How to Become a Principal in South Carolina
What it takes to become a principal in South Carolina
South Carolina’s School Principal: Tier 1 (PK–Grade 12) requires a master’s degree, a valid South Carolina Professional educator certificate, a State Board-approved graduate principal program, at least three years of educator experience, and a qualifying Praxis score: 5412 at 146 or 6990 at 151. Tier 2 follows the Principal Induction Program and a Proficient or Exemplary PADEPP rating.
Sources: South Carolina State Board of Education Regulation 43-64 — Requirements for Certification at the Advanced Level (effective May 23, 2025). As of 2026-10-26.
- Hold a master’s degree and a valid South Carolina Professional educator certificate
- Complete a State Board-approved graduate principal preparation program
- Verify at least three years of educator experience
- Pass Praxis 5412 (146) or Praxis 6990 (151)
Key takeaways
- South Carolina’s School Principal: Tier 1 (PK–Grade 12) requires a master’s degree, a valid South Carolina Professional educator certificate, a State Board-approved graduate principal program, at least three years of educator experience, and a qualifying Praxis score: 5412 at 146 or 6990 at 151. Tier 2 follows the Principal Induction Program and a Proficient or Exemplary PADEPP rating.
- Hold a master’s degree and a valid South Carolina Professional educator certificate
- Complete a State Board-approved graduate principal preparation program
- Verify at least three years of educator experience
South Carolina principal requirements, step by step
School Principal: Tier 1 (PK–Grade 12), advancing to Tier 2. Each requirement is stated as South Carolina Department of Education — Office of Educator Services publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Hold a master’s degree and a valid South Carolina Professional educator certificate
Regulation 43-64 requires a master’s degree from an institution that meets State Board of Education accreditation requirements and a valid South Carolina Professional educator certificate before School Principal: Tier 1 (PK–Grade 12) is added.
Source: ed.sc.gov
Complete a State Board-approved graduate principal preparation program
Finish a graduate-level program approved by the State Board of Education for the preparation of school principals. Regulation 43-64 requires approved providers to align coursework and field experiences to PK–Grade 12 settings no later than September 1, 2026.
Source: ed.sc.gov
Verify at least three years of educator experience
Submit verification of at least three years of educator experience. The regulation uses the phrase “educator experience” for the Tier 1 principal field.
Source: ed.sc.gov
Pass Praxis 5412 (146) or Praxis 6990 (151)
SCDE’s 2026-27 subject area assessment list lets principal candidates take either Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision (5412), qualifying score 146, or the School Leaders Licensure Assessment (6990), qualifying score 151.
Source: ed.sc.gov
Advance to Tier 2 through the Principal Induction Program and PADEPP
To move from Tier 1 to Tier 2, complete the Principal Induction Program in your first year of employment as a principal and earn an overall Proficient or Exemplary rating on the PADEPP evaluation in your second year as principal.
Source: ed.sc.gov
South Carolina rewrote its advanced-certification rule in 2025. Regulation 43-64, effective May 23, 2025, makes School Principal: Tier 1 a single PK–Grade 12 field instead of the older separate elementary and secondary principal fields. Educators who already hold School Principal: Elementary or Secondary may keep those fields, or add PK–12 by completing a graduate internship course in the complementary grade span or by serving one successful year as an assistant principal or principal in that span. A district can request a one-year permit in the complementary span while that year is served. Approved preparation providers must align coursework and field experiences to PK–12 settings no later than September 1, 2026.
The Tier 1 checklist has five parts: a master’s degree from an institution meeting State Board accreditation requirements, a valid South Carolina Professional educator certificate, a State Board-approved graduate principal preparation program, verification of at least three years of educator experience, and a qualifying assessment score. The regulation says “educator experience” rather than “teaching experience” and does not define it on the regulation page, so a candidate whose years are in counseling or another non-classroom role should confirm with SCDE before applying. SCDE’s 2026-27 list gives a choice of two Praxis tests: Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision (5412) at 146, or the School Leaders Licensure Assessment (6990) at 151.
Tier 2 is earned on the job, not in a program: the Principal Induction Program in the first year as principal, then an overall Proficient or Exemplary rating on the Program for Assisting, Developing, and Evaluating Principal Performance (PADEPP) in the second year. The Career Changers Alternative Principal Pathway (CCAPP) is the only route without a teaching certificate. It requires a master’s degree, three years of leadership experience in business, an agency, or the military, and a superintendent’s recommendation for an assistant principal job, followed by three years as an assistant principal on a one-year alternative certificate renewed annually. South Carolina’s row in the cross-state principal comparison shows its two-exam option next to other states.
South Carolina principal requirements at a glance
| Credential | School Principal: Tier 1 (PK–Grade 12), advancing to Tier 2 |
|---|---|
| Teaching / experience | At least three years of educator experience |
| Exam | Praxis 5412 (score 146) or Praxis School Leaders Licensure Assessment 6990 (score 151) |
| Master's | Master's degree from an institution meeting State Board accreditation requirements |
| Internship | Not stated on this checklist |
| Counselor / pupil services | Not stated on this checklist |
Required exams and fees
South Carolina uses Praxis Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision (5412) or the School Leaders Licensure Assessment (6990). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (Regulation 43-64 effective May 23, 2025; assessments for 2026-27).
- Praxis Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision (5412)
- Passing score
- 146
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis School Leaders Licensure Assessment (6990)
- Passing score
- 151
- Fee
- Not reported.
South Carolina principal / administrator exams — South Carolina State Board of Education Regulation 43-64 — Requirements for Certification at the Advanced Level (effective May 23, 2025). Reporting period: Regulation 43-64 effective May 23, 2025; assessments for 2026-27. Retrieved 2026-10-26.
Institutions with educational leadership programs
The table lists educational leadership CIP codes and award levels from IPEDS. This extract reported no completion counts, so none are shown. An award conferred does not mean the program is approved to recommend candidates for School Principal: Tier 1 (PK–Grade 12), advancing to Tier 2. Verify approval with South Carolina Department of Education — Office of Educator Services.
| Institution | CIP | Award level |
|---|---|---|
| Anderson University (Anderson, SC) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Doctorate (research) |
| Anderson University (Anderson, SC) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Anderson University (Anderson, SC) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Master’s |
| Bob Jones University (Greenville, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Bob Jones University (Greenville, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Charleston Southern University (Charleston, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Charleston Southern University (Charleston, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Charleston Southern University (Charleston, SC) | 13.0408 Elementary and Middle School Administration/Principalship | Master’s |
| Charleston Southern University (Charleston, SC) | 13.0409 Secondary School Administration/Principalship | Master’s |
| Citadel Military College of South Carolina (Charleston, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Citadel Military College of South Carolina (Charleston, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Clemson University (Clemson, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Clemson University (Clemson, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Clemson University (Clemson, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Coastal Carolina University (Conway, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Coastal Carolina University (Conway, SC) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Doctorate (research) |
| Columbia College (Columbia, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Columbia International University (Columbia, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Columbia International University (Columbia, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Columbia International University (Columbia, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Converse University (Spartanburg, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Converse University (Spartanburg, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Converse University (Spartanburg, SC) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Master’s |
| Converse University (Spartanburg, SC) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Furman University (Greenville, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Furman University (Greenville, SC) | 13.0408 Elementary and Middle School Administration/Principalship | Master’s |
| Furman University (Greenville, SC) | 13.0408 Elementary and Middle School Administration/Principalship | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Furman University (Greenville, SC) | 13.0409 Secondary School Administration/Principalship | Master’s |
| Furman University (Greenville, SC) | 13.0409 Secondary School Administration/Principalship | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Furman University (Greenville, SC) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Post-master’s / EdS |
| North Greenville University (Tigerville, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| South Carolina State University (Orangeburg, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| South Carolina State University (Orangeburg, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Southern Wesleyan University (Central, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Strayer University-South Carolina (Greenville, SC) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Master’s |
| University of South Carolina-Columbia (Columbia, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of South Carolina-Columbia (Columbia, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of South Carolina-Columbia (Columbia, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Winthrop University (Rock Hill, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Winthrop University (Rock Hill, SC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
Renewal and professional development
Renew the Professional certificate by earning 120 renewal credits during the five-year validity period. The State Board approved updated renewal guidelines on August 4, 2026; check SCDE’s renewal page for the current credit options.
Moving an administrator credential to South Carolina
Regulation 43-64 adds the principal field to a valid South Carolina Professional educator certificate, so an educator certified elsewhere first needs South Carolina Professional certification before the Tier 1 principal field can be added. Confirm out-of-state evaluation with the SCDE Office of Educator Services.
Salary and job outlook in South Carolina
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for South Carolina; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $102,440
- Employed
- 5,000
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $95,570
- Employed
- 2,990
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $60,820
- Employed
- 25,030
- Projected growth
- +2.4%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $60,810
- Employed
- 9,750
- Projected growth
- +2.4%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $62,580
- Employed
- 16,080
- Projected growth
- +2.8%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, South Carolina, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Frequently asked questions
Which Praxis test does South Carolina require for principal certification?
Either Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision (5412) with a qualifying score of 146, or the School Leaders Licensure Assessment (6990) with a qualifying score of 151. SCDE’s 2026-27 list says candidates may take either test.
Sources: South Carolina Department of Education — Required Subject Area Assessments 2026-27. As of 2026-10-26.
Does South Carolina still issue elementary and secondary principal certification?
Regulation 43-64 now defines School Principal: Tier 1 as a PK–Grade 12 field. Holders of the older Elementary or Secondary principal fields may keep them or add PK–12 through a graduate internship in the complementary grade span or one year of experience as an assistant principal or principal in that span.
Sources: South Carolina State Board of Education Regulation 43-64 — Requirements for Certification at the Advanced Level (effective May 23, 2025). As of 2026-10-26.
How do I move from Tier 1 to Tier 2 as a South Carolina principal?
Complete the Principal Induction Program in your first year of employment as a principal, and earn an overall Proficient or Exemplary rating on the PADEPP evaluation instrument in your second year as principal.
Sources: South Carolina State Board of Education Regulation 43-64 — Requirements for Certification at the Advanced Level (effective May 23, 2025). As of 2026-10-26.
Can I become a principal in South Carolina without teaching?
Through CCAPP. You need a master’s degree, at least three years of leadership, supervision, or upper-level management experience in a business, agency, or the military, and a South Carolina superintendent’s recommendation to employ you as an assistant principal. You then serve three years as an assistant principal on an annually renewed alternative certificate.
Sources: South Carolina State Board of Education Regulation 43-64 — Requirements for Certification at the Advanced Level (effective May 23, 2025); South Carolina Department of Education — Alternative Principal Certification. As of 2026-10-26.
How many renewal credits does a South Carolina Professional certificate need?
120 renewal credits during the five-year validity period. SCDE notes that the State Board approved updated renewal guidelines on August 4, 2026.
Sources: South Carolina Department of Education — Renewing a Professional Certificate. As of 2026-10-26.
References
- South Carolina State Board of Education Regulation 43-64 — Requirements for Certification at the Advanced Level (effective May 23, 2025). Retrieved 2026-10-26.
- Pass Praxis 5412 (146) or Praxis 6990 (151). Retrieved 2026-10-26.
- South Carolina Department of Education — Office of Educator Services. Retrieved 2026-10-26.
- South Carolina credential portal. Retrieved 2026-10-26.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.