Alternative Teacher Certification in New York

Requirements verified Aug 11, 2026 against the NYSED Office of Teaching InitiativesTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

New York's Transitional B alternative route requires a bachelor's degree with 3.0 GPA, enrollment in an approved ATC program, NYSTCE EAS and CST exams, and a TEACH application. Candidates teach for up to three years while completing the program, then advance to an Initial certificate.

  1. Earn a bachelor's degree with minimum 3.0 GPA
    Hold a bachelor's degree with a cumulative grade point average of at le…
  2. Enroll in an approved alternative teacher certification (ATC) program
    Gain admission to an NYSED-approved alternative teacher certification p…
  3. Pass required NYSTCE examinations
    Complete the EAS and CST exams (and any other required assessments) for…
  4. Apply for a Transitional B certificate through TEACH
    Submit a TEACH application for the Transitional B certificate, which au…

Key takeaways

  • New York's Transitional B alternative route requires a bachelor's degree with 3.0 GPA, enrollment in an approved ATC program, NYSTCE EAS and CST exams, and a TEACH application. Candidates teach for up to three years while completing the program, then advance to an Initial certificate.
  • Earn a bachelor's degree with minimum 3.0 GPA
  • Enroll in an approved alternative teacher certification (ATC) program
  • Pass required NYSTCE examinations

New York alternative certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as NYSED Office of Teaching Initiatives publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Earn a bachelor's degree with minimum 3.0 GPA

    Hold a bachelor's degree with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0 to qualify for the Transitional B alternative certificate pathway.

    Source: highered.nysed.gov

  2. Enroll in an approved alternative teacher certification (ATC) program

    Gain admission to an NYSED-approved alternative teacher certification program that supports candidates teaching while completing requirements.

    Source: highered.nysed.gov

  3. Pass required NYSTCE examinations

    Complete the EAS and CST exams (and any other required assessments) for your target certificate title.

    Source: highered.nysed.gov

  4. Apply for a Transitional B certificate through TEACH

    Submit a TEACH application for the Transitional B certificate, which authorizes teaching while enrolled in your approved ATC program for up to three years.

    Source: highered.nysed.gov

  5. Complete the program and advance to Initial certificate

    Finish all ATC coursework, mentoring, and assessments, then receive institutional recommendation and apply for an Initial certificate.

    Source: highered.nysed.gov

New York's Transitional B certificate is the primary alternative route credential for candidates enrolled in approved alternative teacher certification (ATC) programs who need to serve as classroom teachers before completing all pedagogical requirements. The three-year maximum validity creates a defined window for program completion, and the 3.0 GPA floor at entry signals NYSED's academic selectivity even for non-traditional candidates. Transitional B holders are employees of school districts or charter schools while simultaneously carrying program coursework and supervision obligations.

Alternative route candidates take the same NYSTCE battery—including EAS and CST—as traditional program graduates. There is no waiver of content testing for Transitional B applicants, which aligns New York's alternative pathway with its broader emphasis on subject matter verification. Upon successful program completion and institutional recommendation, candidates transition to the Initial certificate and enter the same five-year pathway toward Professional status and CTLE compliance as their university-prepared peers.

TEACH serves as the application portal for Transitional B issuance and subsequent conversion to Initial certification. Application fees in the $50 to $100 range apply across certificate types. Because New York's reciprocity framework generally places out-of-state teachers at the Initial level rather than granting Transitional B status, career changers from other states typically either undergo reciprocity review or enroll fresh in a New York ATC program rather than importing a provisional license from elsewhere.

Required exams and fees

New York uses NYSTCE. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).

New York certification exams, NYSED Office of Teaching Initiatives. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Full New York exam requirements →

Renewal and professional development

Transitional B is time-limited; complete the ATC program and convert to an Initial certificate before expiration.

Certificate term
3 years
Transitional B certificate valid for up to three years while completing an approved alternative teacher certification program.
Application fee
$50–$100
As published by the state agency

Moving a license to New York

The Transitional B pathway is for candidates enrolled in New York-approved ATC programs; out-of-state educators typically apply through separate reciprocity routes to Initial certification.

Official New York reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in New York

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for New York; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $138,830
    Employed
    19,210
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $139,640
    Employed
    7,280
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $85,760
    Employed
    101,410
    Projected growth
    +0.5%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $94,840
    Employed
    38,670
    Projected growth
    +0.4%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $97,070
    Employed
    70,660
    Projected growth
    +0.7%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, New York, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in New York

The U.S. Department of Education designates these New York subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

Health and Physical FitnessSupport Staff

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, New York, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every New York preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View New York outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

What GPA is required for New York's Transitional B certificate?

Candidates must hold a bachelor's degree with a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0 to qualify for the Transitional B alternative certificate pathway.

How long is the Transitional B certificate valid?

The Transitional B certificate is valid for up to three years while the candidate completes an approved alternative teacher certification program.

Do Transitional B candidates take NYSTCE exams?

Yes. Transitional B candidates must pass the EAS and CST exams required for their certificate title, the same as traditional route candidates.

References

  1. NYSED Office of Teaching Initiatives. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  2. NYSED Office of Teaching Initiatives. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  3. New York certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.