How to Become a Teacher in Oregon
The short answer
Oregon traditional licensure is a three-year Preliminary Teaching License after a TSPC-approved preparation program and ORELA/NES subject tests. NES scores auto-forward to TSPC; Praxis scores do not. Apply only in eLicensing. The first Oregon Preliminary license is $182 ($247 from out of state), plus $5 and $10 eLicensing service fees and $61 fingerprint clearance when required. After advanced competencies and four years of full-time experience, upgrade to the five-year Professional Teaching License. Out-of-state licensed program completers use the one-year Reciprocal Teaching License first.
- Complete a Commission-approved teacher preparation program
- Pass NES/ORELA subject tests (scores auto-forward to TSPC)
- Apply in eLicensing and complete fingerprint clearance if required
- Receive the three-year Preliminary Teaching License
Key takeaways
- Oregon traditional licensure is a three-year Preliminary Teaching License after a TSPC-approved preparation program and ORELA/NES subject tests. NES scores auto-forward to TSPC; Praxis scores do not. Apply only in eLicensing. The first Oregon Preliminary license is $182 ($247 from out of state), plus $5 and $10 eLicensing service fees and $61 fingerprint clearance when required. After advanced competencies and four years of full-time experience, upgrade to the five-year Professional Teaching License. Out-of-state licensed program completers use the one-year Reciprocal Teaching License first.
- Complete a Commission-approved teacher preparation program
- Pass NES/ORELA subject tests (scores auto-forward to TSPC)
- Apply in eLicensing and complete fingerprint clearance if required
Oregon certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Oregon Teacher Standards and Practices Commission (TSPC) publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete a Commission-approved teacher preparation program
The Preliminary Teaching License is issued to new teachers who have completed a TSPC-approved teacher preparation program. It authorizes prekindergarten–grade 12 assignments within the endorsements on the license and also authorizes substitute teaching. It is the license for educators who have not yet met Professional Teaching License experience and advanced-competency rules.
Source: oregon.gov
Pass NES/ORELA subject tests (scores auto-forward to TSPC)
Meet subject-area testing through ORELA/NES, or an approved multiple-measures option your program documents. TSPC states NES scores are submitted automatically by the testing company. If you take Praxis for a TSPC-accepted endorsement, you must designate TSPC as a score recipient or upload the official report in eLicensing.
Source: oregon.gov
Apply in eLicensing and complete fingerprint clearance if required
All applications and payments go through eLicensing. TSPC does not accept paper applications, personal checks, or cash. First Oregon Preliminary Teaching License is $182; out-of-state Preliminary or Professional applications are $247. eLicensing also adds a $5 portal-provider fee and a $10 license-system fee. If you have never held an Oregon license, or your license has been expired three years or more, pay the $61 fingerprint/background clearance fee in eLicensing.
Source: oregon.gov
Receive the three-year Preliminary Teaching License
The Preliminary Teaching License is valid for three years and may be renewed until you qualify for the Professional Teaching License. TSPC's first-license guidance (June 2025) and the teaching-license redesign page both state the three-year Preliminary term.
Source: oregon.gov
Renew or upgrade to the five-year Professional Teaching License
Professional licensure requires advanced competencies and at least four years of full-time experience. Preliminary renewal is associated with 75 professional development units; Professional renewal with 125. TSPC's April 2026 renewal guidance says PDUs are not required if the license expires before July 1, 2029, and are required if it expires on or after that date. Renew on or before expiration in eLicensing to avoid late fees.
Source: oregon.gov
Oregon's license names are a sequence, not synonyms. Preliminary is the three-year license for new program completers. Professional is the five-year license after four years of full-time experience and advanced competencies. Reciprocal is a one-year bridge for already-licensed out-of-state teachers and is not renewable. Restricted is a district-sponsored provisional for people who have a bachelor's and content preparation but no teacher preparation program. Applying for the wrong type in eLicensing—especially choosing Reciprocal when you are an Oregon completer, or Preliminary when you still need Restricted—creates a fee that TSPC will not refund.
NES auto-forward is a real operational difference from Praxis-primary states. TSPC's endorsement instructions say NES scores are submitted automatically, while Praxis takers must designate TSPC as a recipient or upload the official report. Candidates who sit a Praxis endorsement and assume Oregon 'already has the score' will stall in Awaiting Applicant Response. Conversely, NES testers should still look in eLicensing Documents before they pay a second transcript of scores. Multiple-measures option 3, when a program uses it in lieu of NES, is a transcript path, not an auto-forward path.
eLicensing is the entire counter. TSPC does not take paper applications, personal checks, or cash, and every transaction is non-refundable by statute. The February 2025 fee schedule lists $182 for a first Oregon Preliminary or Professional license and $247 for out-of-state versions of those licenses and for Reciprocal Teaching. On top of the license fee, eLicensing charges $5 (portal provider) and $10 (license system). Fingerprint clearance is $61 when the applicant has never held an Oregon license or the license has been expired three years or more. Adding those pieces is how a '182-dollar license' becomes more than $250 before evaluation starts.
Professional-development enforcement is date-gated. TSPC's April 2026 renewal chart still lists 75 PDUs for Preliminary and 125 for Professional, but the same document says educators whose licenses expire before July 1, 2029 do not report PDUs to TSPC, while those expiring on or after that date must. That split will confuse anyone using an older redesign page that presented 75/125 as immediately universal. Renew on time regardless: late eLicensing submission generates late fees even in years when PDUs are not collected. Reciprocal and Restricted holders do not use the Preliminary PDU table; Reciprocal is not renewable at all.
Required exams and fees
Oregon uses Oregon Educator Licensure Assessments (ORELA) / National Evaluation Series (NES) via TSPC; some endorsements use Praxis, which must be sent to TSPC (NES scores auto-forward). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- ORELA / National Evaluation Series subject assessments (NES scores auto-forward to TSPC)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Oregon certification exams, Oregon Teacher Standards and Practices Commission. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Submit renewal in eLicensing on or before the expiration date. Preliminary licenses use 75 PDUs and Professional licenses use 125 PDUs when the license expires on or after July 1, 2029; TSPC states PDUs are not required if the license expires before that date. First Oregon Preliminary/Professional fees are $182; renewals are $182.
Moving a license to Oregon
The Reciprocal Teaching License is a one-year, non-renewable license for teachers who completed an educator preparation program and hold an active, valid, non-provisional teaching license from another state. It authorizes full-time and substitute teaching; a separate Substitute Teaching License is not required. At the end of the year the educator must meet Preliminary or another non-provisional Oregon license. Out-of-state Preliminary, Professional, and Reciprocal applications are $247 on the TSPC fee schedule. Check eLicensing Messages for the next-license instructions.
Official Oregon reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Oregon
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Oregon; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $130,050
- Employed
- 4,160
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $120,110
- Employed
- 2,790
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $77,130
- Employed
- 12,600
- Projected growth
- -1.5%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $78,350
- Employed
- 6,940
- Projected growth
- -1.4%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $79,570
- Employed
- 11,730
- Projected growth
- -0.9%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Oregon, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Every Oregon preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
Does Oregon use Praxis as its primary teacher exam?
No. TSPC's primary subject tests are ORELA / National Evaluation Series. NES scores auto-forward to TSPC. Some endorsements may use Praxis, but those scores must be sent to TSPC or uploaded in eLicensing.
How much is a first Oregon Preliminary Teaching License?
TSPC's fee schedule lists $182 for a first Oregon Preliminary Teaching License and $247 for an out-of-state Preliminary application. eLicensing adds a $5 portal-provider fee and a $10 license-system fee. Fingerprint clearance is $61 when required.
How long is the Reciprocal Teaching License valid?
One year. It is not renewable. Before it ends, the educator must qualify for the Preliminary Teaching License or another non-provisional Oregon license.
When do I have to report professional development units?
TSPC's April 2026 renewal guidance says PDUs are not required if your license expires before July 1, 2029, and are required if it expires on or after that date. Preliminary uses 75 PDUs and Professional uses 125 when PDUs apply.
References
- Oregon Teacher Standards and Practices Commission. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete a Commission-approved teacher preparation program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Pass NES/ORELA subject tests (scores auto-forward to TSPC). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Apply in eLicensing and complete fingerprint clearance if required. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Receive the three-year Preliminary Teaching License. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Renew or upgrade to the five-year Professional Teaching License. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.