University of Missouri-Columbia (Columbia, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of Missouri-Columbia (Columbia, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Missouri-Columbia (Columbia, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| University of Missouri-Columbia (Columbia, MO) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Doctorate (research) |
| University of Missouri-Kansas City (Kansas City, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Missouri-Kansas City (Kansas City, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| University of Missouri-St Louis (Saint Louis, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Missouri-St Louis (Saint Louis, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Webster University (Saint Louis, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Webster University (Saint Louis, MO) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Master’s |
| William Woods University (Fulton, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| William Woods University (Fulton, MO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| William Woods University (Fulton, MO) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Master’s |
Renewal and professional development
Upgrade from Initial to Transition with employment, two years of mentoring, and 120 professional-development hours or eight graduate hours or a combination or three micro-credentials, plus annual leader evaluation. Career upgrade requires four years of approved administrative experience, mentoring, and an EdS or higher in specified fields or fifteen micro-credentials plus evaluations.
Moving an administrator credential to Missouri
Confirm out-of-state administrator evaluation rules directly with Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) — Educator Certification. This site does not republish NASDTEC interstate-agreement text.
Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) — Educator Certification
Salary and job outlook in Missouri
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Missouri; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $100,400
- Employed
- 7,120
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $104,560
- Employed
- 2,830
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $50,910
- Employed
- 33,180
- Projected growth
- -0.6%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $59,310
- Employed
- 11,330
- Projected growth
- -0.7%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $59,240
- Employed
- 24,380
- Projected growth
- -0.4%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Missouri, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Frequently asked questions
How long is Missouri’s Initial Administrator Certificate valid?
Four years for the Initial Administrator Certificate (School Leader, Kindergarten–Grade 12). Educators then follow DESE’s Transition and Career upgrade requirements.
What experience does Missouri require for the Initial School Leader certificate?
Three years of approved teaching experience, as stated in 5 CSR 20-400.610, plus a master’s in educational leadership from a DESE-approved program, institutional recommendation, and passing exit-assessment scores.
How does a Missouri administrator upgrade from Initial to Transition?
Employment plus two years of mentoring and 120 professional-development hours, or eight graduate hours, or a combination, or three micro-credentials, plus an annual leader evaluation, as published on DESE’s administrator-upgrade page.
Does Missouri allow superintendent certification with only a master’s degree?
No. DESE requires a minimum education specialist degree for superintendent certification, which is separate from the Initial School Leader K–12 certificate.
References
- Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education — Become a Certified Administrator. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Earn a master’s in educational leadership from a DESE-approved program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Upgrade to Transition, then Career, using DESE’s published options. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) — Educator Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Missouri credential portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.