Alternative Teacher Certification in Florida

Requirements verified Aug 11, 2026 against the Florida Department of Education Bureau of Educator CertificationTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

Florida's alternative route uses a Temporary certificate while completing preparation requirements. Candidates pass FTCE exams, apply at $75 per subject, receive a three-year Statement of Eligibility, and teach on a Temporary certificate for up to five nonrenewable school years before earning a Professional certificate.

  1. Meet eligibility for a Temporary certificate pathway
    Qualify for Florida certification employment while completing requireme…
  2. Pass required FTCE examinations
    Complete the FTCE General Knowledge, Professional Education, and subjec…
  3. Apply and receive a Statement of Eligibility
    Submit your certification application ($75 per subject) and receive an…
  4. Secure employment on a Temporary certificate
    Obtain a teaching position and receive a Temporary certificate while co…

Key takeaways

  • Florida's alternative route uses a Temporary certificate while completing preparation requirements. Candidates pass FTCE exams, apply at $75 per subject, receive a three-year Statement of Eligibility, and teach on a Temporary certificate for up to five nonrenewable school years before earning a Professional certificate.
  • Meet eligibility for a Temporary certificate pathway
  • Pass required FTCE examinations
  • Apply and receive a Statement of Eligibility

Florida alternative certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as Florida Department of Education Bureau of Educator Certification publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Meet eligibility for a Temporary certificate pathway

    Qualify for Florida certification employment while completing requirements, typically by holding a bachelor's degree and passing required FTCE exams for your subject area. The Temporary certificate serves candidates who are employed and still completing requirements; it is not the fully qualified Professional credential.

    Source: fldoe.org

  2. Pass required FTCE examinations

    Complete the FTCE General Knowledge, Professional Education, and subject area examinations applicable to your intended teaching field. Florida uses FTCE rather than Praxis, so map your field to the Bureau’s subject-area chart before you register.

    Source: fldoe.org

  3. Apply and receive a Statement of Eligibility

    Submit your certification application ($75 per subject) and receive an Official SOE valid for three years. The SOE documents authorization to seek employment while outstanding items are finished.

    Source: fldoe.org

  4. Secure employment on a Temporary certificate

    Obtain a teaching position and receive a Temporary certificate while completing your educator preparation requirements. Temporary certificates are nonrenewable beyond five school years — a policy that pushes districts and educators toward timely conversion.

    Source: fldoe.org

  5. Complete requirements and convert to Professional certificate

    Finish all preparation and employment requirements, then apply for a Professional Florida certificate. Professional renewal later requires six semester hours of credit, including coursework in teaching students with disabilities (SWD).

    Source: fldoe.org

Florida's Temporary certificate pathway is the state's primary mechanism for hiring educators who have met partial requirements—often content testing and degree credentials—but still need to complete a preparation program while employed. The five-school-year nonrenewable cap on Temporary certificates creates urgency for both the educator and the employing district to finish coursework and professional education requirements before the credential expires.

Career changers frequently enter through this route after passing FTCE exams and receiving a three-year Statement of Eligibility. The $75-per-subject application fee applies across pathways, and candidates must track which FTCE subtests remain outstanding as they move from Temporary to Professional status. Because Florida distinguishes Temporary from Professional certificates in renewal rules, educators should not assume Temporary status carries the same six-semester-hour SWD-inclusive renewal expectations as the Professional credential.

District human resources offices coordinate closely with the Bureau of Educator Certification to ensure Temporary hires remain compliant with FTCE and program completion timelines. Out-of-state teachers with valid standard certificates may bypass much of the Temporary pathway through reciprocity, but career changers without prior certification typically rely on Temporary employment authorization as their bridge into the profession.

Required exams and fees

Florida uses FTCE. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).

Florida certification exams, Florida Department of Education. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Full Florida exam requirements →

Renewal and professional development

Temporary certificates are not indefinitely renewable; complete all requirements and convert to a Professional certificate.

Certificate term
5 years
Temporary certificate may be issued for up to five school years and is nonrenewable beyond that limit.
Application fee
$75
As published by the state agency

Moving a license to Florida

Alternative Temporary pathways are for candidates completing requirements while employed; out-of-state educators with valid standard certificates may qualify through reciprocity.

Official Florida reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in Florida

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Florida; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $96,490
    Employed
    16,960
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $83,840
    Employed
    Not reported.
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $58,930
    Employed
    79,090
    Projected growth
    +7.7%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $58,940
    Employed
    31,370
    Projected growth
    +7.6%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $60,410
    Employed
    49,810
    Projected growth
    +8%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Florida, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in Florida

The U.S. Department of Education designates these Florida subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

MathematicsScienceSpecial Education

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, Florida, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every Florida preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View Florida outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

How long can I hold a Florida Temporary teaching certificate?

A Temporary certificate may be issued for up to five school years and is nonrenewable beyond that limit.

What exams do alternative route candidates take in Florida?

Candidates must pass the Florida Teacher Certification Examinations (FTCE), including applicable General Knowledge, Professional Education, and subject area tests.

What happens after the Temporary certificate expires?

Candidates must complete all requirements and obtain a Professional certificate before the Temporary certificate's five-school-year limit.

References

  1. Florida Department of Education. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  2. Apply and receive a Statement of Eligibility. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  3. Florida Department of Education Bureau of Educator Certification. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.