How to Become a Teacher in Texas

Requirements verified Aug 11, 2026 against the Texas Education Agency / State Board for Educator CertificationTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

To become a teacher in Texas, earn a bachelor's degree, complete an SBEC-approved educator preparation program, pass the required TExES exams for your certification area, and apply through ECOS with fingerprint clearance. Standard certificates renew every five years with 150 CPE hours. Texas does not offer standard reciprocity; out-of-state educators undergo credential review.

  1. Earn a bachelor's degree
    Complete a bachelor's degree from an accredited institution as the acad…
  2. Complete an approved educator preparation program
    Enroll in and finish a State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC)-ap…
  3. Pass required TExES examinations
    Take and pass the Texas Examinations of Educator Standards (TExES) for…
  4. Apply for certification and complete fingerprinting
    Submit your application through the Educator Certification Online Syste…

Key takeaways

  • To become a teacher in Texas, earn a bachelor's degree, complete an SBEC-approved educator preparation program, pass the required TExES exams for your certification area, and apply through ECOS with fingerprint clearance. Standard certificates renew every five years with 150 CPE hours. Texas does not offer standard reciprocity; out-of-state educators undergo credential review.
  • Earn a bachelor's degree
  • Complete an approved educator preparation program
  • Pass required TExES examinations

Texas certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as Texas Education Agency / State Board for Educator Certification publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Earn a bachelor's degree

    Complete a bachelor's degree from an accredited institution as the academic foundation for Texas educator certification. The degree is necessary but not sufficient: SBEC still requires an approved EPP, TExES exams, fingerprinting, and an ECOS application.

    Source: tea.texas.gov

  2. Complete an approved educator preparation program

    Enroll in and finish a State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC)-approved educator preparation program (EPP), including clinical teaching requirements. Match the EPP recommendation to the correct TExES battery before registering, because SBEC rules tie specific exams to each certificate class. University-based EPPs and alternative certification programs both lead to the same standard certificate once all requirements are met.

    Source: tea.texas.gov

  3. Pass required TExES examinations

    Take and pass the Texas Examinations of Educator Standards (TExES) for your certification area, including content and pedagogy tests as applicable. Texas uses TExES, not Praxis, with dozens of exam codes aligned to grade levels, subjects, and specializations.

    Source: tea.texas.gov

  4. Apply for certification and complete fingerprinting

    Submit your application through the Educator Certification Online System (ECOS) and complete required fingerprint-based background check processing. Standard classroom teacher certificates renew every five years with 150 clock hours of continuing professional education (CPE). Texas does not offer standard reciprocity; out-of-state educators apply through a Review of Credentials.

    Source: tea.texas.gov

Texas educator certification is governed by the State Board for Educator Certification under the Texas Education Agency, with the Educator Certification Online System (ECOS) serving as the application portal. The Texas Examinations of Educator Standards (TExES) replace Praxis as the state's primary content and pedagogy testing framework, with dozens of exam codes aligned to grade levels, subjects, and specializations. Candidates must match their EPP recommendation to the correct TExES battery before registering, because SBEC rules tie specific exams to each certificate class.

Texas takes a distinctive approach to out-of-state educators: it does not grant automatic reciprocity based on holding a valid license elsewhere. Instead, applicants submit credentials for a formal Review of Credentials, and TEA staff determine whether additional coursework, exams, or deficiencies must be cleared. This case-by-case model differs sharply from states that waive testing for comparable certificates, so experienced teachers relocating to Texas should begin the review process early and budget time for possible gap-closing requirements.

Renewal expectations for standard classroom teachers center on continuing professional education rather than graduate credits alone. Teachers must accumulate 150 CPE clock hours within each five-year renewal cycle, documented through approved providers and activities. Districts often coordinate CPE offerings, but individual educators remain responsible for maintaining records ECOS may audit. Understanding the distinction between intern, probationary, and standard certificates is also critical for alternative route candidates who may begin on temporary credentials while completing an approved program.

Fingerprint-based background checks are integrated into the certification pipeline, and applications through ECOS trigger workflow steps that districts monitor during hiring. Because Texas is one of the largest educator labor markets in the country, SBEC-approved alternative certification programs (ACPs) operate statewide alongside university-based EPPs, giving candidates multiple pathways to the same standard certificate once all requirements—including TExES passage and clinical experience—are satisfied.

Required exams and fees

Texas uses TExES. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).

Texas certification exams, Texas Education Agency. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Full Texas exam requirements →

Renewal and professional development

Standard classroom teacher certificates renew every five years; teachers must complete 150 clock hours of continuing professional education (CPE).

Certificate term
5 years
Standard certificates renew every five years with continuing professional education (CPE) requirements.
PD required
150 hours
Clock hours / points cited by the state source

Moving a license to Texas

Texas does not offer standard reciprocity. Out-of-state certified educators must apply through a Review of Credentials, and TEA determines eligibility based on individual credential analysis.

Official Texas reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in Texas

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Texas; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $93,910
    Employed
    37,140
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $104,390
    Employed
    16,660
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $62,760
    Employed
    116,260
    Projected growth
    +11.4%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $63,390
    Employed
    80,160
    Projected growth
    +11.5%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $63,590
    Employed
    111,660
    Projected growth
    +11.7%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Texas, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in Texas

The U.S. Department of Education designates these Texas subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

Computer ScienceEnglish as a Second LanguageSpecial Education

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, Texas, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every Texas preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View Texas outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

Does Texas accept out-of-state teaching certificates automatically?

No. Texas does not offer standard reciprocity. Out-of-state certified educators must apply through a Review of Credentials, and TEA determines eligibility individually.

How many CPE hours are required to renew a Texas teaching certificate?

Standard classroom teacher certificates renew every five years with 150 clock hours of continuing professional education (CPE).

What exams does Texas require for teacher certification?

Texas uses the Texas Examinations of Educator Standards (TExES), not Praxis, for educator certification testing.

Where do I apply for Texas educator certification?

Applications are submitted through the Educator Certification Online System (ECOS) on the Texas Education Agency website.

References

  1. Texas Education Agency. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  2. Texas Education Agency / State Board for Educator Certification. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  3. Texas certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.