How to Become a Principal in Wisconsin

Requirements verified Sep 7, 2026 against the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI) — Bureau of Educator LicensingTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

Wisconsin’s Principal license is PK–12 (historically code 5051). Candidates need state-approved principal preparation, a master’s or equivalent, a valid or eligible Professional Educator License in teaching or pupil services, and three years of successful full-time classroom teaching—or three pupil-services years that include 540 hours of classroom teaching. Apply through ELO after program endorsement. DPI’s administrator pages do not name a required principal exam.

  1. Hold or be eligible for a Professional Educator License in teaching or pupil services
    Hold a valid Professional Educator License in teaching or pupil service…
  2. Earn a master’s degree or equivalent
    Complete a master’s degree or the equivalent DPI accepts for administra…
  3. Finish state-approved administrative preparation for the principal area
    Complete a Wisconsin-approved administrator preparation program in the…
  4. Document three years of successful full-time teaching or pupil-services experience
    Verify three years of successful full-time classroom teaching, or three…

Key takeaways

  • Wisconsin’s Principal license is PK–12 (historically code 5051). Candidates need state-approved principal preparation, a master’s or equivalent, a valid or eligible Professional Educator License in teaching or pupil services, and three years of successful full-time classroom teaching—or three pupil-services years that include 540 hours of classroom teaching. Apply through ELO after program endorsement. DPI’s administrator pages do not name a required principal exam.
  • Hold or be eligible for a Professional Educator License in teaching or pupil services
  • Earn a master’s degree or equivalent
  • Finish state-approved administrative preparation for the principal area

Wisconsin principal requirements, step by step

Principal license (PK–12; historically license code 5051). Each requirement is stated as Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI) — Bureau of Educator Licensing publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Hold or be eligible for a Professional Educator License in teaching or pupil services

    Hold a valid Professional Educator License in teaching or pupil services, or be eligible for that license. The Principal license is an administrative license stacked on that professional status, not a first educator license.

    Source: dpi.wi.gov

  2. Earn a master’s degree or equivalent

    Complete a master’s degree or the equivalent DPI accepts for administrator licensure. The degree accompanies a state-approved administrative preparation program in the principal licensure area.

    Source: dpi.wi.gov

  3. Finish state-approved administrative preparation for the principal area

    Complete a Wisconsin-approved administrator preparation program in the principal licensure area (PK–12; historically license code 5051) and obtain the program’s endorsement.

    Source: dpi.wi.gov

  4. Document three years of successful full-time teaching or pupil-services experience

    Verify three years of successful full-time classroom teaching, or three years as a pupil-services professional that include 540 hours of classroom teaching. Pupil-services years without those 540 classroom hours do not meet the experience rule.

    Source: dpi.wi.gov

  5. Apply through ELO after program endorsement

    Submit the Principal license application in the Educator Licensing Online system after the approved program posts its endorsement. DPI’s administrator pages used here do not name a required principal examination; confirm any testing expectation with DPI and the approved program.

    Source: dpi.wi.gov

Wisconsin’s building credential is a Principal license for PK–12, historically stored as license code 5051 in DPI systems. The Department of Public Instruction’s administrator-types and administrator-pathways pages are the paired sources. Preparation must be a state-approved administrative program in the principal licensure area, not a generic leadership certificate from a campus that lacks DPI approval for 5051. A master’s or equivalent sits beside that program; DPI does not treat an unrelated graduate degree as a substitute for approved principal preparation.

The underlying educator status is a Professional Educator License in teaching or pupil services, or eligibility for that license. Administrators who let a teaching license lapse while finishing a leadership program can stall in Educator Licensing Online because the Principal license expects that professional status to be valid or eligible. Emergency or substitute credentials are not the Professional Educator License the pathways page describes.

Experience is the Wisconsin-specific trap for pupil-services professionals. Classroom teachers need three years of successful full-time classroom teaching. Pupil-services professionals need three years in that role and those years must include 540 hours of classroom teaching. A school psychologist or counselor with three full-time years and no classroom-hour documentation does not meet the rule as DPI states it. The 540 hours are a counted classroom-teaching total, not a synonym for “worked in a school building.”

DPI’s administrator pages used for this bundle do not name a required principal examination. Do not invent a Praxis, Wisconsin Foundations of Reading, or vendor leadership test for this license. Confirm with the approved program and DPI whether the current cohort has an assessment attached. After the program endorsement posts, apply through Educator Licensing Online. Selecting a director of instruction or school business administrator license instead of Principal (5051) will not authorize a PK–12 principalship, even when the master’s and the three-year experience letter are already in the file.

Required exams and fees

Wisconsin uses Confirm with DPI / approved program. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).

Institutions with educational leadership programs

The table lists educational leadership CIP codes and award levels from IPEDS. This extract reported no completion counts, so none are shown. An award conferred does not mean the program is approved to recommend candidates for Principal license (PK–12; historically license code 5051). Verify approval with Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI) — Bureau of Educator Licensing.

Educational leadership CIP programs in Wisconsin — NCES IPEDS — Completions by CIP and award level (C2023_A revised), IPEDS Completions C2023 (AY 2022-23, revised). Retrieved 2026-09-07. This source reported no completion counts for these programs, so no completions column is shown. Rows are awards catalogued by CIP code, not a ranking and not proof of state licensure approval.
InstitutionCIPAward level
Alverno College (Milwaukee, WI)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (research)
Alverno College (Milwaukee, WI)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Alverno College (Milwaukee, WI)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralPost-master’s / EdS
Alverno College (Milwaukee, WI)13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System AdministrationDoctorate (research)
Carroll University (Waukesha, WI)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Carthage College (Kenosha, WI)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Concordia University-Wisconsin (Mequon, WI)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Concordia University-Wisconsin (Mequon, WI)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralPost-master’s / EdS
Concordia University-Wisconsin (Mequon, WI)13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum SupervisionMaster’s
Concordia University-Wisconsin (Mequon, WI)13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System AdministrationPost-master’s / EdS
Edgewood College (Madison, WI)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (research)
Edgewood College (Madison, WI)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Edgewood College (Madison, WI)13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System AdministrationDoctorate (research)
Edgewood College (Madison, WI)13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, OtherDoctorate (research)
Edgewood College (Madison, WI)13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, OtherMaster’s
Marian University (Fond Du Lac, WI)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Marian University (Fond Du Lac, WI)13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum SupervisionMaster’s
Marian University (Fond Du Lac, WI)13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System AdministrationPost-master’s / EdS
Marian University (Fond Du Lac, WI)13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, OtherMaster’s
Marquette University (Milwaukee, WI)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (research)
Marquette University (Milwaukee, WI)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Marquette University (Milwaukee, WI)13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System AdministrationPost-master’s / EdS
Ottawa University-Milwaukee (Brookfield, WI)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
University of Wisconsin-La Crosse (La Crosse, WI)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralPost-master’s / EdS
University of Wisconsin-Madison (Madison, WI)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (research)
University of Wisconsin-Madison (Madison, WI)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (Milwaukee, WI)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (Milwaukee, WI)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralPost-master’s / EdS
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (Milwaukee, WI)13.0410 Urban Education and LeadershipDoctorate (research)
University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh (Oshkosh, WI)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (professional)
University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh (Oshkosh, WI)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
University of Wisconsin-River Falls (River Falls, WI)13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum SupervisionMaster’s
University of Wisconsin-Superior (Superior, WI)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
University of Wisconsin-Whitewater (Whitewater, WI)13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System AdministrationMaster’s
Viterbo University (La Crosse, WI)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Viterbo University (La Crosse, WI)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralPost-master’s / EdS
Viterbo University (La Crosse, WI)13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum SupervisionPost-master’s / EdS
Viterbo University (La Crosse, WI)13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System AdministrationPost-master’s / EdS
Viterbo University (La Crosse, WI)13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, OtherPost-master’s / EdS
Wisconsin Lutheran College (Milwaukee, WI)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Wisconsin Lutheran College (Milwaukee, WI)13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum SupervisionMaster’s

Renewal and professional development

Renew the Principal license according to Wisconsin DPI educator-licensing rules. Confirm current expectations in Educator Licensing Online before the license expires.

Moving an administrator credential to Wisconsin

Confirm out-of-state administrator evaluation rules directly with Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI) — Bureau of Educator Licensing. This site does not republish NASDTEC interstate-agreement text.

Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI) — Bureau of Educator Licensing

Salary and job outlook in Wisconsin

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Wisconsin; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $117,010
    Employed
    4,030
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $124,960
    Employed
    1,190
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $61,210
    Employed
    24,920
    Projected growth
    +0.4%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $61,960
    Employed
    14,460
    Projected growth
    +0.4%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $62,870
    Employed
    15,910
    Projected growth
    +0.8%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Wisconsin, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Frequently asked questions

What is Wisconsin license code 5051?

It is the historic code for the Principal license (PK–12). Current applications still use DPI’s administrator license types; the preparation must be in the principal licensure area.

Can a Wisconsin school counselor qualify for a Principal license without classroom teaching?

Pupil-services professionals need three years in that role including 540 hours of classroom teaching. Three pupil-services years without those 540 classroom hours do not meet DPI’s stated experience rule.

Does Wisconsin require a principal exam?

DPI’s administrator license-type and administrator-pathway pages used here do not name a required principal examination. Confirm any current testing expectation with DPI and the approved program.

What academic preparation does a Wisconsin Principal license require?

A master’s degree or equivalent and a state-approved administrative preparation program in the principal licensure area, plus a valid or eligible Professional Educator License in teaching or pupil services.

References

  1. Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction — Administrator License Types. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  2. Earn a master’s degree or equivalent. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  3. Apply through ELO after program endorsement. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  4. Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI) — Bureau of Educator Licensing. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.