Alternative Teacher Certification in Oregon
The short answer
Oregon's classroom alternative path is the Restricted Teaching License: a bachelor's degree, substantial subject preparation, and a sponsoring district letter that names a mentor and a plan to reach non-provisional licensure. Apply in eLicensing for $182 plus service and fingerprint fees. The license is reissued—not renewed—while you complete a teacher preparation program and NES/ORELA tests (NES scores auto-forward). The one-year Reciprocal Teaching License is the separate path for teachers who already hold a non-provisional out-of-state license.
- Hold a bachelor's degree with substantial subject-area preparation
- Obtain Oregon district sponsorship
- Apply in eLicensing and complete fingerprint clearance
- Teach on the Restricted license and show program progress to reissue
Key takeaways
- Oregon's classroom alternative path is the Restricted Teaching License: a bachelor's degree, substantial subject preparation, and a sponsoring district letter that names a mentor and a plan to reach non-provisional licensure. Apply in eLicensing for $182 plus service and fingerprint fees. The license is reissued—not renewed—while you complete a teacher preparation program and NES/ORELA tests (NES scores auto-forward). The one-year Reciprocal Teaching License is the separate path for teachers who already hold a non-provisional out-of-state license.
- Hold a bachelor's degree with substantial subject-area preparation
- Obtain Oregon district sponsorship
- Apply in eLicensing and complete fingerprint clearance
Oregon alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Oregon Teacher Standards and Practices Commission (TSPC) publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Hold a bachelor's degree with substantial subject-area preparation
The Restricted Teaching License is for people who have at least a bachelor's degree and substantial preparation in the subject-matter endorsements, but have not completed a teacher preparation program. It is a district-need license, not an open alternate-certification enrollment.
Source: oregon.gov
Obtain Oregon district sponsorship
The sponsoring district must submit a statement describing the extenuating circumstances that prevent hiring a teacher with a non-provisional license, how the applicant resolves those circumstances, assurance the license will be obtained before assignment or by the 91st day after application, a named mentor, and a plan for progress toward non-provisional licensure in the first term.
Source: oregon.gov
Apply in eLicensing and complete fingerprint clearance
Submit a new application and the Restricted Teaching fee through eLicensing (TSPC lists Restricted/provisional teaching applications at $182 on the fee schedule). Complete the $61 fingerprint/background clearance if you have never held an Oregon license. Watch the Messages tab; TSPC corresponds there, not by status-check email.
Source: oregon.gov
Teach on the Restricted license and show program progress to reissue
Restricted Teaching is not renewed in eLicensing; holders submit a new application to reissue it. Reissue requires a new district statement that the extenuating circumstances continue, mentoring is still in place, and the teacher is on track for a Preliminary Teaching License by the end of the final term, plus evidence of progress in a teacher preparation program.
Source: oregon.gov
Move to the Preliminary Teaching License
When program, testing, and any other Preliminary requirements are finished, apply for the Preliminary Teaching License in eLicensing. Restricted, Reciprocal, Emergency, Limited, and International Visiting licenses may hold endorsements but cannot add them. NES scores earned during the Restricted term auto-forward; Praxis scores must be sent to TSPC.
Source: oregon.gov
Restricted and Reciprocal are the two Oregon documents people swap by mistake. Reciprocal is for someone who already finished a preparation program and holds an active non-provisional out-of-state license; it lasts one year and is not renewable. Restricted is for someone who has not finished a preparation program and needs a district to prove it cannot hire a fully licensed teacher. Paying $247 for Reciprocal when you needed Restricted—or $182 for Restricted when you already hold a full out-of-state license—wastes a non-refundable eLicensing payment and a background-check cycle.
Sponsorship is substantive, not a courtesy letter. TSPC's district-handout requires extenuating circumstances, an explanation of how the applicant fixes them, a 91-day assignment assurance, a named mentor, and a progress plan toward Preliminary in the first term. Reissue letters must say the emergency still exists and that the teacher is on track by the final term. A principal email that only says 'we want to hire this person' is not a complete sponsorship statement. Additional districts must sponsor separately if the Restricted teacher will work in more than one system.
Reissue versus renewal is an eLicensing trap. TSPC's own restricted-license FAQ says Restricted Teaching Licenses are not eligible for renewal and that applicants must choose Submit New Application to reissue. Using the renewal workflow, or missing program-progress evidence, is how Restricted teachers lose the ability to continue. The April 2026 renewal chart flags Restricted Teaching with a note that progress in a teacher prep program is required to reissue and that Restricted holders do not complete PDUs. Plan the program enrollment in year one; a Restricted license without a program is not a multi-year career.
Testing and endorsement rules stay tight on Restricted. Holders may have endorsements they were sponsored for, but TSPC lists Restricted among the licenses that cannot add endorsements. NES work done while Restricted still auto-forwards and will be waiting when the Preliminary application is filed; Praxis will not. Candidates who delay NES until after the Restricted term ends add an evaluation delay they could have avoided. Multiple-measures options, if used, belong to the approved program that later recommends Preliminary, not to the Restricted sponsorship letter.
Required exams and fees
Oregon uses Oregon Educator Licensure Assessments (ORELA) / National Evaluation Series (NES) via TSPC; some endorsements use Praxis, which must be sent to TSPC (NES scores auto-forward). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- ORELA / NES subject assessments required to qualify for Preliminary after Restricted
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Oregon certification exams, TSPC — First License Teaching (June 2025). Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Do not use the eLicensing renewal button. Submit a new application to reissue Restricted Teaching, with an updated district sponsorship letter and evidence of progress in a teacher preparation program. After the final term, qualify for Preliminary or Reciprocal. Restricted licenses do not report PDUs.
Moving a license to Oregon
Restricted Teaching is not a reciprocal license. Already-licensed out-of-state teachers should use the one-year Reciprocal Teaching License ($247) and then Preliminary. TSPC does not treat another state's alternate or intern credential as a Professional Teaching License. Additional Oregon districts that want to employ a Restricted teacher must each submit sponsorship.
Official Oregon reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Oregon
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Oregon; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $130,050
- Employed
- 4,160
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $120,110
- Employed
- 2,790
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $77,130
- Employed
- 12,600
- Projected growth
- -1.5%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $78,350
- Employed
- 6,940
- Projected growth
- -1.4%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $79,570
- Employed
- 11,730
- Projected growth
- -0.9%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Oregon, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Every Oregon preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Restricted Teaching License renewable?
No. TSPC says Restricted Teaching Licenses are not eligible for renewal. Submit a new eLicensing application to reissue the license, with an updated district sponsorship letter and evidence of progress in a teacher preparation program.
What is the difference between Restricted and Reciprocal in Oregon?
Restricted is for bachelor's holders who have not completed a teacher preparation program and need district sponsorship. Reciprocal is a one-year non-renewable license for teachers who already completed a program and hold an active non-provisional out-of-state license.
Do NES scores need to be sent to TSPC?
No. TSPC states NES scores are submitted automatically. Praxis scores must be designated for TSPC or uploaded in eLicensing.
References
- TSPC — First License Teaching (June 2025). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Obtain Oregon district sponsorship. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Apply in eLicensing and complete fingerprint clearance. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Teach on the Restricted license and show program progress to reissue. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Move to the Preliminary Teaching License. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Oregon Teacher Standards and Practices Commission (TSPC). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.