Alternative Teacher Certification in Colorado
The short answer
Colorado’s alternative classroom route is either an Alternative Teacher License (content knowledge already shown by degree, 24 semester hours, Praxis, or Multiple Measures) or a one-year Interim Authorization (job plus approved program, content still to be shown). Submit CBI fingerprints, apply in COOL within 30 days, and teach while finishing a one- to two-year program. Interim may be renewed only once. Completers apply for the three-year Initial license. In-state teacher application fees on CDE checklists are $90.
- Hold a degree, pick an endorsement, and enroll in an approved alternative program
- Choose Alternative Teacher License or Interim Authorization
- Secure a teaching position and submit CBI fingerprints
- Apply for ALTERNATIVE TEACHER in COOL
Key takeaways
- Colorado’s alternative classroom route is either an Alternative Teacher License (content knowledge already shown by degree, 24 semester hours, Praxis, or Multiple Measures) or a one-year Interim Authorization (job plus approved program, content still to be shown). Submit CBI fingerprints, apply in COOL within 30 days, and teach while finishing a one- to two-year program. Interim may be renewed only once. Completers apply for the three-year Initial license. In-state teacher application fees on CDE checklists are $90.
- Hold a degree, pick an endorsement, and enroll in an approved alternative program
- Choose Alternative Teacher License or Interim Authorization
- Secure a teaching position and submit CBI fingerprints
Colorado alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Colorado Department of Education — Educator Licensing publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Hold a degree, pick an endorsement, and enroll in an approved alternative program
Colorado alternative preparation lets you teach while completing a program aligned to the Teacher Quality Standards. Most programs last one to two years; special education generalist may need a third year. Alternative licenses and interim authorizations are issued in one content area only.
Source: ed.cde.state.co.us
Choose Alternative Teacher License or Interim Authorization
Use the Alternative Teacher License if you have already shown content knowledge via a degree in the content area, 24 semester hours on an official transcript, or a passing Colorado-approved Praxis score. Early childhood, early childhood special education, elementary, and special education generalist must use the exam or an “adequate evidence” Multiple Measures notice. Use Interim Authorization if you have a teaching position and program enrollment but have not yet demonstrated content knowledge—you must do so during the program.
Source: ed.cde.state.co.us
Secure a teaching position and submit CBI fingerprints
Interim authorization candidates must have a teaching position and be enrolled in an approved Colorado alternative program. All applicants submit fingerprints to CBI for CDE licensure purposes and apply in COOL within 30 days of CDE receiving the check. Alternative candidates print under the Educator Licensing Act, not the student-teaching statute.
Source: ed.cde.state.co.us
Apply for ALTERNATIVE TEACHER in COOL
Upload official transcripts (unofficial copies are never accepted), program documentation, content-competency evidence or the interim pathway materials, and identification. CDE will notify you in COOL and by email if items are missing; you have 60 days from the first notification to upload them. Upon issuance, interim holders receive notice of what they must still do to demonstrate content competency.
Source: ed.cde.state.co.us
Finish the program and apply for an Initial teacher license
Alternative licenses last the length of the program. Interim authorizations last one year and may be renewed if needed for a two-year program; CDE says you may renew an interim authorization only once. Completing the alternative program and content competency qualifies you for the three-year Initial teacher license, then induction and the seven-year Professional license.
Source: ed.cde.state.co.us
The Alternative versus Interim split is Colorado’s way of separating candidates who already own content from those who do not. Hiring a candidate on Interim without a plan for Praxis or Multiple Measures during the program leaves them unable to finish. CDE will tell interim holders, at issuance, exactly what content evidence is still due. Ignoring that notice is how a one-year authorization expires with no Initial license behind it.
Elementary and special education generalist candidates cannot use “I have a bachelor’s in something nearby” as content proof for the Alternative Teacher License. CDE requires the exam or an adequate-evidence Multiple Measures outcome for those fields. Secondary math or science candidates with 24 transcripted semester hours have an easier on-ramp—and should not assume their elementary colleagues can copy that worksheet strategy.
One content area only is a staffing constraint. An alternative license or interim authorization will not carry a stack of endorsements the way a Professional license might after additional worksheets. Districts that need a teacher to cover two preps in unrelated fields must plan a second endorsement path after Initial, not on day one of alternative preparation.
The 60-day deficiency clock inside COOL is separate from the 30-day fingerprint clock. Prints get you into the application; the 60 days start when CDE first says a document is missing. Candidates who change email addresses and miss that COOL/email notice can watch a complete-looking file close. Re-opening means new uploads and, if prints aged out, new fingerprints.
Required exams and fees
Colorado uses Colorado-approved Praxis exams with Multiple Measures of Content Competency (coursework or portfolio) as an alternative demonstration of content knowledge. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Colorado-approved Praxis exam(s) — or Multiple Measures / 24-hour coursework / content degree
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Colorado certification exams, CDE — Alternative Teacher Candidates. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Renew an interim authorization only once if the program is two years. Then complete content competency and the alternative program and apply for an Initial teacher license. Do not treat interim status as renewable career authorization.
Moving a license to Colorado
The Alternative Teacher License and Interim Authorization are Colorado program-and-employment credentials. Out-of-state teachers who already completed preparation should use CDE’s out-of-state teacher checklist rather than alternative authorization. CDE’s out-of-state FAQ states licenses never directly transfer and that Colorado requirements for the license sought must still be met.
Official Colorado reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Colorado
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Colorado; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $110,530
- Employed
- 5,760
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $118,440
- Employed
- 1,770
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $63,410
- Employed
- 24,860
- Projected growth
- +12.8%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $63,760
- Employed
- 13,280
- Projected growth
- +12.8%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $72,900
- Employed
- 18,310
- Projected growth
- +12.9%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Colorado, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Colorado
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Colorado subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Colorado preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between Colorado’s Alternative Teacher License and Interim Authorization?
The Alternative Teacher License is for candidates who have already demonstrated content knowledge (degree, 24 semester hours, Praxis, or Multiple Measures). Interim Authorization is for candidates who have a teaching position and approved program enrollment but have not yet shown content knowledge. Interim lasts one year and may be renewed only once.
How long do Colorado alternative credentials last?
Alternative Teacher Licenses last the length of the program. Interim authorizations expire one year from the date of issue. After program completion you apply for a three-year Initial teacher license.
Can I start a Colorado alternative program without a teaching job?
Interim Authorization candidates must have secured a teaching position and be enrolled in an approved Colorado alternative program. Content-ready candidates still apply through COOL for the Alternative Teacher License tied to that program.
References
- CDE — Alternative Teacher Candidates. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Choose Alternative Teacher License or Interim Authorization. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Secure a teaching position and submit CBI fingerprints. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Finish the program and apply for an Initial teacher license. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Colorado Department of Education — Educator Licensing. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Colorado certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.