How to Become a Principal in Colorado
What it takes to become a principal in Colorado
Colorado’s Initial Principal License requires a bachelor’s or higher degree, a Colorado-approved principal preparation program, three or more years as a fully licensed teacher or special services provider, Praxis 5412 at 146, E-Train evaluator training, and a CBI fingerprint check. It costs $90 and lasts three years. A Colorado induction program advances it to the seven-year Professional license.
Sources: Colorado Department of Education — Principal License Requirements. As of 2026-10-26.
- Hold a bachelor’s or higher degree and complete a Colorado-approved principal program
- Document three or more years of fully licensed school experience
- Pass Praxis 5412 with a score of 146
- Complete E-Train evaluator training
Key takeaways
- Colorado’s Initial Principal License requires a bachelor’s or higher degree, a Colorado-approved principal preparation program, three or more years as a fully licensed teacher or special services provider, Praxis 5412 at 146, E-Train evaluator training, and a CBI fingerprint check. It costs $90 and lasts three years. A Colorado induction program advances it to the seven-year Professional license.
- Hold a bachelor’s or higher degree and complete a Colorado-approved principal program
- Document three or more years of fully licensed school experience
- Pass Praxis 5412 with a score of 146
Colorado principal requirements, step by step
Initial Principal License (advancing to Professional Principal License). Each requirement is stated as Colorado Department of Education — Educator Licensing publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Hold a bachelor’s or higher degree and complete a Colorado-approved principal program
CDE’s initial principal checklist requires an earned bachelor’s or higher degree from a regionally accredited college or university and completion of a Colorado-approved program for the preparation of school principals. The program verifies completion on CDE’s approved program verification (APV) form.
Source: ed.cde.state.co.us
Document three or more years of fully licensed school experience
Show three or more years of experience as a fully licensed teacher or special services provider in an elementary or secondary school. CDE’s requirements page also accepts three years of like experience in a non-public school.
Source: ed.cde.state.co.us/checklist-initialprincipal · ed.cde.state.co.us/educatortalentprincipalrequirements
Pass Praxis 5412 with a score of 146
Submit a Praxis Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision (5412) score report showing 146. CDE’s out-of-state page states the score as 146 or higher.
Source: ed.cde.state.co.us/checklist-initialprincipal · ed.cde.state.co.us/OOSreqs
Complete E-Train evaluator training
Principal applicants on or after August 1, 2024 must hold a certificate of completion of E-Train evaluator training. CDE waives the separate certificate only when the APV form shows the training was completed inside the preparation program.
Source: ed.cde.state.co.us
Submit CBI fingerprints and apply within 30 days
Submit fingerprints to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation for CDE licensure. You have 30 days from the time CDE receives the background check to apply. The base fee is $90, and the initial license expires three years from the date of issue.
Source: ed.cde.state.co.us
Finish a Colorado induction program to advance to the Professional license
To advance, submit the certificate verifying completion of a Colorado induction program specific to the principal license, plus the E-Train certificate. The Professional Principal License is valid seven years from the date of issue.
Source: ed.cde.state.co.us
Colorado sets its degree floor lower than most states. CDE’s initial principal checklist asks for an earned bachelor’s or higher degree plus completion of a Colorado-approved principal preparation program, verified on CDE’s approved program verification (APV) form. Nowhere does the checklist require a master’s degree as a separate licensure condition. Whether a given preparation program is itself graduate-level is the program’s decision, not a CDE licensure rule, so read the program’s admission page rather than assuming a master’s is or is not attached.
The experience clock is three or more years as a fully licensed teacher or a fully licensed special services provider in an elementary or secondary school. CDE’s requirements page also counts three years of like experience in a non-public school. The word “licensed” carries weight: years worked on a credential that was not a full license are a question to put to CDE before applying. The exam is a single Praxis test, Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision (5412), at 146. E-Train evaluator training has been required for every new and renewing principal applicant since August 1, 2024, and CDE states that the credential cannot be issued or renewed without that certificate unless the APV form shows it was done in the program.
Colorado’s licenses come in three tiers. A Principal Authorization (three years, $90) lets a district employ someone as principal or assistant principal while they complete a Colorado-approved alternative program or a CDE-approved individualized plan; it is district-specific and cannot be renewed. The Initial Principal License lasts three years. Completing a Colorado induction program specific to the principal license advances it to the Professional Principal License, valid seven years. Renewing the Professional license takes 90 contact hours (six semester hours) inside the seven-year window, with at least 10 of those hours on students with disabilities. Colorado’s row in the cross-state principal comparison lines these requirements up against other states, and the M.Ed., EdS, and EdD guide explains why a degree title is not the license.
Colorado principal requirements at a glance
| Credential | Initial Principal License (advancing to Professional Principal License) |
|---|---|
| Teaching / experience | Three or more years as a fully licensed teacher or special services provider |
| Exam | Praxis Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision (5412), score 146 |
| Master's | Bachelor's or higher plus a Colorado-approved principal program; no separate master's requirement on this checklist |
| Internship | Not stated on this checklist |
| Counselor / pupil services | Experience as a fully licensed special services provider counts alongside teaching; the checklist does not list the roles. |
Required exams and fees
Colorado uses Praxis Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision (5412). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of October 2026).
- Praxis Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision (5412)
- Passing score
- 146
- Fee
- Not reported.
Colorado principal / administrator exams — Colorado Department of Education — Principal License Requirements. Reporting period: as of October 2026. Retrieved 2026-10-26.
Institutions with educational leadership programs
The table lists educational leadership CIP codes and award levels from IPEDS. This extract reported no completion counts, so none are shown. An award conferred does not mean the program is approved to recommend candidates for Initial Principal License (advancing to Professional Principal License). Verify approval with Colorado Department of Education — Educator Licensing.
| Institution | CIP | Award level |
|---|---|---|
| Colorado Christian University (Lakewood, CO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Colorado State University Global (Denver, CO) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Master’s |
| Colorado State University-Fort Collins (Fort Collins, CO) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Doctorate (research) |
| Colorado State University-Fort Collins (Fort Collins, CO) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Master’s |
| Fort Lewis College (Durango, CO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Fort Lewis College (Durango, CO) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Master’s |
| Regis University (Denver, CO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Regis University (Denver, CO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Taft University System (Denver, CO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (other) |
| University of Colorado Colorado Springs (Colorado Springs, CO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus (Denver, CO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus (Denver, CO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus (Denver, CO) | 13.0410 Urban Education and Leadership | Doctorate (research) |
| University of Denver (Denver, CO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of Denver (Denver, CO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Northern Colorado (Greeley, CO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of Northern Colorado (Greeley, CO) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
Renewal and professional development
Renew the Professional Principal License with 90 contact hours (six semester hours) of applicable professional development completed within the seven years of the active license, including at least 10 contact hours on laws and practices for educating students with disabilities, plus the E-Train evaluator certificate.
Moving an administrator credential to Colorado
Applicants prepared outside Colorado submit an approved program verification form from the preparing institution, Praxis 5412 (146 or higher), and the E-Train certificate. Colorado recognizes the out-of-state program only if the applicant holds or qualifies to hold the matching license in the state of preparation. An interim authorization may be issued while the exam or E-Train requirement is still open.
Salary and job outlook in Colorado
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Colorado; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $110,530
- Employed
- 5,760
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $118,440
- Employed
- 1,770
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $63,410
- Employed
- 24,860
- Projected growth
- +12.8%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $63,760
- Employed
- 13,280
- Projected growth
- +12.8%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $72,900
- Employed
- 18,310
- Projected growth
- +12.9%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Colorado, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Frequently asked questions
Does Colorado require a master’s degree for a principal license?
CDE’s initial principal checklist lists an earned bachelor’s or higher degree from a regionally accredited college or university plus completion of a Colorado-approved principal preparation program. It does not list a master’s degree as a separate requirement.
Sources: Colorado Department of Education — Initial Principal License (in-state) checklist. As of 2026-10-26.
What Praxis score does Colorado require for principals?
Praxis Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision (5412) with a score of 146. CDE’s out-of-state page states it as 146 or higher.
Sources: Colorado Department of Education — Initial Principal License (in-state) checklist; Colorado Department of Education — Licensure Information for Out-of-State Candidates. As of 2026-10-26.
How long is a Colorado principal license valid?
The Initial Principal License expires three years from the date of issue. After a Colorado induction program, the Professional Principal License is valid seven years from the date of issue. Each application has a $90 base fee.
Sources: Colorado Department of Education — Initial Principal License (in-state) checklist; Colorado Department of Education — Advance an Initial Principal License to Professional. As of 2026-10-26.
Can I work as a Colorado principal before finishing preparation?
Yes, through a Principal Authorization. You need a bachelor’s or higher degree, enrollment in a Colorado-approved alternative principal program or a CDE-approved individualized plan, and an employment contract as principal or assistant principal. The authorization lasts three years, is district-specific, and cannot be renewed.
Sources: Colorado Department of Education — Principal Authorization checklist. As of 2026-10-26.
How do I renew a Colorado Professional Principal License?
Complete 90 contact hours (six semester hours) of applicable professional development within the seven years of the active license, including at least 10 contact hours on educating students with disabilities, and hold the E-Train evaluator certificate. The renewal fee is $90.
Sources: Colorado Department of Education — Renew a Professional Principal License. As of 2026-10-26.
References
- Colorado Department of Education — Principal License Requirements. Retrieved 2026-10-26.
- Hold a bachelor’s or higher degree and complete a Colorado-approved principal program. Retrieved 2026-10-26.
- Pass Praxis 5412 with a score of 146. Retrieved 2026-10-26.
- Finish a Colorado induction program to advance to the Professional license. Retrieved 2026-10-26.
- Colorado Department of Education — Educator Licensing. Retrieved 2026-10-26.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.