Alternative Teacher Certification in New Hampshire
The short answer
New Hampshire's primary alternate classroom path is the Site-Based Licensing Plan: a $120 Statement of Eligibility, a $500 Intern Authorization, completion of a district-supported plan, then a $150 upgrade to a Beginning or Experienced Educator License. First-time applicants also pay $100 for Criminal History Record Check Clearance and must pass the DCYF Central Registry check. Fees come from Ed 505.09 Table 505-1 effective July 1, 2025 and are non-refundable. A separate Demonstrated Competencies Portfolio/Oral Board path uses $120 plus $500 plus $150.
- Obtain a Statement of Eligibility for the Site-Based Licensing Plan
- Secure a district intern placement and pay for Intern Authorization
- Complete Criminal History Record Check Clearance
- Finish the site-based plan and upgrade to BEL or EEL
Key takeaways
- New Hampshire's primary alternate classroom path is the Site-Based Licensing Plan: a $120 Statement of Eligibility, a $500 Intern Authorization, completion of a district-supported plan, then a $150 upgrade to a Beginning or Experienced Educator License. First-time applicants also pay $100 for Criminal History Record Check Clearance and must pass the DCYF Central Registry check. Fees come from Ed 505.09 Table 505-1 effective July 1, 2025 and are non-refundable. A separate Demonstrated Competencies Portfolio/Oral Board path uses $120 plus $500 plus $150.
- Obtain a Statement of Eligibility for the Site-Based Licensing Plan
- Secure a district intern placement and pay for Intern Authorization
- Complete Criminal History Record Check Clearance
New Hampshire alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as New Hampshire Department of Education — Bureau of Credentialing publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Obtain a Statement of Eligibility for the Site-Based Licensing Plan
The Site-Based Licensing Plan is New Hampshire's employment-based alternate pathway. Table 505-1 lists $120 for a Statement of Eligibility per endorsement. The SOE documents that you are eligible to begin a district-supported intern plan rather than a PEPP-first Beginning Educator License.
Source: nhdoepm.atlassian.net
Secure a district intern placement and pay for Intern Authorization
After the SOE, the intern authorization that starts the site-based plan is $500 per endorsement in Table 505-1. The intern authorization is the employment credential while you complete the individualized plan with the sponsoring school and the Bureau.
Source: nhdoepm.atlassian.net
Complete Criminal History Record Check Clearance
First-time applicants must pass the criminal history records check and DCYF Central Registry check before a credential is issued. Budget the $100 first-time clearance fee in addition to SOE and intern fees.
Source: education.nh.gov
Finish the site-based plan and upgrade to BEL or EEL
When the Bureau confirms the plan is complete, apply for the Beginning Educator or Experienced Educator License and pay the $150 upgrade fee per endorsement. Ed 505.09 says pathway-specific applicants pay the license fee after the department confirms successful completion.
Source: nhdoepm.atlassian.net
New Hampshire's alternate route is expensive in stages on purpose. Table 505-1 splits Site-Based Licensing Plan into a $120 Statement of Eligibility, a $500 intern authorization, and a $150 BEL/EEL upgrade—all per endorsement. A candidate who starts SBLP for two endorsements can owe well over a thousand dollars before the first three-year license is in hand, plus the $100 first-time clearance fee. That staged structure is why the Bureau warns applicants not to pay the license fee until the department confirms the pathway is complete: paying $150 early does not create a BEL.
SBLP is not the only non-PEPP door. Ed 505.09 also prices Demonstrated Competencies Portfolio/Oral Board at $120 for materials and $500 for the review, then $150 for the license; transcript analysis for administrator endorsements is $500; national/regional demonstrated competencies and experience under an out-of-state license are $150. Career changers who already have a robust portfolio or a full out-of-state license may spend less—and finish faster—on those demonstrated-competency tracks than on a multi-year intern authorization. The Bureau Knowledge Base fee table is the document to compare before a district writes an intern plan.
Employment is the hidden prerequisite. Intern authorization exists so a school can place a candidate while the individualized plan runs. Applicants who obtain a Statement of Eligibility and then fail to land a sponsoring assignment are stuck with a $120 document that is not a teaching license. Traditional PEPP completers do not face that hire-first logic. Districts and candidates should treat the SOE as permission to build a plan, not as authority to be teacher of record, until intern authorization is issued in EIS.
Clearance and the Code of Conduct apply to interns the same way they apply to PEPP graduates. First-time SBLP candidates still need the criminal history and DCYF checks, and once credentialed they fall under Ed 500 professional conduct rules the Bureau investigates. The 2019 removal of contract-dispute enforcement does not remove criminal or ethical jurisdiction. Alternate-route teachers sometimes assume intern status is 'off the license'; in New Hampshire the intern authorization is a Bureau credential with the same misconduct exposure as a BEL.
Required exams and fees
New Hampshire uses Endorsement-specific assessments as required by Ed 500 (commonly ETS Praxis); PEPP completers follow program and endorsement rules. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Endorsement-required assessments specified in the Site-Based Licensing Plan (often Praxis)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
New Hampshire certification exams, NHED Bureau of Credentialing — Fee Schedule (Ed 505.09). Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Intern authorization continues for the duration of the site-based plan. After upgrade, renew BEL/EEL every three years for $150. A separate Demonstrated Competencies Portfolio/Oral Board path uses $120 materials, $500 review, and $150 license fees per endorsement.
Moving a license to New Hampshire
Site-Based Licensing Plan is a New Hampshire employment-based pathway, not a transfer of another state's alternate credential. Educators who already hold an out-of-state license should compare SBLP with the Demonstrated Competencies experience-under-out-of-state-license option ($150 per endorsement) before paying SOE and intern fees.
Official New Hampshire reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in New Hampshire
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for New Hampshire; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $104,910
- Employed
- 1,590
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $104,190
- Employed
- 920
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $72,410
- Employed
- 5,190
- Projected growth
- +3.5%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $71,140
- Employed
- 3,120
- Projected growth
- +3.5%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $77,060
- Employed
- 5,860
- Projected growth
- +3.7%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, New Hampshire, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in New Hampshire
The U.S. Department of Education designates these New Hampshire subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2025-2026. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every New Hampshire preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
What does the New Hampshire Site-Based Licensing Plan cost?
Ed 505.09 Table 505-1 lists $120 for the Statement of Eligibility, $500 for Intern Authorization, and $150 to upgrade to a Beginning or Experienced Educator License, each per endorsement. First-time Criminal History Record Check Clearance is $100.
Is Site-Based Licensing Plan the only alternate route in New Hampshire?
No. The same fee table also prices Demonstrated Competencies Portfolio/Oral Board, transcript analysis for administrator endorsements, national/regional demonstrated competencies, and experience under an out-of-state license.
When do I pay the $150 Beginning Educator License fee on SBLP?
Ed 505.09 states that for the listed licensing pathways the individual applies for the educator license and pays the applicable fee after the department confirms the pathway has been successfully completed.
References
- NHED Bureau of Credentialing — Fee Schedule (Ed 505.09). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete Criminal History Record Check Clearance. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- New Hampshire certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.