Alternative Teacher Certification in Texas
The short answer
Texas alternative certification requires a bachelor's degree, enrollment in an SBEC-approved ACP, passage of TExES exams, and employment on an intern or probationary certificate while completing the program. Temporary certificates may be issued for up to three school years before converting to a standard certificate through ECOS.
- Earn a bachelor's degree
- Enroll in an SBEC-approved alternative certification program
- Pass required TExES examinations
- Obtain an intern or probationary certificate and teach
Key takeaways
- Texas alternative certification requires a bachelor's degree, enrollment in an SBEC-approved ACP, passage of TExES exams, and employment on an intern or probationary certificate while completing the program. Temporary certificates may be issued for up to three school years before converting to a standard certificate through ECOS.
- Earn a bachelor's degree
- Enroll in an SBEC-approved alternative certification program
- Pass required TExES examinations
Texas alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Texas Education Agency / State Board for Educator Certification publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Earn a bachelor's degree
Hold a bachelor's degree from an accredited institution to qualify for enrollment in a Texas alternative certification program (ACP). Understanding intern, probationary, and standard certificates is critical: alternative route candidates typically begin on temporary credentials while completing an approved program.
Source: tea.texas.gov
Enroll in an SBEC-approved alternative certification program
Apply to and gain admission in an approved ACP that supports candidates teaching while completing certification requirements. SBEC-approved ACPs operate statewide alongside university-based EPPs and lead to the same standard certificate once TExES, clinical experience, and program requirements are satisfied.
Source: tea.texas.gov
Pass required TExES examinations
Complete the TExES exams required for your target certificate area before or during your internship, per program and SBEC rules. Texas uses TExES, not Praxis. Match exam codes to the certificate class the ACP will recommend.
Source: tea.texas.gov
Obtain an intern or probationary certificate and teach
Secure employment and receive an intern or probationary certificate, serving as a classroom teacher while completing your ACP coursework and field supervision. Temporary certificates may be issued for a maximum of three school years. Fingerprint-based background checks remain part of the ECOS workflow districts monitor during hiring.
Source: tea.texas.gov
Complete the ACP and apply for a standard certificate
Finish all program requirements within the allowed timeframe, then apply for your standard certificate through ECOS. Standard classroom teachers later renew every five years with 150 CPE clock hours. Out-of-state certified educators still use a Review of Credentials rather than automatic reciprocity.
Source: tea.texas.gov
Texas alternative certification programs (ACPs) allow candidates to enter the classroom on intern or probationary certificates while completing coursework, mentoring, and testing requirements. SBEC approves numerous ACP providers across the state, from universities to regional service centers and private entities, creating a competitive marketplace of program options. Regardless of provider, candidates must pass the same TExES examinations and meet employment requirements as traditional EPP graduates.
The three-school-year cap on temporary certificates while completing an ACP is a hard planning constraint. Candidates who do not finish program requirements within that window may lose eligibility to continue on a provisional credential and must coordinate with their program and district to avoid employment disruption. Because Texas lacks standard reciprocity, alternative route candidates coming from other states still typically enter through credential review or by enrolling in a Texas ACP rather than transferring a provisional license directly.
ACP candidates apply through ECOS and must complete fingerprint clearance before employment as certified teachers. Upon successful program completion, they receive the same standard certificate as traditional-route peers, subject to the five-year renewal cycle and 150 CPE hours requirement. Districts frequently hire ACP interns for hard-to-staff subjects, making this pathway a major pipeline into Texas classrooms despite its rigorous testing and time limits.
Required exams and fees
Texas uses TExES. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- Texas Examinations of Educator Standards (TExES)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Texas certification exams, Texas Education Agency. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
Temporary intern/probationary certificates are not renewed indefinitely; complete the ACP and convert to a standard five-year certificate.
Moving a license to Texas
Alternative certification is for candidates completing Texas-approved ACPs; out-of-state educators follow the separate Review of Credentials process without standard reciprocity.
Official Texas reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Texas
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Texas; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $93,910
- Employed
- 37,140
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $104,390
- Employed
- 16,660
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $62,760
- Employed
- 116,260
- Projected growth
- +11.4%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $63,390
- Employed
- 80,160
- Projected growth
- +11.5%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $63,590
- Employed
- 111,660
- Projected growth
- +11.7%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Texas, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Texas
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Texas subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Texas preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
How long can I hold a temporary certificate while in a Texas ACP?
Intern or probationary certificates issued while completing an alternative certification program may be valid for a maximum of three school years.
Do alternative route teachers take the same TExES exams?
Yes. ACP candidates must pass the same TExES examinations required for their certification area as traditional educator preparation program graduates.
Can I complete a Texas ACP without a job offer?
ACP candidates typically need employment to receive an intern or probationary certificate and serve as a classroom teacher while completing program requirements.
References
- Texas Education Agency. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Texas Education Agency / State Board for Educator Certification. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Texas certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.