Alternative Teacher Certification in Wisconsin
The short answer
Wisconsin alternate paths include nontraditional approved EPPs (requires BA), ABCTE statutory route (not DPI-approved prep), and Tier I conditional licenses with district stipulations. All require Praxis II and FORT (233 for 890) where applicable. Outcome is Tier II Provisional ($135), then Tier III Lifetime after six WI semesters.
- Enroll in a nontraditional approved EPP
- American Board (ABCTE) statutory pathway
- Tier I Conditional licenses with stipulations
- Pass Praxis II and FORT where required
Key takeaways
- Wisconsin alternate paths include nontraditional approved EPPs (requires BA), ABCTE statutory route (not DPI-approved prep), and Tier I conditional licenses with district stipulations. All require Praxis II and FORT (233 for 890) where applicable. Outcome is Tier II Provisional ($135), then Tier III Lifetime after six WI semesters.
- Enroll in a nontraditional approved EPP
- American Board (ABCTE) statutory pathway
- Tier I Conditional licenses with stipulations
Wisconsin alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI) — Bureau of Educator Licensing publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Enroll in a nontraditional approved EPP
Nontraditional educator preparation programs operate at approved nonprofits, school districts, and for-profit entities. Applicants must already hold a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution.
Source: dpi.wi.gov
American Board (ABCTE) statutory pathway
Complete ABCTE (authorized under Wis. Stat. §118.197; not a DPI-approved preparation program) in offered areas including ELA, Elementary/Middle, Math, Science, Social Studies, or Cross-Categorical Special Education. Apply via Out-of-State [1025] with ABCTE completion certificate and exam results.
Source: dpi.wi.gov
Tier I Conditional licenses with stipulations
Conditional Educator Licenses and Permits (Tier I) serve educators who have not completed an approved preparation program in the license area. School district support pathways offer one- and three-year licenses with stipulations.
Source: dpi.wi.gov
Pass Praxis II and FORT where required
Meet the same content and Foundations of Reading testing requirements as traditional-route candidates for the license area sought.
Source: dpi.wi.gov
Apply for Provisional (Tier II) then Lifetime (Tier III) license
Upon meeting program or ABCTE requirements, apply through ELO for Tier II provisional licensure, then advance to Tier III after six semesters of Wisconsin experience.
Source: dpi.wi.gov
Wisconsin explicitly distinguishes nontraditional approved EPPs from the American Board statutory pathway. Nontraditional programs at districts, nonprofits, and for-profits are DPI-approved and recommend candidates through standard ELO institutional endorsement. ABCTE operates under Wis. Stat. §118.197 but is not an approved preparation program—completers apply via Out-of-State [1025] with PI-1612 assurances, ABCTE certificates, and ABCTE exam results instead of traditional program recommendation.
Tier I Conditional Educator Licenses with stipulations serve candidates who lack approved preparation in the license area, typically with school district sponsorship. These one- and three-year credentials carry stipulations DPI sets case-by-case, making district advocacy essential. Tier I is a lower rung than Tier II Provisional and should not be confused with the provisional license issued to program completers.
Testing requirements do not relax by route. Nontraditional, ABCTE, and traditional candidates face the same Praxis II and FORT obligations for applicable license categories. ABCTE adds its own Professional Teaching Knowledge and Content Knowledge exams, creating a potential triple-testing scenario for ABCTE elementary candidates who also need FORT.
Financial pathways split at application type: standard in-state processing at $135 versus $190 for out-of-state educator applications on DPI's fee schedule. ABCTE applicants using the Out-of-State [1025] transaction should confirm which fee tier applies to their submission category before paying through ELO.
Required exams and fees
Wisconsin uses Praxis II content tests (ETS) and Foundations of Reading Test for Wisconsin (Pearson NES FORT). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- Foundations of Reading Test for Wisconsin (NES FORT 890)
- Passing score
- 233
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis II content exams — license-area specific
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- ABCTE Professional Teaching Knowledge and Content Knowledge exams — ABCTE pathway
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Wisconsin certification exams, DPI — Educator Licensing General Information. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
Tier II provisional licenses renew every three years without clock-hour minima. Tier I stipulation licenses have pathway-specific conditions set by DPI and the supporting district.
Moving a license to Wisconsin
ABCTE and nontraditional EPP pathways are for candidates entering Wisconsin's pipeline. License Based on Reciprocity serves holders of valid out-of-state licenses with one year of experience; out-of-state program completers use separate application types with the $190 fee.
Official Wisconsin reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Wisconsin
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Wisconsin; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $117,010
- Employed
- 4,030
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $124,960
- Employed
- 1,190
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $61,210
- Employed
- 24,920
- Projected growth
- +0.4%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $61,960
- Employed
- 14,460
- Projected growth
- +0.4%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $62,870
- Employed
- 15,910
- Projected growth
- +0.8%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Wisconsin, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Wisconsin
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Wisconsin subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Wisconsin preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
Is ABCTE an approved Wisconsin preparation program?
No. DPI states ABCTE is authorized under Wis. Stat. §118.197 but is not an approved educator preparation program. Completers apply via the Out-of-State [1025] pathway with ABCTE documentation.
What is a Tier I conditional license?
Tier I Conditional Educator Licenses and Permits are for educators without approved preparation in the license area, often requiring school district support and carrying DPI stipulations.
Do alternate route candidates take FORT?
Yes. DPI requires Foundations of Reading Test for Wisconsin for the same license categories regardless of whether the candidate completed a traditional, nontraditional, or ABCTE pathway.
References
- DPI — Educator Licensing General Information. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Enroll in a nontraditional approved EPP. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Pass Praxis II and FORT where required. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Wisconsin certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.