How to Become a Teacher in Vermont

Requirements verified Sep 7, 2026 against the Vermont Agency of Education — Educator Quality / Vermont Standards Board for Professional EducatorsTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

Vermont traditional licensure requires a state-approved preparation program and institutional recommendation, Praxis Core (or an approved alternate) and Praxis II completed before application, a fingerprint-supported criminal record check, and an online VLSE application. Statute sets a $50 processing fee and $50 per year for a Level I license ($150 for three years). Level I lasts three years; Level II lasts five years and follows Local or Regional Standards Board recommendation after three years of Vermont practice.

  1. Complete a Vermont-approved educator preparation program
    Eligibility through the traditional route is determined by completing a…
  2. Pass Praxis Core and Praxis II before applying
    All testing requirements must be met before you submit an application.…
  3. Apply in the Vermont Licensing System for Educators and complete fingerprinting
    Submit the initial Level I application through VLSE (Agency pages also…
  4. Pay statutory fees and receive a three-year Level I license
    Vermont statute 16 V.S.A. § 1697 sets a $50 processing fee per applicat…

Key takeaways

  • Vermont traditional licensure requires a state-approved preparation program and institutional recommendation, Praxis Core (or an approved alternate) and Praxis II completed before application, a fingerprint-supported criminal record check, and an online VLSE application. Statute sets a $50 processing fee and $50 per year for a Level I license ($150 for three years). Level I lasts three years; Level II lasts five years and follows Local or Regional Standards Board recommendation after three years of Vermont practice.
  • Complete a Vermont-approved educator preparation program
  • Pass Praxis Core and Praxis II before applying
  • Apply in the Vermont Licensing System for Educators and complete fingerprinting

Vermont certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as Vermont Agency of Education — Educator Quality / Vermont Standards Board for Professional Educators publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Complete a Vermont-approved educator preparation program

    Eligibility through the traditional route is determined by completing a state-approved educator preparation program at a college or university—bachelor’s, post-baccalaureate, or master’s—and receiving the institution’s recommendation for licensure.

    Source: education.vermont.gov

  2. Pass Praxis Core and Praxis II before applying

    All testing requirements must be met before you submit an application. Vermont requires most candidates to take Praxis Core and the Praxis II exam for the endorsement. SAT, ACT, or GRE scores may exempt Praxis Core; see the Agency’s Praxis Core alternate-test FAQ. World-language endorsements may use ACTFL proficiency tests.

    Source: education.vermont.gov

  3. Apply in the Vermont Licensing System for Educators and complete fingerprinting

    Submit the initial Level I application through VLSE (Agency pages also still describe the Online Licensing System). Criminal record checks are completed inside the online application; every applicant must complete a fingerprint-supported criminal record check. Official transcripts go to AOE.Transcripts@vermont.gov when the institution sends them.

    Source: education.vermont.gov

  4. Pay statutory fees and receive a three-year Level I license

    Vermont statute 16 V.S.A. § 1697 sets a $50 processing fee per application and $50 per year for the term of a Level I license ($150 for the typical three-year term). A Level I Professional Educator License is valid for three years and expires June 30 of the third school year. The Agency publishes a separate Licensing Fee Schedule (November 18, 2025).

    Source: legislature.vermont.gov

  5. Advance to Level II and renew with professional learning

    Educators who have worked in Vermont under a Level I endorsement for three years seek a Local or Regional Standards Board recommendation to move to Level II, which is valid for five years. Renewing Level I requires three credits or 45 hours of new professional learning per endorsement (at least one credit / 15 hours in the endorsement standards). Renewing Level II requires six credits or 90 hours per endorsement (at least two credits / 30 hours in the endorsement).

    Source: education.vermont.gov

Vermont still talks about two licensing systems on official pages. The Agency’s 2026 Educators & Licensure hub and renewal documents use Vermont Licensing System for Educators (VLSE), including July 2025 “VLSE: Adding Professional Learning” guidance. Older Online Licensing pages still name ALiS and warn that Safari and Firefox are incompatible. Applicants should enter from the current Agency licensure pages rather than a bookmarked ALiS URL, but should expect the same statutory fees and fingerprint-inside-the-application workflow either way.

Testing is a pre-application gate, not a deficiency to clear later. The Agency states that applications will not be held open for testing schedules and that Praxis Core and applicable Praxis II must be passed first. That rule applies to traditional and Peer Review candidates alike. SAT, ACT, or GRE scores can replace Praxis Core when they meet the Agency’s published alternate-test FAQ; they do not replace Praxis II. World-language endorsements add ACTFL proficiency definitions rather than a second Praxis content test in some cases.

Fees are set in 16 V.S.A. § 1697 rather than only in a web chart: $50 to process an application, $50 per year for Level I, $50 per year for Level II, $50 per year for provisional, emergency, or apprenticeship licenses, $10 for an official license copy, $25 for a pre-application criminal-background determination, and a $1,200 one-time Peer Review fee. Military members and spouses may request a fee waiver under procedures determined by the Secretary. The November 18, 2025 Licensing Fee Schedule PDF is the Agency’s current companion document; this page uses the statute’s dollar amounts because they are enacted law.

Renewal is endorsement-specific and board-mediated. Employed Vermont educators work through a Local or Regional Standards Board; educators not served by a board use the Agency. Hours must map onto endorsement knowledge and performance standards plus the Core Teaching and Leadership Standards—generic workshops that cannot be coded to those standards will not clear a renewal. Level I holders who work three years in Vermont are expected to seek Level II rather than renew Level I indefinitely, though the rules allow one Level I renewal if the first Level II recommendation is denied.

Required exams and fees

Vermont uses ETS Praxis Core (or approved SAT/ACT/GRE alternate) and Praxis II content assessments; ACTFL for some world languages. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).

Vermont certification exams, Vermont Agency of Education — Educators & Licensure. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Renewal and professional development

Level I: three credits or 45 hours of new professional learning per endorsement, including at least one credit (15 hours) in the endorsement’s knowledge and performance standards; remaining hours in the Core Teaching and Leadership Standards. After three years of Vermont work, seek L/RSB recommendation for Level II. Level II: six credits or 90 hours per endorsement, including at least two credits (30 hours) in the endorsement.

Certificate term
3 years
Level I Professional Educator Licenses are valid for three years and expire June 30 of the third school year. Level II Professional Educator Licenses are valid for five years and expire June 30 of the fifth school year.
PD required
45 hours
Clock hours / points cited by the state source
Application fee
$50–$150
As published by the state agency

Moving a license to Vermont

Vermont accepts professional teaching licenses from all United States jurisdictions, including states, commonwealths, districts, and the Department of Defense Education Activity. Reciprocity applicants still complete the online application and fingerprint-supported criminal record check. Testing may be satisfied by existing credentials as described on the Agency’s become-an-educator pages; candidates without an accepted out-of-state professional license or National Board Certification must meet Vermont Praxis requirements before applying.

Official Vermont reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in Vermont

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Vermont; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $105,350
    Employed
    1,000
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $104,450
    Employed
    550
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $63,070
    Employed
    3,610
    Projected growth
    -4.1%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $73,940
    Employed
    1,620
    Projected growth
    -4.3%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $76,220
    Employed
    2,450
    Projected growth
    -4.1%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Vermont, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in Vermont

The U.S. Department of Education designates these Vermont subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

Core SubjectsHealth and Physical FitnessLanguage ArtsSupport Staff

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, Vermont, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every Vermont preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View Vermont outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

How much does a Vermont Level I educator license cost?

16 V.S.A. § 1697 charges $50 to process the application and $50 per year for the term of a Level I license. A three-year Level I therefore totals $150 in issuance fees plus the $50 processing fee.

How long is a Vermont teaching license valid?

Level I is valid for three years and expires June 30 of the third school year. Level II is valid for five years and expires June 30 of the fifth school year.

Do I have to pass Praxis before I apply?

Yes for most candidates. The Agency requires testing to be complete before you submit an application. SAT, ACT, or GRE scores may substitute for Praxis Core only.

Does Vermont accept my out-of-state professional teaching license?

Vermont accepts professional teaching licenses from all U.S. jurisdictions and DoDEA. You still apply online and complete a fingerprint-supported criminal record check.

References

  1. Vermont Agency of Education — Educators & Licensure. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  2. Complete a Vermont-approved educator preparation program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  3. Pass Praxis Core and Praxis II before applying. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  4. Pay statutory fees and receive a three-year Level I license. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  5. Advance to Level II and renew with professional learning. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  6. Vermont Agency of Education — Educator Quality / Vermont Standards Board for Professional Educators. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.