How to Become a Teacher in Maryland
The short answer
To become a teacher in Maryland through the traditional path, earn a bachelor's degree, complete a Maryland-approved preparation program, and pass required Praxis Core, content, pedagogy, and reading assessments for your endorsement. Apply through TEACH for a five-year Initial Professional License. Renewal uses an Individualized Professional Development Plan and 90 professional development points.
- Earn a bachelor's degree or higher
- Complete a Maryland-approved teacher preparation program
- Pass Maryland licensure assessments
- Apply through TEACH for an Initial Professional License
Key takeaways
- To become a teacher in Maryland through the traditional path, earn a bachelor's degree, complete a Maryland-approved preparation program, and pass required Praxis Core, content, pedagogy, and reading assessments for your endorsement. Apply through TEACH for a five-year Initial Professional License. Renewal uses an Individualized Professional Development Plan and 90 professional development points.
- Earn a bachelor's degree or higher
- Complete a Maryland-approved teacher preparation program
- Pass Maryland licensure assessments
Maryland certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Maryland State Department of Education (MSDE) — Educator Licensure publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Earn a bachelor's degree or higher
Complete a bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited institution. Maryland-approved traditional teacher preparation programs require a baccalaureate degree as the entry credential.
Source: marylandpublicschools.org
Complete a Maryland-approved teacher preparation program
Finish a program approved to lead to licensure in Maryland, including clinical practice and pedagogy performance assessment requirements integrated into the program.
Source: marylandpublicschools.org
Pass Maryland licensure assessments
Demonstrate mastery of basic skills (Praxis Core where applicable), subject-area content (Praxis content tests), pedagogy (edTPA, PPAT, or approved program portfolio), and reading instruction assessments for Early Childhood, Elementary, Special Education, and ESOL areas.
Source: marylandpublicschools.org
Apply through TEACH for an Initial Professional License
Submit your application via The Educator Application and Credentialing Hub (TEACH). MSDE issues a five-year Initial Professional License (IPL) to educators who meet a pathway to initial licensure.
Source: marylandpublicschools.org
Advance and renew with IPDP and PDPs
Maintain an Individualized Professional Development Plan (IPDP) for each five-year cycle. Professional license holders complete 90 Professional Development Points (PDPs) to renew through TEACH.
Source: marylandpublicschools.org
Maryland layers performance assessment on top of Praxis in ways many states have moved away from or never adopted. Traditional and alternative preparation program completers must demonstrate pedagogy mastery through edTPA, PPAT, or a Maryland-approved program portfolio—not merely pass content exams. That triple stack (basic skills, content, performance) lengthens the preparation timeline and affects reciprocity candidates who hold out-of-state licenses but lack comparable performance evidence.
Reading instruction assessments create endorsement-specific forks. Early Childhood, Elementary, Special Education, and ESOL candidates face Praxis Teaching Reading: Elementary (5205) with a passing score of 159 per MSDE testing tables, plus evolving Foundations of Reading requirements documented on MSDE's future reading requirements page. Beginning July 1, 2025, professionally licensed teachers assigned to those areas in Maryland public settings must also demonstrate scientific reading instruction proficiency at renewal—a policy shift that ties continued licensure to literacy pedagogy, not just initial hire.
TEACH centralizes application workflow, and MSDE advertises eight-week processing for completed applications. The Initial Professional License (IPL) is a five-year renewable credential—not a permanent certificate—requiring an Individualized Professional Development Plan (IPDP) aligned to each validity cycle before renewal is even contemplated.
Reciprocity through the Out-of-State Professional License pathway demands more than a valid certificate. Applicants need a reading assessment for applicable areas plus one of several experience or portfolio options (performance assessment, two years of effective evaluations, National Board certification, or Maryland LEA evaluation). Temporary Professional Licenses bridge candidates who meet all requirements except Maryland assessments, giving employers a two-year non-renewable window.
Required exams and fees
Maryland uses Praxis Core/content, pedagogy performance assessments (edTPA, PPAT, or Maryland-approved portfolio), and reading instruction assessments. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators: Reading (5713)
- Passing score
- 156
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators: Writing (5723)
- Passing score
- 162
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis Teaching Reading: Elementary (5205) — reading instruction areas
- Passing score
- 159
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Pedagogy performance assessment (edTPA, PPAT, or Maryland-approved portfolio)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis content assessments — area-specific
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Maryland certification exams, MSDE — Pathways to Initial Licensure. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
Professional license holders must complete 90 Professional Development Points (PDPs) including content in specific topic areas and maintain an Individualized Professional Development Plan (IPDP) for the five-year validity cycle. Beginning July 1, 2025, teachers in early childhood, elementary, special education, or ESOL must demonstrate scientific reading instruction proficiency at renewal.
Moving a license to Maryland
Out-of-State Professional License pathway: bachelor's degree, valid professional out-of-state license, passing reading instruction assessment for ECE/elementary/generic special education/ESOL if applicable, plus portfolio assessment, two years effective evaluations, National Board certificate, or Maryland employment evaluation. Temporary Professional License (two-year non-renewable) available when all requirements except Maryland assessments are met.
Official Maryland reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Maryland
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Maryland; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $131,510
- Employed
- 7,200
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $118,550
- Employed
- Not reported.
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $77,680
- Employed
- 29,610
- Projected growth
- +0.6%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $78,510
- Employed
- 14,530
- Projected growth
- +0.6%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $78,670
- Employed
- 16,640
- Projected growth
- +0.9%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Maryland, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Maryland
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Maryland subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Maryland preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Maryland educator license application fee?
MSDE's license fees page lists a $10 fee for educator licensure applications through TEACH.
What Praxis Core scores does Maryland require?
MSDE's licensure assessments page lists passing scores of 156 on Reading (5713) and 162 on Writing (5723) for Praxis Core Academic Skills.
How many PDPs are required to renew a Maryland Professional license?
Professional license holders must complete 90 Professional Development Points (PDPs) and maintain an IPDP for the five-year validity cycle.
Does Maryland require edTPA?
MSDE accepts edTPA, PPAT, or a Maryland-approved program portfolio as the pedagogy performance assessment for preparation program completers.
References
- MSDE — Pathways to Initial Licensure. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Pass Maryland licensure assessments. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Apply through TEACH for an Initial Professional License. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Advance and renew with IPDP and PDPs. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.