How to Become a Teacher in Tennessee
The short answer
Tennessee's Practitioner Teacher license requires a bachelor's degree, completion or enrollment in an approved EPP with program recommendation, and assessments per Policy 5.105 (Praxis, edTPA, NES). Practitioner licenses last three years; Professional licenses last six. TNCompass transactions are free; assessment fees are separate.
- Earn a bachelor's degree
- Enroll in or complete an approved educator preparation program
- Pass required licensure assessments
- Apply for a Practitioner Teacher license in TNCompass
Key takeaways
- Tennessee's Practitioner Teacher license requires a bachelor's degree, completion or enrollment in an approved EPP with program recommendation, and assessments per Policy 5.105 (Praxis, edTPA, NES). Practitioner licenses last three years; Professional licenses last six. TNCompass transactions are free; assessment fees are separate.
- Earn a bachelor's degree
- Enroll in or complete an approved educator preparation program
- Pass required licensure assessments
Tennessee certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Tennessee Department of Education (TDOE) publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Earn a bachelor's degree
Hold a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university. Official transcripts must be submitted to TDOE through an approved clearinghouse or by mail.
Source: tn.gov
Enroll in or complete an approved educator preparation program
Be enrolled in or have completed a Tennessee-approved educator preparation program (EPP) and receive a program recommendation for licensure in at least one endorsement area.
Source: tn.gov
Pass required licensure assessments
Meet all professional assessment requirements specified by the State Board of Education under Policy 5.105, including Praxis content and pedagogy tests, edTPA, and/or NES exams as listed for your endorsement.
Source: tn.gov
Apply for a Practitioner Teacher license in TNCompass
Submit the licensure transaction electronically through TNCompass. TDOE states there is no cost to submit a licensure transaction, though assessment and program fees apply separately.
Source: tn.gov
Advance to a Professional license
After three years of qualifying experience and completion of an EPP, advance to a six-year Professional Teacher license by earning 30 professional development points (PDPs) or obtaining a director of schools recommendation.
Source: tn.gov
Tennessee organizes new teacher credentials around a Practitioner-to-Professional ladder rather than issuing a career-long license at program completion. Practitioner Teacher licenses run three years and function as the entry tier for both in-state completers and many out-of-state applicants reviewed through reciprocity. Advancement to the six-year Professional license requires three years of qualifying experience plus either 30 professional development points or a director of schools recommendation—a gate that ties career progression to documented effectiveness.
Assessment policy is centralized in State Board Policy 5.105 and summarized in TDOE's Licensure Assessments Guidance document. Endorsement areas may require Praxis content and pedagogy tests, edTPA performance assessment, and NES exams in varying combinations. Because cut scores and fees are maintained in the guidance PDF and ETS registration systems rather than statute, candidates should download the current guidance before registering rather than relying on program handouts from prior years.
TNCompass is mandatory for every licensure transaction—apply, advance, renew, add endorsement—and TDOE no longer accepts paper applications. The FAQ Guide explicitly states there is no cost to submit a licensure transaction in Tennessee, distinguishing the state from neighbors that charge per application. Assessment, preparation program, and transcript evaluation costs remain the candidate's responsibility.
Reciprocity pathways are granular. Out-of-state initial-level license holders, out-of-state EPP completers with recommendation, and job-embedded partnership enrollees each follow distinct Practitioner issuance criteria on TDOE's out-of-state educators page. National Board Certified Teachers may qualify for assessment exemptions on advancement, adding another interstate consideration for experienced educators.
Required exams and fees
Tennessee uses ETS Praxis, edTPA, and NES assessments per State Board Policy 5.105. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- Praxis content and pedagogy assessments — endorsement-specific (Policy 5.105)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- edTPA — where required by endorsement/program
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Tennessee certification exams, TDOE — New to Education. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
Practitioner licenses may be renewed for an additional three years if the EPP and assessments are not yet complete. Professional licenses renew every six years with continuing education requirements documented in TNCompass.
Moving a license to Tennessee
Out-of-state educators with valid initial- or professional-level licenses, or completers of out-of-state EPPs with program recommendation, may qualify for a three-year Practitioner license through TNCompass review. National Board Certified Teachers may qualify for advancement exemptions.
Official Tennessee reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Tennessee
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Tennessee; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $97,590
- Employed
- 6,180
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $100,850
- Employed
- 2,680
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $59,980
- Employed
- 28,240
- Projected growth
- +8.5%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $60,690
- Employed
- 13,060
- Projected growth
- +8.5%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $61,860
- Employed
- 21,230
- Projected growth
- +8.8%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Tennessee, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Tennessee
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Tennessee subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Tennessee preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a fee to apply for a Tennessee teaching license?
TDOE's Licensure FAQ Guide states there is no cost associated with submitting a licensure transaction in TNCompass, though assessments and preparation programs have separate costs.
How long is a Practitioner Teacher license valid?
The Practitioner Teacher license is valid for three years. It may be renewed for an additional three years if EPP completion and assessments are not yet finished.
What assessments does Tennessee require?
Required assessments are specified in State Board Policy 5.105 and TDOE's Licensure Assessments Guidance, including Praxis, edTPA, and NES exams depending on endorsement area.
How do I advance to a Professional license?
After three years of qualifying experience and EPP completion, educators advance by earning 30 PDPs or obtaining a director of schools recommendation, submitted through TNCompass.
References
- TDOE — New to Education. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Pass required licensure assessments. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Apply for a Practitioner Teacher license in TNCompass. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Tennessee Department of Education (TDOE). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Tennessee certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.