Alternative Teacher Certification in Vermont
The short answer
Vermont’s alternate route is Peer Review (License by Evaluation). Candidates need a bachelor’s degree, passing Praxis Core and Praxis II scores before they apply, a required clinic, a competency portfolio, and an interview with experienced teachers. Statute charges $1,200 for the Peer Review process plus a $50 application fee. Successful candidates receive a three-year Level I license and then follow the same professional-learning ladder as traditional educators.
- Hold a bachelor’s degree and pass all required Praxis exams first
- Attend a required Peer Review clinic
- Apply online and pay the Peer Review fee
- Submit a portfolio reviewed by experienced teachers and complete an interview
Key takeaways
- Vermont’s alternate route is Peer Review (License by Evaluation). Candidates need a bachelor’s degree, passing Praxis Core and Praxis II scores before they apply, a required clinic, a competency portfolio, and an interview with experienced teachers. Statute charges $1,200 for the Peer Review process plus a $50 application fee. Successful candidates receive a three-year Level I license and then follow the same professional-learning ladder as traditional educators.
- Hold a bachelor’s degree and pass all required Praxis exams first
- Attend a required Peer Review clinic
- Apply online and pay the Peer Review fee
Vermont alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Vermont Agency of Education — Educator Quality / Vermont Standards Board for Professional Educators publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Hold a bachelor’s degree and pass all required Praxis exams first
Vermont’s alternate route is License by Evaluation, called Peer Review. Candidates must hold a B.A., B.S., or B.F.A. and must already have passing Praxis Core (or alternate) and Praxis II scores on file. Applications are not held open for testing. Send official transcripts to AOE.Transcripts@vermont.gov and include a current resume with relevant teaching experience.
Source: education.vermont.gov
Attend a required Peer Review clinic
Every Peer Review candidate must attend a two-hour clinic on the portfolio process and complete the clinic survey for a certificate of attendance before submitting a portfolio. Acceptance into Peer Review is not required to attend a clinic, and attending a clinic is not acceptance into the program. As of the current Agency page, live clinics are not being held; email aoe.peerreview@vermont.gov to request clinic resources.
Source: education.vermont.gov
Apply online and pay the Peer Review fee
Apply through the Agency’s online licensing software. Processing fees are non-refundable. Statute sets a $1,200 one-time Peer Review process fee in addition to the $50 application processing fee and Level I issuance fees if a license is granted.
Source: legislature.vermont.gov
Submit a portfolio reviewed by experienced teachers and complete an interview
Every Peer Review candidate completes a portfolio demonstrating endorsement competencies. Experienced teachers review the portfolio and conduct an interview. Use the Peer Review Handbook and endorsement competency documents linked from the Agency page. Address unique situation questions to AOE.PeerReview@vermont.gov after using clinic resources.
Source: education.vermont.gov
Receive a Level I license and follow the same renewal ladder
Successful Peer Review candidates are licensed at Level I and then follow the same three-year Level I / five-year Level II professional-learning rules as traditional completers, including fingerprint-supported criminal record checks already completed in the application.
Source: education.vermont.gov
Peer Review is a portfolio evaluation, not a teach-while-you-train residency. Vermont does not issue a multi-year alternative certificate that lets an unlicensed candidate serve as teacher of record while finishing pedagogy coursework. Until the portfolio and interview succeed, the candidate is not licensed. Districts that need someone in a classroom immediately use a separate temporary, provisional, emergency, or apprenticeship license under the same $50-per-year statutory fee—not Peer Review itself.
The $1,200 Peer Review fee is the standout cost in Vermont licensure. It is enacted in 16 V.S.A. § 1697 as a one-time process fee and sits on top of the $50 application processing fee and, if the license is granted, Level I issuance at $50 per year. The Agency warns that application processing fees are non-refundable. Career changers comparing Vermont with states that charge only a $50–$100 alternative application should treat Peer Review as a high-stakes evaluation purchase, not a cheap paperwork path.
Testing-before-entry is stricter than many alternative routes. Praxis Core (or an approved alternate) and any required Praxis II must already be passed; the Agency will not park an application while you schedule tests. That inverts the usual “get a job, then pass content exams” model used in PACE-style programs. Candidates who are strong classroom practitioners but weak standardized testers will hit the wall before they ever write a portfolio.
Clinic logistics have shifted. The official Peer Review page still describes required two-hour online clinics as Microsoft Teams Live Events with a same-day link and a survey certificate, but it also states the Agency is not currently holding live clinics and asks candidates to email aoe.peerreview@vermont.gov for clinic resources. Until live clinics resume, that email is the documented way to satisfy the clinic-attendance expectation. Portfolio questions that are unique to one candidate should wait until after clinic resources are reviewed.
Required exams and fees
Vermont uses ETS Praxis Core (or approved SAT/ACT/GRE alternate) and Praxis II content assessments; ACTFL for some world languages. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators (or approved alternate) — required before Peer Review application
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis II content assessment — if applicable to the endorsement sought
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Vermont certification exams, Vermont Agency of Education — Peer Review Alternative Route. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
After licensure, follow Level I professional-learning rules (three credits / 45 hours per endorsement) and seek Level II after three years of Vermont practice. The $1,200 Peer Review fee is one-time and is not a renewal fee.
Moving a license to Vermont
Peer Review is for candidates who have not completed a traditional educator preparation program. Educators who already hold a professional license from another U.S. jurisdiction should use Vermont’s reciprocity path rather than Peer Review. Reciprocity still requires the online application and fingerprint-supported criminal record check.
Official Vermont reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Vermont
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Vermont; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $105,350
- Employed
- 1,000
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $104,450
- Employed
- 550
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $63,070
- Employed
- 3,610
- Projected growth
- -4.1%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $73,940
- Employed
- 1,620
- Projected growth
- -4.3%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $76,220
- Employed
- 2,450
- Projected growth
- -4.1%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Vermont, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Vermont
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Vermont subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Vermont preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Vermont Peer Review cost?
16 V.S.A. § 1697 sets a $1,200 one-time Peer Review process fee. A $50 application processing fee also applies. If a Level I license is issued, the statutory $50-per-year Level I fee applies for the three-year term.
Can I apply for Peer Review before I pass Praxis?
No. The Agency requires Praxis Core (or an approved alternate) and applicable Praxis II scores before you apply. Applications are not held open to accommodate testing schedules.
Is attending a Peer Review clinic the same as being accepted?
No. Clinic attendance is required before you submit a portfolio, but it is not acceptance into the program. You must apply through the online licensing system to participate.
References
- Vermont Agency of Education — Peer Review Alternative Route. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Apply online and pay the Peer Review fee. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Receive a Level I license and follow the same renewal ladder. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Vermont Agency of Education — Educator Quality / Vermont Standards Board for Professional Educators. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Vermont certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.