How to Become a Teacher in New Hampshire
The short answer
New Hampshire traditional licensure is a Beginning Educator License after completion of an approved Professional Educator Preparation Program. First-time applicants must pass a criminal history records check and a DCYF Central Registry check. Apply in myNHDOE / EIS and pay the $150 Beginning Educator License fee in Ed 505.09 (effective July 1, 2025). Licenses renew every three years for $150. Endorsement assessments, often Praxis, follow Ed 500 and the PEPP rather than a single statewide test list.
- Complete a New Hampshire Professional Educator Preparation Program
- Complete the Criminal History Record Check Clearance
- Meet endorsement assessments required by your PEPP
- Apply for a Beginning Educator License in myNHDOE / EIS
Key takeaways
- New Hampshire traditional licensure is a Beginning Educator License after completion of an approved Professional Educator Preparation Program. First-time applicants must pass a criminal history records check and a DCYF Central Registry check. Apply in myNHDOE / EIS and pay the $150 Beginning Educator License fee in Ed 505.09 (effective July 1, 2025). Licenses renew every three years for $150. Endorsement assessments, often Praxis, follow Ed 500 and the PEPP rather than a single statewide test list.
- Complete a New Hampshire Professional Educator Preparation Program
- Complete the Criminal History Record Check Clearance
- Meet endorsement assessments required by your PEPP
New Hampshire certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as New Hampshire Department of Education — Bureau of Credentialing publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete a New Hampshire Professional Educator Preparation Program
Finish an approved Professional Educator Preparation Program (PEPP) at a New Hampshire institution. Eleven institutions of higher education offer one or more approved programs. Ed 600 governs program approval; Ed 500 sets the credential standards for the endorsement.
Source: education.nh.gov
Complete the Criminal History Record Check Clearance
As of January 11, 2023, all first-time applicants must complete and pass a criminal history records check and a DCYF Central Registry check before a credential is issued. Clearance is also required for PEPP candidates. Ed 505.09 lists a $100 Criminal History Record Check Clearance fee for first-time applicants.
Source: education.nh.gov
Meet endorsement assessments required by your PEPP
New Hampshire endorsement rules in Ed 500 and PEPP requirements determine which content or professional assessments you must pass. Many teaching endorsements use ETS Praxis. Confirm the exact tests with your preparation program and the Bureau of Credentialing Knowledge Base before you register.
Source: education.nh.gov
Apply for a Beginning Educator License in myNHDOE / EIS
Create or log in to myNHDOE to reach the Educator Information System. Submit the Beginning Educator License application for your endorsement and pay the credential fee. Table 505-1 in Ed 505.09, adopted June 12, 2025 and effective July 1, 2025, sets $150 for a Beginning Educator License, Experienced Educator License, or approved-program completer credential per endorsement. Fees are non-refundable.
Source: my.doe.nh.gov
Renew on the three-year cycle or advance to Experienced Educator
BEL and EEL renew on a three-year cycle for $150. An educator with multiple endorsements may renew one or more held endorsements and pay one license renewal fee; later endorsements renewed separately require another fee. Lapsed BEL/EEL reinstatement is an additional $100 plus the renewal fee.
Source: nhdoepm.atlassian.net
New Hampshire splits the profession into Beginning Educator and Experienced Educator licenses rather than a single initial-plus-professional stack with a residency year. Traditional PEPP completers enter on a Beginning Educator License tied to a specific endorsement. The three-year renewal cycle in Table 505-1 is the same dollar amount—$150—for initial issuance and renewal, which is simple until an educator holds several endorsements and tries to renew them on different calendars. Ed 505.09 lets one renewal fee cover endorsements renewed together; endorsements left behind become a second $150 event, and a lapsed file adds $100 more.
The January 11, 2023 clearance rule is a true first-time gate. The Bureau requires both a criminal history records check and a DCYF Central Registry check before any first credential is issued, and PEPP candidates need clearance as well. Table 505-1 prices first-time applicant Criminal History Record Check Clearance at $100 (designated volunteers and PEPP candidates are listed at $20). Applicants who treat myNHDOE as only an academic upload will stall even after the PEPP recommendation arrives. Transportation monitors are no longer in that clearance set; school bus drivers still are.
Fee amounts moved in 2025. The State Board adopted Ed 505.09 on June 12, 2025, and the Bureau Knowledge Base publishes Table 505-1 effective July 1, 2025 at $150 for BEL/EEL/Master Teacher and approved-program completers. Older printouts that still show $120 are out of date. Payments are non-refundable and may be made electronically in EIS or by cash, money order, cashier's check, or a school employer check payable to Treasurer, State of New Hampshire. Personal checks are not the listed method in the adopted rule text.
New Hampshire does not publish a single Praxis-for-all chart the way some Praxis-primary states do. Ed 500 endorsement rules and the eleven approved PEPP providers determine which assessments attach to elementary, secondary, and specialist credentials. Traditional candidates should get the test list from the licensing advisor at their institution and confirm it in the Credentialing Knowledge Base, because registering for a generic Praxis battery can miss an endorsement-specific requirement—or add an exam the PEPP no longer uses. The Bureau's help desk, not a phone queue, is the official way to resolve those mismatches.
Required exams and fees
New Hampshire uses Endorsement-specific assessments as required by Ed 500 (commonly ETS Praxis); PEPP completers follow program and endorsement rules. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Endorsement-required educator assessments (commonly Praxis) — confirm with PEPP and Ed 500
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
New Hampshire certification exams, New Hampshire Department of Education — Bureau of Credentialing. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Renew BEL or EEL every three years for $150 through myNHDOE / EIS. One renewal fee can cover one or more held endorsements renewed at the same time. Expired licenses also owe the $100 lapsed-license reinstatement fee. Maintain the Criminal History Record Check Clearance requirements that apply to first-time and specified other roles.
Moving a license to New Hampshire
Out-of-state educators use Bureau of Credentialing pathways in Ed 505, including demonstrated competencies based on experience under an out-of-state license ($150 per endorsement in Table 505-1). First-time applicants still complete the criminal history and DCYF Central Registry clearance. Servicemembers and spouses may also have federal license-portability rights under the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, which the Bureau describes on its credentialing page.
Official New Hampshire reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in New Hampshire
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for New Hampshire; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $104,910
- Employed
- 1,590
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $104,190
- Employed
- 920
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $72,410
- Employed
- 5,190
- Projected growth
- +3.5%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $71,140
- Employed
- 3,120
- Projected growth
- +3.5%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $77,060
- Employed
- 5,860
- Projected growth
- +3.7%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, New Hampshire, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in New Hampshire
The U.S. Department of Education designates these New Hampshire subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2025-2026. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every New Hampshire preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
How much is a New Hampshire Beginning Educator License?
Ed 505.09 Table 505-1, effective July 1, 2025, lists $150 for a Beginning Educator License, Experienced Educator License, or approved educator preparation program completer credential per endorsement. Fees are non-refundable.
What background checks are required for a first New Hampshire credential?
As of January 11, 2023, first-time applicants must complete and pass a criminal history records check and a DCYF Central Registry check before a credential is issued. Table 505-1 lists $100 for first-time applicant Criminal History Record Check Clearance.
How often do New Hampshire educator licenses renew?
Beginning Educator and Experienced Educator licenses renew on a three-year cycle for $150. Multiple endorsements renewed together share one renewal fee.
References
- New Hampshire Department of Education — Bureau of Credentialing. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete a New Hampshire Professional Educator Preparation Program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Apply for a Beginning Educator License in myNHDOE / EIS. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Renew on the three-year cycle or advance to Experienced Educator. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.