How to Become a Teacher in Oklahoma
The short answer
Oklahoma traditional certification is a five-year Standard Certificate after an Oklahoma state-approved educator preparation program, the OSAT (or an approved NES Series subject test), and the Assessment of Professional Knowledge (APK) in effect since June 3, 2025. Apply through the Oklahoma Educator Credentialing System with a college recommendation. OSDE lists the Standard Certificate at $50 to issue and $50 to renew. The OGET is no longer required. Testing remains on the Pearson CEOE/NES platform, not Praxis.
- Complete an Oklahoma state-approved educator preparation program
- Pass the OSAT subject-area test and the Assessment of Professional Knowledge
- Complete a teacher-certification background check
- Apply through OECS for the five-year Standard Certificate
Key takeaways
- Oklahoma traditional certification is a five-year Standard Certificate after an Oklahoma state-approved educator preparation program, the OSAT (or an approved NES Series subject test), and the Assessment of Professional Knowledge (APK) in effect since June 3, 2025. Apply through the Oklahoma Educator Credentialing System with a college recommendation. OSDE lists the Standard Certificate at $50 to issue and $50 to renew. The OGET is no longer required. Testing remains on the Pearson CEOE/NES platform, not Praxis.
- Complete an Oklahoma state-approved educator preparation program
- Pass the OSAT subject-area test and the Assessment of Professional Knowledge
- Complete a teacher-certification background check
Oklahoma certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Oklahoma State Department of Education — Teacher Certification publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete an Oklahoma state-approved educator preparation program
The traditional path is for candidates who finish a bachelor's degree or higher at an Oklahoma accredited institution as part of an approved educator preparation program for the certification area sought. OEQA publishes university contacts for approved programs.
Source: oklahoma.gov
Pass the OSAT subject-area test and the Assessment of Professional Knowledge
OEQA requires a subject-area test (OSAT, with NES Series versions accepted for select fields beginning June 2025) and a professional education assessment. As of June 3, 2025 the professional assessment is the NES Assessment of Professional Knowledge—Elementary (NT053) or Secondary (NT054). The Oklahoma General Education Test (OGET) is no longer required (as of May 5, 2022).
Source: oklahoma.gov
Complete a teacher-certification background check
If you are not already certified, complete the OSDE background-check process. Background checks for teacher certification are valid for one year; if a certificate is not issued within that year the check is void and must be redone.
Source: oklahoma.gov
Apply through OECS for the five-year Standard Certificate
Use Single Sign-On to reach the Oklahoma Educator Credentialing System. Traditional completers submit a college recommendation. OSDE states a Standard Certificate, valid for five years, costs $50.
Source: oklahoma.gov
Renew the Standard Certificate every five years
Renew online in OECS. OSDE lists $50 to renew a standard certificate that remains valid for five years. If a certificate has been expired more than one year, a new background check is required.
Source: oklahoma.gov
Oklahoma did not move to Praxis. Subject-matter testing is still the Certification Examinations for Oklahoma Educators, built around OSAT fields, with National Evaluation Series options added for flexibility beginning June 2025. The professional education assessment changed on June 3, 2025 from PPAT (and earlier OPTE) to the NES Assessment of Professional Knowledge in elementary or secondary. Traditional candidates who study from an OPTE or PPAT booklet are preparing for a retired instrument. OGET has been gone since May 5, 2022 and should not appear on a current traditional checklist.
The $50 Standard Certificate fee is unusually low among this set of states and is stated twice by OSDE—once on the traditional-pathway FAQ and once on the renewal page. That amount is the certificate, not the exam. APK registration on the CEOE site lists a $145 test fee for the elementary APK, and OSAT fees vary by field on the same Pearson site. Budgeting only $50 is how candidates are surprised at checkout on ceoe.nesinc.com. Background checks add another clock: clearance lasts one year, and no certificate means a voided check.
OECS plus Single Sign-On is the only application path OSDE wants in use. College recommendations, standard renewals, reciprocity, and alternative placement all sit inside that system. Paper habits from older OSDE PDFs do not create a credential. Traditional completers should confirm their university has submitted the college recommendation before they expect the $50 payment screen to produce a five-year Standard Certificate. Digital certificates are viewed in OECS, not mailed as the primary record.
The five-year Standard Certificate is the destination for traditional completers; provisional documents belong to other pathways. OSDE's certification-data glossary calls the Standard Certificate a full unencumbered certificate renewable every five years. Traditional applicants who are told they will 'get a provisional first' are often being mixed with Alternative Placement or emergency/boot-camp routes. If the EPP and both required assessments are done, the traditional FAQ points to the five-year Standard Certificate, not a three-year alternative provisional.
Required exams and fees
Oklahoma uses Certification Examinations for Oklahoma Educators (CEOE/OSAT) plus National Evaluation Series options, including Assessment of Professional Knowledge (APK) as of June 3, 2025 — Pearson/NES, not Praxis-primary. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Oklahoma Subject Area Test (OSAT) / approved NES Series subject test
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Assessment of Professional Knowledge (APK) Elementary NT053 or Secondary NT054
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- $145
Oklahoma certification exams, Oklahoma State Department of Education — Traditional Pathway. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Renew the five-year Standard Certificate in OECS for $50. Certificates expired more than one year require a new background check. Professional education assessment history (APK, and formerly PPAT or OPTE) remains part of the educator file.
Moving a license to Oklahoma
Out-of-state and out-of-country reciprocity applications are filed in OECS as their own application types. OSDE still requires Oklahoma certification assessments when the sending credential does not satisfy current OSAT/APK rules. Background checks are valid for one year from clearance.
Official Oklahoma reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Oklahoma
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Oklahoma; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $86,630
- Employed
- 4,320
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $105,830
- Employed
- 1,700
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $48,200
- Employed
- 18,500
- Projected growth
- +4.1%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $48,440
- Employed
- 7,620
- Projected growth
- +4.1%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $48,710
- Employed
- 15,480
- Projected growth
- +4.4%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Oklahoma, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Oklahoma
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Oklahoma subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2025-2026. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Oklahoma preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
Does Oklahoma use Praxis for teacher certification?
No. Oklahoma uses the Certification Examinations for Oklahoma Educators (OSAT/CEOE) and National Evaluation Series tests, including the Assessment of Professional Knowledge as of June 3, 2025. OEQA, not ETS Praxis, is the assessment agency.
How much is an Oklahoma Standard teaching certificate?
OSDE's traditional-pathway and renewal pages list $50 for a Standard Certificate valid for five years, including renewal.
Is the OGET still required?
No. The Oklahoma General Education Test is no longer a certification requirement as of May 5, 2022.
What professional education test do I take after June 3, 2025?
The Assessment of Professional Knowledge (APK), Elementary NT053 or Secondary NT054, replaced PPAT and the earlier OPTE. Some specialist stand-alone certificates are exempt from the professional education assessment.
References
- Oklahoma State Department of Education — Traditional Pathway. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Pass the OSAT subject-area test and the Assessment of Professional Knowledge. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete a teacher-certification background check. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Renew the Standard Certificate every five years. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Assessment of Professional Knowledge (APK) Elementary NT053 or Secondary NT054. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Oklahoma State Department of Education — Teacher Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Oklahoma certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.