Alternative Teacher Certification in South Carolina

Requirements verified Sep 7, 2026 against the South Carolina Department of Education — Office of Educator ServicesTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

South Carolina’s main classroom alternative route is PACE. Candidates need an approved-field bachelor’s degree (or major equivalency), a passing Praxis subject score reported to SCDE code 8108, fingerprinting, and a $105 fee to receive a Statement of Eligibility. After a district Confirmation of Employment, they complete a 10-day PACE I Institute ($250) and teach on a one-year Alternative Route certificate while finishing PACE II ($250), seminars, and three approved courses. After three certified years they request a five-year Professional certificate.

  1. Confirm a bachelor’s degree in an approved PACE field
    The Program of Alternative Certification for Educators (PACE) is South…
  2. Apply, pass Praxis, fingerprint, and obtain a Statement of Eligibility
    Submit an Alternative Route Application for PACE through My SC Educator…
  3. Secure public-school employment and complete the 10-day PACE I Institute
    The hiring district submits a Confirmation of Employment. First-time 20…
  4. Teach on a one-year Alternative Route certificate while completing PACE
    Alternative Route certificates are valid for one school year, expire Ju…

Key takeaways

  • South Carolina’s main classroom alternative route is PACE. Candidates need an approved-field bachelor’s degree (or major equivalency), a passing Praxis subject score reported to SCDE code 8108, fingerprinting, and a $105 fee to receive a Statement of Eligibility. After a district Confirmation of Employment, they complete a 10-day PACE I Institute ($250) and teach on a one-year Alternative Route certificate while finishing PACE II ($250), seminars, and three approved courses. After three certified years they request a five-year Professional certificate.
  • Confirm a bachelor’s degree in an approved PACE field
  • Apply, pass Praxis, fingerprint, and obtain a Statement of Eligibility
  • Secure public-school employment and complete the 10-day PACE I Institute

South Carolina alternative certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as South Carolina Department of Education — Office of Educator Services publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Confirm a bachelor’s degree in an approved PACE field

    The Program of Alternative Certification for Educators (PACE) is South Carolina’s primary classroom alternative route. Applicants need a bachelor’s degree or higher from a regionally accredited college with a major in an approved PACE field, or a major equivalency (30 or more semester hours in the content area with a grade of C or better, including 21 at the junior/senior level or above, or 24 or more graduate semester hours). Individuals who started but did not finish another South Carolina alternative program are not eligible.

    Source: ed.sc.gov

  2. Apply, pass Praxis, fingerprint, and obtain a Statement of Eligibility

    Submit an Alternative Route Application for PACE through My SC Educator Portal without paying at first. After a transcript evaluation approves PACE eligibility, pass the ETS Praxis subject-area assessment and have scores reported to SCDE (code 8108). Complete fingerprinting, then pay the non-refundable $105 processing fee. SCDE issues a Statement of Eligibility that districts request in interviews.

    Source: ed.sc.gov

  3. Secure public-school employment and complete the 10-day PACE I Institute

    The hiring district submits a Confirmation of Employment. First-time 2026–27 participants join PACE Cohort 2026. Candidates must attend and pass the ten-day PACE I Institute (summer or winter, conducted online for 2026–27) before SCDE issues the first one-year Alternative Route certificate. PACE I and PACE II each require a non-refundable $250 registration fee.

    Source: ed.sc.gov

  4. Teach on a one-year Alternative Route certificate while completing PACE

    Alternative Route certificates are valid for one school year, expire June 30, and may be renewed each year with successful program progress and continued employment—typically three years, with a possible fourth-year extension except in special education. Participants cannot switch programs after the first certificate is issued. Complete PACE II, seminars, and three pre-approved college courses with a grade of B or better.

    Source: ed.sc.gov

  5. Request advancement to the Professional certificate

    After all program requirements and three certified years of participation, submit the Alt Route Professional Certification Request through My SC Educator Portal. Professional teaching certificates are valid for five years and renew with 120 credits.

    Source: ed.sc.gov

PACE is employment-gated twice: first for the Statement of Eligibility (you may seek a job) and again for the Confirmation of Employment that actually seats you in a cohort. The 10-day PACE I Institute is not optional orientation—it is the issuance trigger for the first Alternative Route certificate. Candidates hired too late for summer or winter PACE I can be placed on a district-requested PACE Adjunct certificate for the remainder of that school year only. That adjunct does not renew and does not lead to a Professional certificate; continued employment requires attending the next PACE I.

Official PACE costs stack. The SCDE processing fee is $105. Cohort training is a non-refundable $250 for PACE I and $250 for PACE II, covering those institutes plus the spring and fall seminars. Participants also buy assigned textbooks. The $105–$605 fee range on this page reflects the state processing fee alone versus processing plus both published training registration fees; it does not include Praxis, fingerprinting, or college coursework.

The three-year program clock is rigid. Alternative Route certificates expire every June 30. Participants must complete three certified years and cannot switch to another approved alternative program after the first certificate is issued. Special education fields are ineligible for the optional fourth-year extension. Coursework rules are equally specific: three pre-approved college courses at a grade of B or better, with Read to Succeed content-area reading/writing allowed through approved professional development, and only one professional-development graduate course eligible as pass/fail.

PACE is the flagship but not the only alternative on-ramp. SCDE’s alternative-certification guidance covers multiple approved providers, all of which lead to a renewable Professional certificate if completed. The Noncertified Teacher Pilot, authorized through June 30, 2030, is a separate statutory experiment that lets participating schools hire noncertified teachers who must enroll in a traditional or alternative preparation program within three years. Career changers should confirm whether a posting expects a PACE Statement of Eligibility, another approved alternative provider, or the pilot registration—those documents are not interchangeable.

Required exams and fees

South Carolina uses ETS Praxis subject-area and pedagogy assessments (Principles of Learning and Teaching). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).

South Carolina certification exams, SCDE — Program of Alternative Certification for Educators (PACE). Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Renewal and professional development

Renew the Alternative Route certificate annually with documented program progress and continued public-school employment. After three certified years and program completion, request the Professional certificate and then renew with 120 credits every five years.

Certificate term
1 years
Alternative Route certificates are valid for one school year (expire June 30) and may be renewed for three total years, with a possible fourth-year extension depending on the program (not available in special education). PACE Adjunct certificates expire June 30 of the requested year and cannot be renewed.
PD required
120 hours
Clock hours / points cited by the state source
Application fee
$105–$605
As published by the state agency

Moving a license to South Carolina

PACE and other South Carolina alternative programs are in-state employment pathways, not reciprocity vehicles. Out-of-state licensed teachers follow the Office of Educator Services reciprocity application. Alternative-route participants may not switch programs after their first Alternative Route certificate is issued.

Official South Carolina reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in South Carolina

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for South Carolina; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $102,440
    Employed
    5,000
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $95,570
    Employed
    2,990
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $60,820
    Employed
    25,030
    Projected growth
    +2.4%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $60,810
    Employed
    9,750
    Projected growth
    +2.4%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $62,580
    Employed
    16,080
    Projected growth
    +2.8%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, South Carolina, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in South Carolina

The U.S. Department of Education designates these South Carolina subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

Art and Music EducationEnglish as a Second LanguageHealth and Physical FitnessLanguage ArtsSocial StudiesSpecial EducationSupport Staff

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, South Carolina, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every South Carolina preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View South Carolina outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

What is PACE in South Carolina?

The Program of Alternative Certification for Educators lets degreed candidates in approved fields teach while completing SCDE training and three college courses. It requires a three-year commitment to the admitted content area and grade level.

How much does PACE cost besides the $105 application fee?

SCDE publishes a non-refundable $250 registration fee for PACE I and a non-refundable $250 registration fee for PACE II. Participants also purchase required training books and pay Praxis and fingerprinting costs separately.

How long may I teach on an Alternative Route certificate?

Alternative Route certificates last one school year and can be renewed for three total years, with a possible fourth-year extension depending on the program. Special education fields are not eligible for a fourth-year extension.

References

  1. SCDE — Program of Alternative Certification for Educators (PACE). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  2. Apply, pass Praxis, fingerprint, and obtain a Statement of Eligibility. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  3. Teach on a one-year Alternative Route certificate while completing PACE. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  4. South Carolina Department of Education — Office of Educator Services. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  5. South Carolina certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.