How to Become a Principal in Maryland

Requirements verified Sep 7, 2026 against the Maryland State Department of EducationTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

Maryland now issues one Administrator license for supervisor of instruction, assistant principal, or principal; historic Administrator I and II endorsements are retired. Candidates need a master’s or higher, 27 months of effective teaching or specialist performance, special-education hours or CPD, and one pathway: an MSDE-approved program, an approved out-of-state program with practicum, 18 graduate hours with a 240-hour clinical practicum, or a valid out-of-state or country admin license plus five years of effective PK-12 admin performance.

  1. Use the current single Administrator license, not historic Administrator I/II
    Maryland no longer issues separate Administrator I and Administrator II…
  2. Meet the shared degree, experience, and special-education requirements
    Hold a master’s or higher, document 27 months of effective teaching or…
  3. Complete one of the four preparation pathways
    Add one pathway: an MSDE-approved program; or an approved out-of-state…
  4. Present an SLLA qualifying score when the pathway requires it
    Applicants who qualify through an out-of-state program or through the 1…

Key takeaways

  • Maryland now issues one Administrator license for supervisor of instruction, assistant principal, or principal; historic Administrator I and II endorsements are retired. Candidates need a master’s or higher, 27 months of effective teaching or specialist performance, special-education hours or CPD, and one pathway: an MSDE-approved program, an approved out-of-state program with practicum, 18 graduate hours with a 240-hour clinical practicum, or a valid out-of-state or country admin license plus five years of effective PK-12 admin performance.
  • Use the current single Administrator license, not historic Administrator I/II
  • Meet the shared degree, experience, and special-education requirements
  • Complete one of the four preparation pathways

Maryland principal requirements, step by step

Administrator license (supervisor of instruction, assistant principal, or principal). Each requirement is stated as Maryland State Department of Education publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Use the current single Administrator license, not historic Administrator I/II

    Maryland no longer issues separate Administrator I and Administrator II endorsements as the current structure. Those titles are historic. The current license is a single Administrator license that qualifies the holder as a supervisor of instruction, an assistant principal, or a principal. COMAR 13A.12.05.05 is the November 2025 replacement text.

    Source: marylandpublicschools.org

  2. Meet the shared degree, experience, and special-education requirements

    Hold a master’s or higher, document 27 months of effective teaching or specialist performance, and complete three semester hours or State-approved continuing professional development in special education.

    Source: marylandpublicschools.org

  3. Complete one of the four preparation pathways

    Add one pathway: an MSDE-approved program; or an approved out-of-state program with a supervised practicum; or 18 graduate semester hours in the specified categories including a 240-clock-hour clinical practicum; or a valid out-of-state or country administrative license plus five years of effective PK-12 administrative performance.

    Source: marylandpublicschools.org

  4. Present an SLLA qualifying score when the pathway requires it

    Applicants who qualify through an out-of-state program or through the 18-hour coursework pathway must present a qualifying score on the School Leaders Licensure Assessment approved by the State Board. MSDE-approved-program and five-year out-of-state-license pathways follow the assessment rules stated on the MSDE page for those routes.

    Source: marylandpublicschools.org

  5. Apply through TEACH / the MSDE certification hub

    Submit the Administrator license application through TEACH at certificationhub.msde.maryland.gov. Request the current Administrator license, not a historic Administrator I or II endorsement.

    Source: certificationhub.msde.maryland.gov

Maryland’s 2025 rewrite is the first fact every returning administrator should absorb. Administrator I and Administrator II endorsements are historic. The Maryland State Department of Education now issues a single Administrator license that qualifies a person as a supervisor of instruction, an assistant principal, or a principal. COMAR 13A.12.05.05 is the November 2025 replacement. Job postings and older university handbooks that still tell candidates to “get Admin I, then Admin II” are describing a structure MSDE has replaced. Applying in TEACH for a historic endorsement code will not produce the current license.

Every pathway shares three prerequisites: a master’s or higher, 27 months of effective teaching or specialist performance, and three semester hours or State-approved continuing professional development in special education. Twenty-seven months is not “about two years.” Specialists can use specialist performance rather than classroom teaching, but the performance must be effective under the standard MSDE uses. The special-education hours are easy to overlook on an out-of-state transcript that never isolated that content.

The fourth requirement is one of four doors. An MSDE-approved program is the in-state preparation door. An approved out-of-state program must include a supervised practicum. The coursework door is 18 graduate semester hours in specified categories and a 240-clock-hour clinical practicum—not 18 miscellaneous leadership electives and not a practicum shorter than 240 clock hours. The experienced-administrator door is a valid out-of-state or country administrative license plus five years of effective PK-12 administrative performance. Five years of teaching with an out-of-state teacher license does not open that door.

SLLA is pathway-dependent. Applicants who use the out-of-state program route or the 18-hour coursework route must present a qualifying score on the School Leaders Licensure Assessment the State Board has approved. This bundle does not invent that cut score because the MSDE page used here does not publish the number. File the application through TEACH at the certification hub. Choose the current Administrator license, attach the pathway evidence that matches one of the four doors, and do not reconstruct Administrator I/II as a two-step climb that no longer exists.

Required exams and fees

Maryland uses SLLA (required for specified pathways). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).

Maryland principal / administrator exams — Maryland State Department of Education — Supervisors of Instruction, Assistant Principals, and Principals. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Institutions with educational leadership programs

The table lists educational leadership CIP codes and award levels from IPEDS. This extract reported no completion counts, so none are shown. An award conferred does not mean the program is approved to recommend candidates for Administrator license (supervisor of instruction, assistant principal, or principal). Verify approval with Maryland State Department of Education.

Educational leadership CIP programs in Maryland — NCES IPEDS — Completions by CIP and award level (C2023_A revised), IPEDS Completions C2023 (AY 2022-23, revised). Retrieved 2026-09-07. This source reported no completion counts for these programs, so no completions column is shown. Rows are awards catalogued by CIP code, not a ranking and not proof of state licensure approval.
InstitutionCIPAward level
Bowie State University (Bowie, MD)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Bowie State University (Bowie, MD)13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System AdministrationDoctorate (research)
Coppin State University (Baltimore, MD)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Coppin State University (Baltimore, MD)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralPost-master’s / EdS
Frostburg State University (Frostburg, MD)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (research)
Frostburg State University (Frostburg, MD)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralPost-master’s / EdS
Hood College (Frederick, MD)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Hood College (Frederick, MD)13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum SupervisionMaster’s
Johns Hopkins University (Baltimore, MD)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Loyola University Maryland (Baltimore, MD)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Loyola University Maryland (Baltimore, MD)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralPost-master’s / EdS
McDaniel College (Westminster, MD)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Morgan State University (Baltimore, MD)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (research)
Morgan State University (Baltimore, MD)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Morgan State University (Baltimore, MD)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralPost-master’s / EdS
Mount St. Mary's University (Emmitsburg, MD)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Notre Dame of Maryland University (Baltimore, MD)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (research)
Salisbury University (Salisbury, MD)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Salisbury University (Salisbury, MD)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralPost-master’s / EdS
Salisbury University (Salisbury, MD)13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum SupervisionDoctorate (research)
Strayer University-Maryland (Suitland, MD)13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, OtherMaster’s
Towson University (Towson, MD)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Towson University (Towson, MD)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralPost-master’s / EdS
University of Maryland Eastern Shore (Princess Anne, MD)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (research)
University of Maryland Global Campus (Adelphi, MD)13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, OtherMaster’s
University of Maryland-College Park (College Park, MD)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (research)
University of Maryland-College Park (College Park, MD)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
University of Maryland-College Park (College Park, MD)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralPost-master’s / EdS

Renewal and professional development

Renew the Administrator license according to Maryland State Department of Education rules for that license. Confirm current expectations in TEACH / the certification hub.

Moving an administrator credential to Maryland

Maryland accepts an approved out-of-state program with a supervised practicum, or a valid out-of-state or country administrative license plus five years of effective PK-12 administrative performance. The out-of-state program pathway and the 18-hour coursework pathway require a State Board-approved SLLA qualifying score.

Official Maryland reciprocity guidance

Salary and job outlook in Maryland

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Maryland; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $131,510
    Employed
    7,200
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $118,550
    Employed
    Not reported.
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $77,680
    Employed
    29,610
    Projected growth
    +0.6%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $78,510
    Employed
    14,530
    Projected growth
    +0.6%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $78,670
    Employed
    16,640
    Projected growth
    +0.9%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Maryland, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Frequently asked questions

Does Maryland still issue Administrator I and Administrator II endorsements?

No. Those endorsements are historic. The current license is a single Administrator license that qualifies a supervisor of instruction, assistant principal, or principal. COMAR 13A.12.05.05 is the November 2025 replacement.

How much teaching or specialist experience does Maryland’s Administrator license require?

27 months of effective teaching or specialist performance, plus a master’s or higher and three semester hours or State-approved CPD in special education, before adding one of the four preparation pathways.

When does Maryland require SLLA for the Administrator license?

Applicants qualifying through an approved out-of-state program or through the 18 graduate-semester-hour coursework pathway must present a qualifying score on the State Board-approved SLLA.

What is Maryland’s 18-hour Administrator pathway?

18 graduate semester hours in specified categories, including a 240-clock-hour clinical practicum, plus the shared master’s, 27-month experience, and special-education requirements, and a qualifying SLLA score.

References

  1. Maryland State Department of Education — Supervisors of Instruction, Assistant Principals, and Principals. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  2. Apply through TEACH / the MSDE certification hub. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  3. Maryland State Department of Education. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.