Alabama
Alabama teacher certification exams
Official Alabama educator certification exam system (Alabama Educator Certification Assessment Program (AECAP): Praxis subject tests, edTPA or Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching, and Foundations of Reading where required). Fees and cut scores appear only when the cited official source publishes them.
Exam system overview
Alabama uses the Alabama Educator Certification Assessment Program (AECAP): Praxis subject tests, edTPA or Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching, and Foundations of Reading where required assessment system (including Praxis assessments where the state assigns them). Exact tests depend on the certificate or endorsement you seek. Fees and cut scores appear below only when the cited official source publishes them; otherwise the cell reads “Not reported.”
- AECAP Praxis subject assessment(s) — teaching-field specific
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- AECAP pedagogy — edTPA handbook or Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Foundations of Reading — Early Childhood, Elementary, and Collaborative K-6
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- AECAP Praxis subject assessment(s) — required before the first CCTF
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- AECAP pedagogy — edTPA or Praxis PLT (rules vary by years on CCTF)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Foundations of Reading 890 — Early Childhood, Elementary, and Collaborative K-6
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Alabama exams, sourced from ALSDE — Teacher Certification (as of September 2026).
Back to how to become a teacher in Alabama
References
- ALSDE — Teacher Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete a State-approved educator preparation program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Meet AECAP testing requirements. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Receive a Class B, A, or AA Professional Educator Certificate. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- AECAP Praxis subject assessment(s) — required before the first CCTF. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- AECAP pedagogy — edTPA or Praxis PLT (rules vary by years on CCTF). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.