Alternative Teacher Certification in Alabama

Requirements verified Sep 7, 2026 against the Alabama State Department of Education — Educator Certification SectionTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

Alabama’s primary classroom alternative route is the Conditional Certificate in a Teaching Field. You need a bachelor’s degree, an ALSDE-approved ATPO Letter of Eligibility, employing-system sponsorship, Fieldprint clearance, and Praxis subject scores before the first one-year CCTF. Teach within a four-year window (maximum three alternative certificates), then convert with Form PFC by passing edTPA or PLT under ALSDE’s year-based rules plus Foundations of Reading 890 where required. Each application carries the $38.00 AIM/ACE fee.

  1. Secure Alabama employment and an ATPO Letter of Eligibility
    CCTF and PCTF certificates are requested by the employing city/county s…
  2. Meet CCTF GPA and Praxis options before the first certificate
    Form CC1 requires the AECAP Praxis subject test(s) for the recommended…
  3. Submit Form CC1 through the employing system with Fieldprint clearance
    The LEA submits Form CC1, Supplement CIT, official transcripts obtained…
  4. Teach within the four-year CCTF window
    All CCTFs must be held within four scholastic years from the July 1 sta…

Key takeaways

  • Alabama’s primary classroom alternative route is the Conditional Certificate in a Teaching Field. You need a bachelor’s degree, an ALSDE-approved ATPO Letter of Eligibility, employing-system sponsorship, Fieldprint clearance, and Praxis subject scores before the first one-year CCTF. Teach within a four-year window (maximum three alternative certificates), then convert with Form PFC by passing edTPA or PLT under ALSDE’s year-based rules plus Foundations of Reading 890 where required. Each application carries the $38.00 AIM/ACE fee.
  • Secure Alabama employment and an ATPO Letter of Eligibility
  • Meet CCTF GPA and Praxis options before the first certificate
  • Submit Form CC1 through the employing system with Fieldprint clearance

Alabama alternative certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as Alabama State Department of Education — Educator Certification Section publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Secure Alabama employment and an ATPO Letter of Eligibility

    CCTF and PCTF certificates are requested by the employing city/county superintendent or eligible nonpublic administrator—not by the candidate alone. For the Conditional Certificate in a Teaching Field, obtain a Letter of Eligibility from an ALSDE-approved Alternative Teacher Preparation Organization (ATPO). Hold at least a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited or DEAC-accredited senior institution.

    Source: alabamaachieves.org

  2. Meet CCTF GPA and Praxis options before the first certificate

    Form CC1 requires the AECAP Praxis subject test(s) for the recommended teaching field before the first CCTF. Candidates with a 2.50 overall GPA use the standard passing score. Candidates with at least a 2.00 GPA who miss 2.50 may use additional coursework or an increased Praxis score option published on Alabama Achieves. Holders of a valid Alabama Professional Educator or Leadership Certificate are exempt from the GPA rule.

    Source: alabamaachieves.org

  3. Submit Form CC1 through the employing system with Fieldprint clearance

    The LEA submits Form CC1, Supplement CIT, official transcripts obtained by the system (not opened by the applicant), a PowerSchool or letterhead schedule showing proper assignment, mentor assignment, and the $38.00 AIM/ACE fee. Packets received after October 1 do not count as a full year of experience. The first CCTF is valid July 1–June 30 of the scholastic year.

    Source: alabamaachieves.org

  4. Teach within the four-year CCTF window

    All CCTFs must be held within four scholastic years from the July 1 start of the first CCTF. You may hold up to three one-year alternative-type certificates in that window, but you must complete at least one full scholastic year of teaching on the CCTF. Failure to finish the approach bars another conditional, provisional, or temporary certificate for five years after the last certificate expires.

    Source: alabamaachieves.org

  5. Convert to the Professional Educator Certificate

    After meeting CCTF teaching and ATPO requirements, apply with Form PFC. Pedagogy rules depend on how many years you completed: three years allows Praxis PLT or the matching edTPA handbook; one or two years requires edTPA (or PLT if no handbook exists). Early childhood, elementary, and collaborative K-6 also need Foundations of Reading 890. Collaborative K-6 and 6-12 also need Praxis 5355.

    Source: alabamaachieves.org

Alabama will not let a career changer self-sponsor. The superintendent’s signature, a mentor who already holds a Professional Educator Certificate in the same or a related field with three years of P-12 experience, and a PowerSchool schedule that matches the exact CCTF field and grade band are hard gates. Teaching a computer-science course that now has a course-specific permit on a non–computer-science CCTF will get the packet rejected. Assignment errors are one of the most common reasons a full year of experience fails to count.

The October 1 postmark rule is unique among Alabama’s many dates. A CCTF issued after that date is still a valid employment credential for the rest of the scholastic year, but it does not count as a full year toward the Professional Educator Certificate. ALSDE also warns that partial months cannot be stacked. Candidates who start mid-year should plan on a second CCTF rather than assuming spring teaching will finish the experience clock.

Pedagogy at conversion is time-sensitive. Completing all three CCTF years opens a choice between Praxis PLT and the matching edTPA handbook. Leaving after one or two years locks you into edTPA (or PLT only if no handbook exists). K-12 and 4-8 CCTFs taking PLT must use the K-6 or 7-12 form; 6-12 CCTFs must use 7-12. That year-count rule is easy to miss if you treat edTPA as a program-exit exam instead of an ALSDE conversion exam.

The five-year bar after an unfinished alternative approach is a career-planning constraint, not a paperwork footnote. ALSDE counts conditional, interim, provisional, and temporary certificates together toward the three-certificate cap inside four scholastic years. Someone who burns CCTF years, switches to an Interim Employment Certificate, and still does not convert can be locked out of every remaining alternative door. The published off-ramp is unconditional admission to a State-approved Alternative Class A program rather than another one-year certificate.

Required exams and fees

Alabama uses Alabama Educator Certification Assessment Program (AECAP): Praxis subject tests, edTPA or Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching, and Foundations of Reading where required. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).

Alabama certification exams, ALSDE — Alternative Certificates (CCTF / PCTF). Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Full Alabama exam requirements →

Renewal and professional development

CCTF certificates are not open-ended renewals. A second or third CCTF requires a new employing-system application, ATPO Letter of Continuation, and fee. After conversion, Professional Educator continuation rules apply. Applicants who do not finish the approach within four years face a five-year bar on new alternative certificates.

Certificate term
1 years
Each CCTF is a one-year certificate (July 1–June 30). Up to three alternative-type certificates may be held within four scholastic years from the first CCTF’s July 1 start date. The resulting Professional Educator Certificate follows the five-scholastic-year continuation cycle.
Application fee
$38
As published by the state agency

Moving a license to Alabama

CCTF and PCTF are Alabama employment-based approaches, not vehicles for transferring another state’s alternate credential. Out-of-state licensed teachers use ALSDE’s Out of State Certificate pages. An applicant already unconditionally admitted to an Alabama Alternative Class A program in the same field cannot be issued a CCTF in that field and must use the Interim Employment Certificate approach instead.

Official Alabama reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in Alabama

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Alabama; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $97,480
    Employed
    3,020
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $100,030
    Employed
    3,760
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $61,380
    Employed
    22,030
    Projected growth
    +4.1%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $61,770
    Employed
    10,000
    Projected growth
    +4.1%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $61,990
    Employed
    15,880
    Projected growth
    +4.4%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Alabama, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in Alabama

The U.S. Department of Education designates these Alabama subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

Special Education

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, Alabama, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every Alabama preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View Alabama outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between Alabama’s CCTF and PCTF?

CCTF is for candidates completing an ALSDE-approved Alternative Teacher Preparation Organization program and requires a Letter of Eligibility. PCTF is a separate superintendent-requested approach for certain K-12, 4-8, and 6-12 fields and excludes early childhood, elementary, special education, and instructional support. Both are requested by the employer, not filed solo.

Do I need a job before Alabama will issue an alternative certificate?

Yes. ALSDE states that alternative certificates must be requested by the employing entity. Contact the school system where you want to work; individual walk-in applications for CCTF or PCTF are not the pathway.

How many alternative certificates can I hold in Alabama?

You may receive no more than three conditional, interim, provisional, or temporary certificates in any combination within four scholastic years from the July 1 start of the first certificate. You must also complete at least one full scholastic year of teaching on the CCTF before conversion.

References

  1. ALSDE — Alternative Certificates (CCTF / PCTF). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  2. Meet CCTF GPA and Praxis options before the first certificate. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  3. Convert to the Professional Educator Certificate. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  4. Alabama State Department of Education — Educator Certification Section. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  5. Alabama certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.