How to Become a Teacher in Mississippi
The short answer
Mississippi traditional teachers complete a degree-granting, student-teaching program, meet the 21 ACT / Praxis Core / 3.0-GPA-on-60-hours standard, pass Praxis Subject and PLT (plus Foundations of Reading for elementary and certain special education fields), and apply in MECCA after the provider’s online recommendation. The Office of Educator Licensure FAQ states there is currently no fee for educator licensure application review. The Class A license is valid for five years.
- Complete a degree-granting teacher education program with student teaching
- Meet the admission / basic-skills standard
- Pass Praxis Subject Assessment and Principles of Learning and Teaching
- Receive an online recommendation, then apply in MECCA
Key takeaways
- Mississippi traditional teachers complete a degree-granting, student-teaching program, meet the 21 ACT / Praxis Core / 3.0-GPA-on-60-hours standard, pass Praxis Subject and PLT (plus Foundations of Reading for elementary and certain special education fields), and apply in MECCA after the provider’s online recommendation. The Office of Educator Licensure FAQ states there is currently no fee for educator licensure application review. The Class A license is valid for five years.
- Complete a degree-granting teacher education program with student teaching
- Meet the admission / basic-skills standard
- Pass Praxis Subject Assessment and Principles of Learning and Teaching
Mississippi certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Mississippi Department of Education — Office of Educator Licensure publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete a degree-granting teacher education program with student teaching
A traditional program is a licensure-track, degree-granting program at a regionally or nationally accredited institution that includes student teaching. The Guidelines for Mississippi Educator Licensure K-12 grant a five-year Class A license after a state-approved or NCATE/CAEP-accredited teacher education program.
Source: mdek12.org
Meet the admission / basic-skills standard
Class A requirements include a 21 ACT (or SAT equivalent), a qualifying Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators score, or a minimum 3.0 GPA on at least 60 hours of course credit as established by the State Board of Education.
Source: mdek12.org
Pass Praxis Subject Assessment and Principles of Learning and Teaching
Traditional Class A licensure requires the Praxis Subject Assessment for the teaching field and Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching. Elementary and designated special education endorsements also require the Foundations of Reading assessment. Testers in Mississippi have scores reported automatically to MDE; out-of-state testers designate State Code 7599.
Source: mdek12.org
Receive an online recommendation, then apply in MECCA
The Mississippi educator preparation provider must submit an online recommendation before the candidate applies. The prospective educator then applies to that recommendation in the Mississippi Educator Career Continuum Archive (MECCA), uploads supporting documents, and submits a Verification of Lawful Presence form. Official transcripts must come electronically from the institution to transcript@mdek12.org—not uploaded by the applicant.
Source: mdek12.org
Receive a five-year Class A license and plan renewal
The standard traditional license is a five-year, renewable Class A credential that can be upgraded to higher class levels with additional degrees. Class A renewal requires 10 CEU/clock/contact-hour certificates, 6 hours of coursework, a 5-CEU-plus-3-hour combination, National Board completion, a current PERS retirement letter, or a valid standard out-of-state license submitted in the final year.
Source: mdek12.org
MECCA replaced older ELMS habits, but transcript rules still catch applicants. Most applications are filed in the Mississippi Educator Career Continuum Archive. Official transcripts must be sent by the registrar or an official transcript service to transcript@mdek12.org; files the applicant uploads in the educator account are not official. Praxis and Foundations of Reading reports uploaded by the applicant are likewise rejected—scores must come from the testing company. In-state testers are auto-reported if the Social Security number is correct; out-of-state testers use code 7599.
The provider recommendation is a sequencing rule, not a courtesy. How-to-apply instructions say the Mississippi educator preparation provider must submit the online recommendation before the prospective educator applies, and the candidate then applies to that recommendation in MECCA. Starting a MECCA application with no recommendation produces an incomplete file and a requirements letter. Traditional licensure is defined in the FAQ as a degree-granting program that includes student teaching; that definition is how MDE distinguishes this route from alternate-route internships.
Application review is currently free; printed copies are not. The FAQ answers “Is there an application fee?” with “Currently, there is no fee for educator licensure application review.” A separate “Print my License” transaction charges a $5 certificate fee plus processing. Third-party sites that quote a $25 application fee are not sourced to this official FAQ. Numeric fee fields in this file stay null so a no-fee review is not converted into a invented checkout price.
Reciprocity is written as a 21-day standard-license grant, with a hard wall against imported alternate programs. A valid standard license from another state is supposed to yield a Mississippi five-year license within 21 days of a complete application. The same FAQ states that only nontraditional programs located in Mississippi are approved; completing an out-of-state alternate program requires first earning a standard license in the state that governs that program. That is the documented path—do not expect MDE to endorse a national alternate provider that never operated under Mississippi approval.
Required exams and fees
Mississippi uses ETS Praxis Core (or ACT/GPA substitute), Praxis Subject Assessments, Praxis PLT, and Foundations of Reading (elementary / special education). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators — or 21 ACT / SAT equivalent or 3.0 GPA on 60 hours
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis Subject Assessment and Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Foundations of Reading — Elementary and Mild/Moderate K–12
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Mississippi certification exams, Mississippi Department of Education — Office of Educator Licensure. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Class A: 10 CEU/clock/contact hours, 6 semester hours of coursework, 5 CEUs plus 3 hours of coursework, National Board completion, a current-year PERS retirement letter, or a valid standard out-of-state license in the final year of the Mississippi license. Class AA–AAAA use a lighter 5-CEU or 3-hour coursework option.
Moving a license to Mississippi
MDE’s Educator Licensure FAQ states the Department shall grant a standard five-year license to any individual who possesses a valid standard license from another state within 21 days of a completed application. Military-trained applicants, military spouses, and persons who establish residence are also subject to Miss. Code §§ 73-50-1 and 73-50-2. Only nontraditional programs located in Mississippi are accepted; an out-of-state alternate-route completer must first obtain a standard license in the state that governs that program, then apply under Mississippi reciprocity.
Official Mississippi reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Mississippi
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Mississippi; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $82,800
- Employed
- 3,170
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $86,590
- Employed
- 2,230
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $49,790
- Employed
- 11,060
- Projected growth
- -0.8%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $50,790
- Employed
- 6,260
- Projected growth
- -0.8%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $50,980
- Employed
- 10,400
- Projected growth
- -0.5%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Mississippi, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Mississippi
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Mississippi subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Mississippi preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a Mississippi educator license application fee?
The Office of Educator Licensure FAQ states there is currently no fee for educator licensure application review. Ordering a printed license copy is a separate $5 certificate fee plus processing.
What tests are required for a traditional Class A license?
Guidelines require a 21 ACT (or SAT equivalent) or Praxis Core or a 3.0 GPA on at least 60 hours, plus a Praxis Subject Assessment and Praxis PLT. Elementary and Mild/Moderate K–12 also require Foundations of Reading.
How do I renew a Class A license?
During the five-year cycle complete 10 CEU/clock/contact hours, 6 hours of coursework, 5 CEUs plus 3 hours of coursework, National Board certification, a current PERS retirement letter, or submit a valid standard out-of-state license in the final year.
Will Mississippi accept my valid out-of-state standard license?
The FAQ states the Department shall grant a standard five-year license to an individual who possesses a valid standard license from another state within 21 days of a completed application.
References
- Mississippi Department of Education — Office of Educator Licensure. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete a degree-granting teacher education program with student teaching. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Meet the admission / basic-skills standard. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Receive an online recommendation, then apply in MECCA. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Mississippi certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.