Maryland
Maryland teacher certification exams
Official Maryland educator certification exam system (Praxis Core/content, pedagogy performance assessments (edTPA, PPAT, or Maryland-approved portfolio), and reading instruction assessments). Fees and cut scores appear only when the cited official source publishes them.
Exam system overview
Maryland uses the Praxis Core/content, pedagogy performance assessments (edTPA, PPAT, or Maryland-approved portfolio), and reading instruction assessments assessment system (including Praxis assessments where the state assigns them). Exact tests depend on the certificate or endorsement you seek. Fees and cut scores appear below only when the cited official source publishes them; otherwise the cell reads “Not reported.”
- Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators: Reading (5713)
- Passing score
- 156
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators: Writing (5723)
- Passing score
- 162
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis Teaching Reading: Elementary (5205) — reading instruction areas
- Passing score
- 159
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Pedagogy performance assessment (edTPA, PPAT, or Maryland-approved portfolio)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis content assessments — area-specific
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Maryland exams, sourced from MSDE — Pathways to Initial Licensure (as of August 2026).
Back to how to become a teacher in Maryland
References
- MSDE — Pathways to Initial Licensure. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Pass Maryland licensure assessments. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Apply through TEACH for an Initial Professional License. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Advance and renew with IPDP and PDPs. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.