How to Become a Principal in Alabama
What it takes to become a principal in Alabama
Alabama’s Class A Professional Leadership Certificate in Instructional Leadership (P–12) requires a valid professional educator certificate, three years of full-time P–12 experience including one year of classroom teaching, a master’s in instructional leadership from a State Board-approved program (30 or more graduate hours, 3.0 GPA), an internship with a 10-day residency, and Praxis 5412 at 146.
Sources: Alabama Administrative Code 290-3-3-.34, Instructional Leadership (Grades P-12) (revised 5/15/25). As of 2026-10-26.
- Hold a valid professional educator certificate and the required P–12 experience
- Pass the program’s portfolio, interview, and background check
- Earn a master’s in instructional leadership through an approved Class A program
- Complete the internship, 10-day residency, and Survey of Special Education
Key takeaways
- Alabama’s Class A Professional Leadership Certificate in Instructional Leadership (P–12) requires a valid professional educator certificate, three years of full-time P–12 experience including one year of classroom teaching, a master’s in instructional leadership from a State Board-approved program (30 or more graduate hours, 3.0 GPA), an internship with a 10-day residency, and Praxis 5412 at 146.
- Hold a valid professional educator certificate and the required P–12 experience
- Pass the program’s portfolio, interview, and background check
- Earn a master’s in instructional leadership through an approved Class A program
Alabama principal requirements, step by step
Class A Professional Leadership Certificate in Instructional Leadership (P–12). Each requirement is stated as Alabama State Department of Education — Educator Certification Section publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Hold a valid professional educator certificate and the required P–12 experience
Unconditional admission to a Class A Instructional Leadership program requires a valid bachelor’s- or master’s-level professional educator certificate and at least three full years of full-time P–12 educational experience, including one full year of full-time classroom teaching. Certified library media specialists and school counselors may instead document four full years in that role plus a superintendent’s recommendation.
Source: alabamaachieves.org
Pass the program’s portfolio, interview, and background check
Submit an admission portfolio with three recommendation letters (including your principal or supervisor), your most recent performance appraisal, and evidence of improving student learning and leadership potential. Pass an interview by a committee of P–12 leaders and faculty, and clear a criminal history background check.
Source: alabamaachieves.org
Earn a master’s in instructional leadership through an approved Class A program
Complete at least 30 semester hours of graduate instructional leadership credit not used for a prior certificate or degree, finishing an Alabama State Board-approved program with a minimum 3.0 GPA and an earned master’s degree in instructional leadership.
Source: alabamaachieves.org
Complete the internship, 10-day residency, and Survey of Special Education
Field or clinical experiences are required in every instructional leadership course, plus an uninterrupted residency equal to 10 full days in a school while students are present. A Survey of Special Education course is required if you have not already completed one.
Source: alabamaachieves.org
Pass Praxis 5412 at 146
Meet the Alabama Educator Certification Assessment Program requirement. ALSDE’s Educator Assessment Policies Manual A lists Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision (5412) with a required score of 146 for Instructional Leadership (P–12).
Source: alabamaachieves.org
In Alabama the gate is admission, not graduation. Rule 290-3-3-.34 requires unconditional admission to a Class A Instructional Leadership program before any instructional leadership course is taken, and admission is selective by rule. Candidates need a valid professional educator certificate; three full years (or six full semesters) of full-time P–12 educational experience including at least one full year of classroom teaching; a portfolio with three recommendation letters, the most recent performance appraisal, and evidence of improving student learning and leadership potential; an interview before a committee of P–12 leaders and faculty; and a criminal history background check. Admission to graduate school is explicitly not the same thing.
School counselors and library media specialists have a defined route in. A certified counselor or library media specialist with four full years (eight full semesters) of full-time work in that role, plus a written recommendation from the current employing superintendent, meets the experience requirement without a year of classroom teaching. The program itself is at least 30 semester hours of graduate instructional leadership credit not already used for another certificate or degree, completed with a 3.0 GPA. It requires field or clinical experience in every leadership course and an uninterrupted residency equal to 10 full school days while students are present. A Survey of Special Education course is required if not previously completed. Educators who already hold a Class A Professional Educator Certificate may qualify for a reduced-hour option of at least 18 semester hours.
Testing runs through the Alabama Educator Certification Assessment Program. ALSDE’s Educator Assessment Policies Manual A (effective September 15, 2025) lists Praxis Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision (5412) at a required score of 146 for Instructional Leadership (P–12). An Interim Employment Certificate lets a superintendent employ a candidate who is still completing a State-approved Class A program at an Alabama institution. Continuation is cycle-specific: ALSDE’s 2026 guidance took 2 Professional Learning Units or a passing Educational Leadership Praxis score, but warns it does not carry past 2026. Alabama’s row in the cross-state principal comparison and the M.Ed., EdS, and EdD guide put the Class A master’s in context.
Alabama principal requirements at a glance
| Credential | Class A Professional Leadership Certificate in Instructional Leadership (P–12) |
|---|---|
| Teaching / experience | Three full years of full-time P–12 educational experience, including one full year of classroom teaching |
| Exam | Praxis Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision (5412), score 146 |
| Master's | Master's degree in instructional leadership from a State Board-approved Class A program |
| Internship | Field or clinical experience in every leadership course plus a residency equal to 10 full school days |
| Counselor / pupil services | Yes. Certified school counselors and library media specialists may document four full years in that role with a superintendent's recommendation. |
Required exams and fees
Alabama uses the Alabama Educator Certification Assessment Program (AECAP): Praxis Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision (5412). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (rule revised May 15, 2025; as of October 2026).
- Praxis Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision (5412)
- Passing score
- 146
- Fee
- Not reported.
Alabama principal / administrator exams — Alabama Administrative Code 290-3-3-.34, Instructional Leadership (Grades P-12) (revised 5/15/25). Reporting period: rule revised May 15, 2025; as of October 2026. Retrieved 2026-10-26.
Institutions with educational leadership programs
The table lists educational leadership CIP codes and award levels from IPEDS. This extract reported no completion counts, so none are shown. An award conferred does not mean the program is approved to recommend candidates for Class A Professional Leadership Certificate in Instructional Leadership (P–12). Verify approval with Alabama State Department of Education — Educator Certification Section.
| Institution | CIP | Award level |
|---|---|---|
| Alabama A & M University (Normal, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Alabama State University (Montgomery, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Alabama State University (Montgomery, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Alabama State University (Montgomery, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Auburn University (Auburn, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (other) |
| Auburn University (Auburn, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Auburn University (Auburn, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Auburn University at Montgomery (Montgomery, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Auburn University at Montgomery (Montgomery, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Jacksonville State University (Jacksonville, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Jacksonville State University (Jacksonville, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Jacksonville State University (Jacksonville, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Samford University (Birmingham, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Samford University (Birmingham, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Samford University (Birmingham, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Samford University (Birmingham, AL) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Master’s |
| Samford University (Birmingham, AL) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Strayer University-Alabama (Birmingham, AL) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Master’s |
| The University of Alabama (Tuscaloosa, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| The University of Alabama (Tuscaloosa, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| The University of Alabama (Tuscaloosa, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| The University of Alabama (Tuscaloosa, AL) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Doctorate (research) |
| Troy University (Troy, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Troy University (Troy, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| University of Alabama at Birmingham (Birmingham, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of Alabama at Birmingham (Birmingham, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Alabama at Birmingham (Birmingham, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| University of Montevallo (Montevallo, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Montevallo (Montevallo, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| University of North Alabama (Florence, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of North Alabama (Florence, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| University of South Alabama (Mobile, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of South Alabama (Mobile, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of West Alabama (Livingston, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of West Alabama (Livingston, AL) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
Renewal and professional development
For the June 30, 2026 cycle, ALSDE continued Professional Leadership Certificates with either 2 Professional Learning Units (at least 1 earned through Alabama Council for Leadership Development-approved professional studies) or a passing score on the Alabama-prescribed Praxis test for Educational Leadership, plus ASBI and FBI background clearance. ALSDE states this guidance does not apply to renewals after 2026 unless it says so.
Moving an administrator credential to Alabama
An educator admitted to an Alabama Class A program on the strength of another state’s professional certificate must hold at least a valid Class B Alabama Professional Educator Certificate before applying for Class A certification. Confirm out-of-state leadership certificates with the ALSDE Educator Certification Section.
Salary and job outlook in Alabama
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Alabama; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $97,480
- Employed
- 3,020
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $100,030
- Employed
- 3,760
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $61,380
- Employed
- 22,030
- Projected growth
- +4.1%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $61,770
- Employed
- 10,000
- Projected growth
- +4.1%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $61,990
- Employed
- 15,880
- Projected growth
- +4.4%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Alabama, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Frequently asked questions
What certificate do Alabama principals need?
The Class A Professional Leadership Certificate in Instructional Leadership (P–12). Rule 290-3-3-.34 describes the Class A as Alabama’s initial certification program in leadership.
Sources: Alabama Administrative Code 290-3-3-.34, Instructional Leadership (Grades P-12) (revised 5/15/25). As of 2026-10-26.
How much teaching experience does Alabama require for instructional leadership?
At least three full years (or six full semesters) of full-time P–12 educational experience, including at least one full year of full-time classroom teaching. Certified school counselors and library media specialists may instead document four full years in that role with a superintendent’s recommendation.
Sources: Alabama Administrative Code 290-3-3-.34, Instructional Leadership (Grades P-12) (revised 5/15/25). As of 2026-10-26.
What Praxis score does Alabama require for instructional leadership?
Praxis Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision (5412) with a required score of 146, per ALSDE’s Educator Assessment Policies Manual A effective September 15, 2025.
Sources: ALSDE Educator Assessment Policies Manual A (effective September 15, 2025). As of 2026-10-26.
Is there a shorter Alabama leadership program for educators with a Class A certificate?
Yes. A holder of a Class A Professional Educator Certificate who meets program admission requirements may complete a reduced-hour option of at least 18 semester hours of instructional leadership coursework, each course including field or clinical experience.
Sources: Alabama Administrative Code 290-3-3-.34, Instructional Leadership (Grades P-12) (revised 5/15/25). As of 2026-10-26.
How did Alabama continue Professional Leadership Certificates in 2026?
For certificates expiring June 30, 2026, applicants needed 2 Professional Learning Units (at least 1 through ACLD-approved professional studies) or a passing Educational Leadership Praxis score, ASBI and FBI background clearance, and a $38 nonrefundable fee. ALSDE says the guidance does not apply after 2026 unless specified.
Sources: ALSDE — Continuation Requirements for Professional Leadership Certificates that Expire June 30, 2026. As of 2026-10-26.
References
- Alabama Administrative Code 290-3-3-.34, Instructional Leadership (Grades P-12) (revised 5/15/25). Retrieved 2026-10-26.
- Pass Praxis 5412 at 146. Retrieved 2026-10-26.
- Alabama State Department of Education — Educator Certification Section. Retrieved 2026-10-26.
- Alabama credential portal. Retrieved 2026-10-26.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.