Alternative Teacher Certification in Oklahoma

Requirements verified Sep 7, 2026 against the Oklahoma State Department of Education — Teacher CertificationTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

Oklahoma Alternative Placement is for bachelor's holders with non-teaching degrees seeking secondary or PK–12 areas—not early childhood, elementary, or special education. Qualify with a 2.50 retention GPA or a terminal degree (Option A) or with two years of relevant work experience (Option B). Pass the OSAT or approved NES subject test before the provisional certificate, pay the $50 OECS fee, then finish APK, two professional-education courses, and 0–180 assigned PD hours within three years to reach the five-year Standard Certificate.

  1. Confirm you seek a secondary or PK–12 area, not early childhood, elementary, or special education
    The Alternative Placement Program is for individuals with non-teaching…
  2. Meet Option A or Option B eligibility
    Option A is a bachelor's degree with a retention GPA of 2.50 or higher,…
  3. Pass the subject-area test before the provisional certificate
    OSDE's December 2025 Alternative Placement requirements state the subje…
  4. Submit the Alternative Placement evaluation in OECS
    File the online application in OECS, upload a current resume and offici…

Key takeaways

  • Oklahoma Alternative Placement is for bachelor's holders with non-teaching degrees seeking secondary or PK–12 areas—not early childhood, elementary, or special education. Qualify with a 2.50 retention GPA or a terminal degree (Option A) or with two years of relevant work experience (Option B). Pass the OSAT or approved NES subject test before the provisional certificate, pay the $50 OECS fee, then finish APK, two professional-education courses, and 0–180 assigned PD hours within three years to reach the five-year Standard Certificate.
  • Confirm you seek a secondary or PK–12 area, not early childhood, elementary, or special education
  • Meet Option A or Option B eligibility
  • Pass the subject-area test before the provisional certificate

Oklahoma alternative certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as Oklahoma State Department of Education — Teacher Certification publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Confirm you seek a secondary or PK–12 area, not early childhood, elementary, or special education

    The Alternative Placement Program is for individuals with non-teaching degrees to teach in Oklahoma accredited schools in secondary and PK–12 areas. OSDE states it is not for early childhood, elementary, or special education. School Counselor, Library Media Specialist, and Reading Specialist options require a master's degree.

    Source: oklahoma.gov

  2. Meet Option A or Option B eligibility

    Option A is a bachelor's degree with a retention GPA of 2.50 or higher, or a terminal degree (for example PhD, EdD, MD, DO, JD, DVM, MFA, MLIS), and opens general secondary and PK–12 areas. Option B is a bachelor's degree plus two or more years of qualified work experience relevant to the requested area and limits the first area to that approved field.

    Source: oklahoma.gov

  3. Pass the subject-area test before the provisional certificate

    OSDE's December 2025 Alternative Placement requirements state the subject-area test must be passed before applying for the provisional certificate. Register for the OSAT or an approved NES Series field on the CEOE site. An applicant cannot have failed required professional education coursework.

    Source: oklahoma.gov

  4. Submit the Alternative Placement evaluation in OECS

    File the online application in OECS, upload a current resume and official transcripts, and pay the $50 application fee listed on the official requirements PDF. OSDE processes Alternative Placement evaluation, provisional, and standard applications inside OECS.

    Source: oklahoma.gov

  5. Complete APK, two professional-education courses, and assigned PD while teaching

    During provisional certification, complete the Assessment of Professional Knowledge, two professional-education college courses (classroom management and pedagogical principles/teaching methods), and professional-development hours assigned at issuance (0 to 180). Finish those requirements within three years and apply for the five-year Standard Certificate.

    Source: oklahoma.gov

The grade-span exclusion is the first filter. OSDE's alternative-pathways page says Alternative Placement is not for early childhood, elementary, or special education. Career changers who want those classrooms must use other OSDE routes, such as the non-traditional special education boot camp, not Alternative Placement. People who start an OSAT in elementary under the alternative application waste a test fee and still lack a pathway. Confirm the requested area is a listed general secondary or PK–12 field before paying for an evaluation.

Option A versus Option B changes how wide the certificate can become. Option A (2.50 retention GPA or a terminal degree) lets an approved applicant seek any general secondary or PK–12 area on the list. Option B (bachelor's plus two years of qualified related work) locks the first area to the approved field, with later testing to add other general areas. Applicants with a 2.49 GPA and no terminal degree cannot 'round up' into Option A; they need the work-experience file. Upload the resume OSDE asks for so evaluators can see that experience.

The subject test is a front gate, not a provisional condition. The December 2025 requirements PDF says the subject-area test must be passed before applying for the provisional certificate. That is stricter than states that let alternates teach first and test later. APK, the two college courses, and the 0–180 PD hours happen during provisional status and must be done within three years. Assigned PD hours are not a universal 180; the number is set when the certificate is issued and can be zero. Read the OECS issuance letter instead of assuming a statewide hour total.

Failed professional-education coursework is a disqualifier OSDE states in plain language: an applicant cannot have failed required professional education coursework. That rule catches people who started a traditional EPP, failed pedagogy classes, and now want Alternative Placement as a workaround. It also means a clean non-education bachelor's is a better fit than an incomplete education major with failing grades. Keep the $50 application fee in context: it is the OSDE evaluation/certificate fee on the official PDF, not the Pearson OSAT or $145 APK registration.

Required exams and fees

Oklahoma uses Certification Examinations for Oklahoma Educators (CEOE/OSAT) plus National Evaluation Series options, including Assessment of Professional Knowledge (APK) as of June 3, 2025 — Pearson/NES, not Praxis-primary. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).

Oklahoma certification exams, OSDE — Alternative Placement Program. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Full Oklahoma exam requirements →

Renewal and professional development

Complete assigned Alternative Placement requirements within three years, then apply in OECS for the Standard Certificate ($50). Provisional-certificate holders should use the instructions letter in the OECS Print History tab rather than the standard-renewal workflow.

Certificate term
3 years
Alternative Placement uses a provisional certificate while APK, two professional-education courses, and assigned professional-development hours (0–180) are completed. OSDE's requirements document states program requirements must be finished within three years to apply for a standard certificate. The Standard Certificate that follows is valid for five years.
Application fee
$50
As published by the state agency

Moving a license to Oklahoma

Alternative Placement is an Oklahoma statutory path for non-teaching degrees. It is not a vehicle for transferring another state's alternate certificate. Out-of-state licensed teachers should use the OECS reciprocity application. Alternate credentials from other states that are only conditional may still be asked to meet OSAT and APK.

Official Oklahoma reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in Oklahoma

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Oklahoma; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $86,630
    Employed
    4,320
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $105,830
    Employed
    1,700
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $48,200
    Employed
    18,500
    Projected growth
    +4.1%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $48,440
    Employed
    7,620
    Projected growth
    +4.1%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $48,710
    Employed
    15,480
    Projected growth
    +4.4%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Oklahoma, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in Oklahoma

The U.S. Department of Education designates these Oklahoma subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2025-2026. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

Art and Music Education — Choral MusicArt and Music Education — Instrumental MusicSupport Staff — CounselingSupport Staff — Psychologist

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, Oklahoma, SY 2025-2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every Oklahoma preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View Oklahoma outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

Can I use Alternative Placement to teach elementary in Oklahoma?

No. OSDE states the Alternative Placement Program is not for early childhood, elementary, or special education. It is for secondary and PK–12 areas, with some specialist options that require a master's degree.

Do I have to pass the OSAT before I can teach on Alternative Placement?

Yes. The official Alternative Placement requirements state the subject-area test must be passed before applying for the provisional certificate.

How long do I have to finish Alternative Placement requirements?

OSDE's requirements document states program requirements must be completed within three years to apply for a standard certificate. During that time you complete APK, two professional-education courses, and assigned professional-development hours.

References

  1. OSDE — Alternative Placement Program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  2. Meet Option A or Option B eligibility. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  3. OSAT / approved NES Series subject-area test (required before provisional certificate). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  4. Assessment of Professional Knowledge (APK) — during provisional certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  5. Oklahoma State Department of Education — Teacher Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  6. Oklahoma certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.