Alternative Teacher Certification in Mississippi
The short answer
Mississippi alternate-route candidates hold a non-education bachelor’s degree, complete testing first (Praxis Core or ACT/GPA substitute, Praxis II subject, and Foundations of Reading where required), enroll in a Mississippi-located program (MAT, Teach Mississippi Institute, ABCTE, or iteach Mississippi), teach a one-year mentored internship, and then apply in MECCA for a five-year standard license. The official FAQ states there is currently no application-review fee.
- Hold a non-education bachelor’s degree and complete required testing first
- Choose a Mississippi-located alternate route program
- Complete the program’s training or coursework, then apply for the initial alternate license
- Complete the one-year paid teaching internship
Key takeaways
- Mississippi alternate-route candidates hold a non-education bachelor’s degree, complete testing first (Praxis Core or ACT/GPA substitute, Praxis II subject, and Foundations of Reading where required), enroll in a Mississippi-located program (MAT, Teach Mississippi Institute, ABCTE, or iteach Mississippi), teach a one-year mentored internship, and then apply in MECCA for a five-year standard license. The official FAQ states there is currently no application-review fee.
- Hold a non-education bachelor’s degree and complete required testing first
- Choose a Mississippi-located alternate route program
- Complete the program’s training or coursework, then apply for the initial alternate license
Mississippi alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Mississippi Department of Education — Office of Educator Licensure publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Hold a non-education bachelor’s degree and complete required testing first
Alternate route is for prospective educators who hold a non-education bachelor’s degree. All programs require a passing Praxis Core (or 21 ACT / SAT equivalent or 3.0 GPA on the baccalaureate or last 60 hours), a Praxis II subject test in the area you want to teach, and Foundations of Reading for Elementary and Mild/Moderate K–12. ABCTE completers use ABCTE Passport to Teaching plus subject and pedagogy assessments.
Source: mdek12.org
Choose a Mississippi-located alternate route program
MDE lists Master of Arts in Teaching, Teach Mississippi Institute, American Board for Certification of Teacher Excellence, and iteach Mississippi. Subject areas differ by provider (for example, ABCTE is limited to Biology, Chemistry, English, Math, and Physics). Only nontraditional programs located in Mississippi are accepted for licensure.
Source: mdek12.org
Complete the program’s training or coursework, then apply for the initial alternate license
After testing, enroll and finish the required training or coursework. Submit a MECCA licensure application, an official transcript showing the non-education bachelor’s degree, original Praxis scores from the testing company, and proof of alternate-route enrollment. The provider later submits online recommendations for initial and standard licensure (not required for the Five-Year Alternative Certification Option).
Source: mdek12.org
Complete the one-year paid teaching internship
The internship is the first year of teaching. Mentoring is provided, pay is based on bachelor’s-degree first-year-teacher status, and the year is provisional based on successful completion of the school year. All listed alternate programs share testing, training/coursework, and this one-year internship.
Source: mdek12.org
Apply for the five-year standard license after the internship
Submit a completed licensure application and proof of internship completion in MECCA after the provider’s online recommendation. The resulting credential is a five-year standard (alternate-route) teaching license. There is currently no application-review fee.
Source: mdek12.org
Testing-before-enrollment is the official sequence, not an optional extra. The Alternate Route Programs page tells candidates to decide the subject and age level, complete all required tests, then enroll and finish training before the initial alternate license and internship. Reversing that order—accepting a job first and testing later—does not match the published steps, except where a district separately requests a Special, Non-renewable license under Miss. Code Ann. §37-3-2.
Provider menus are not equivalent. MAT offers the widest subject list, including Elementary Education and Special Education. Teach Mississippi Institute omits elementary. ABCTE is limited to five secondary sciences and humanities fields. iteach Mississippi includes elementary plus a shorter world-language and STEM list. Choosing a provider that does not offer your subject wastes a test registration. MDE’s FAQ also repeats that only programs located in Mississippi are approved, even when a brand operates in other states.
The internship year is paid and provisional. MDE describes it as the first year of teaching with mentoring, compensation on the bachelor’s-degree first-year schedule, and continuation based on successful completion of the school year. After that year the educator applies for the five-year standard license with internship proof and the provider recommendation. That two-step license (initial alternate, then five-year standard) is the documented alternate structure—not an immediate Class A issued on test scores alone.
District-requested credentials sit beside, not inside, the alternate-route internship. A Special, Non-renewable license is a one-year Class A credential that only an employing local district or eligible nonpublic school may request, for up to three years, for candidates who have not met all §37-3-2 requirements. An Expert Citizen license is a five-year, district-requested credential for specialized or technical courses. Neither replaces MAT/TMI/ABCTE/iteach for a person seeking a portable five-year standard teaching license through the published alternate steps.
Required exams and fees
Mississippi uses ETS Praxis Core (or ACT/GPA substitute), Praxis Subject Assessments, Praxis PLT, and Foundations of Reading (elementary / special education). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Praxis Core or 21 ACT / SAT equivalent or 3.0 GPA on baccalaureate or last 60 hours
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis II Subject Area Test in the teaching field
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Foundations of Reading — Elementary and Special Education endorsements
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Mississippi certification exams, MDE Office of Educator Licensure — Alternate Route Programs. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
The internship credential is provisional for one school year. After the five-year standard license is issued, follow Class A renewal rules (10 CEUs, 6 coursework hours, or the other published options). Supplemental endorsements may be added to a three-year nontraditional or five-year standard license.
Moving a license to Mississippi
Mississippi does not accept out-of-state nontraditional programs for initial alternate licensure. Earn a standard license in the state that governs that program, then apply under Mississippi’s 21-day standard-license reciprocity. In-state alternate completers use MECCA plus the Mississippi provider’s online recommendation. Special, Non-renewable licenses are district-requested only.
Official Mississippi reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Mississippi
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Mississippi; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $82,800
- Employed
- 3,170
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $86,590
- Employed
- 2,230
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $49,790
- Employed
- 11,060
- Projected growth
- -0.8%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $50,790
- Employed
- 6,260
- Projected growth
- -0.8%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $50,980
- Employed
- 10,400
- Projected growth
- -0.5%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Mississippi, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Mississippi
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Mississippi subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Mississippi preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
Which Mississippi alternate-route programs are listed?
The Alternate Route Programs page lists Master of Arts in Teaching, Teach Mississippi Institute, American Board for Certification of Teacher Excellence, and iteach Mississippi. Subject areas vary by program.
Are out-of-state alternate programs accepted?
No. The FAQ states that only nontraditional programs located in Mississippi are approved. Completers of an out-of-state nontraditional program must obtain a standard license in that state and then apply under Mississippi reciprocity.
Do I take tests before I enroll?
Yes. Official alternate-route steps require Praxis Core or the ACT/GPA substitute, the Praxis II subject test, and Foundations of Reading for elementary and special education before you enroll, complete training, and apply for the initial alternate license.
References
- MDE Office of Educator Licensure — Alternate Route Programs. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete the program’s training or coursework, then apply for the initial alternate license. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Mississippi Department of Education — Office of Educator Licensure. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Mississippi certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.