How to Become a Principal in Tennessee
The short answer
Tennessee’s principal credential is the Instructional Leader License, with ILL-A (Aspiring) and ILL-P (Professional) variants. ILL requires an advanced degree from a CHEA- or USDOE-recognized institution, at least three years of qualifying educator experience, a State Board-approved instructional leader program with provider recommendation, and qualifying scores on all assessments in the Professional Assessments for Tennessee Educators Policy. ILL and ILL-A last no more than four years; ILL-P lasts no more than eleven. Apply through TNCompass.
- Choose among ILL-A, ILL, and ILL-P
- Meet the ILL academic and experience requirements
- Complete a State Board-approved instructional leader preparation program
- Earn qualifying scores on all required assessments
Key takeaways
- Tennessee’s principal credential is the Instructional Leader License, with ILL-A (Aspiring) and ILL-P (Professional) variants. ILL requires an advanced degree from a CHEA- or USDOE-recognized institution, at least three years of qualifying educator experience, a State Board-approved instructional leader program with provider recommendation, and qualifying scores on all assessments in the Professional Assessments for Tennessee Educators Policy. ILL and ILL-A last no more than four years; ILL-P lasts no more than eleven. Apply through TNCompass.
- Choose among ILL-A, ILL, and ILL-P
- Meet the ILL academic and experience requirements
- Complete a State Board-approved instructional leader preparation program
Tennessee principal requirements, step by step
Instructional Leader License (ILL); also ILL-A (Aspiring) and ILL-P (Professional). Each requirement is stated as Tennessee Department of Education publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Choose among ILL-A, ILL, and ILL-P
Tennessee issues an Instructional Leader License (ILL), an Aspiring Instructional Leader License (ILL-A), and a Professional Instructional Leader License (ILL-P). ILL-A is for candidates with a bachelor’s degree who are enrolled in an approved program and is valid no more than four years. ILL is valid no more than four years. ILL-P is valid no more than eleven years and is an advancement from ILL.
Source: tn.gov
Meet the ILL academic and experience requirements
For ILL, hold an advanced degree from an institution recognized by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation or the U.S. Department of Education, and document at least three years of qualifying educator experience.
Source: regulations.justia.com
Complete a State Board-approved instructional leader preparation program
Finish a State Board-approved instructional leader preparation program and obtain the provider’s recommendation. Rule 0520-02-03-.10 (official compilation dated June 2025) is the current regulatory text.
Source: publications.tnsosfiles.com
Earn qualifying scores on all required assessments
Present qualifying scores on all required assessments as defined in the Professional Assessments for Tennessee Educators Policy. Confirm the current instruments and scores on that policy rather than assuming a single vendor test.
Source: tn.gov
Apply and renew through TNCompass; practicing administrators use TASL for renewal
File ILL-A, ILL, and ILL-P applications and renewals in TNCompass. Tennessee Academy for School Leaders (TASL) credits apply to renewal of ILL and ILL-P for practicing administrators.
Source: tn.gov
Tennessee does not call the building-level credential a principal license. The Tennessee Department of Education and Rule 0520-02-03-.10 issue an Instructional Leader License, then split it into Aspiring (ILL-A), standard ILL, and Professional (ILL-P). Those suffixes change what a candidate may hold and for how long. ILL-A is the enrollment credential: a bachelor’s degree plus current enrollment in an approved instructional leader program, valid no more than four years. Using ILL-A as a long-term principal license after leaving a program is outside the rule. ILL itself is also capped at no more than four years. ILL-P, the advancement from ILL, is valid no more than eleven years.
The June 2025 official compilation of 0520-02-03 is the rule text to keep bookmarked, with 0520-02-03-.10 as the instructional-leader section. ILL requires an advanced degree from a CHEA- or U.S. Department of Education-recognized institution, at least three years of qualifying educator experience, a State Board-approved instructional leader preparation program, a provider recommendation, and qualifying scores on every assessment the Professional Assessments for Tennessee Educators Policy names. “Qualifying educator experience” is a defined idea in the rule, not a synonym for any three years on a school payroll. Instructional assistants and unlicensed staff should not assume those years count.
Assessment language is deliberately policy-referenced. TDOE’s instructional-leaders page points candidates to the Professional Assessments for Tennessee Educators Policy rather than embedding a single cut score on the license page. Do not invent a passing score. Read the current policy for the instruments and qualifying scores that apply to the application date. Provider recommendation is a separate gate: finishing coursework without the program’s recommendation leaves the TNCompass application incomplete.
TNCompass is the system for issuance and renewal of all three instructional-leader documents. For practicing administrators, Tennessee Academy for School Leaders credits apply to renewal of ILL and ILL-P. ILL-A holders still enrolled in a program should not ignore the four-year validity cap while they wait to finish internships. Moving from ILL to ILL-P is an advancement with its own eleven-year validity, not an automatic conversion when the fourth ILL year arrives. File the advancement in TNCompass before the ILL expires.
Required exams and fees
Tennessee uses Required assessments under the Professional Assessments for Tennessee Educators Policy. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Required assessments under the Professional Assessments for Tennessee Educators Policy
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Tennessee principal / administrator exams — Tennessee Department of Education — Instructional Leaders. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Institutions with educational leadership programs
The table lists educational leadership CIP codes and award levels from IPEDS. This extract reported no completion counts, so none are shown. An award conferred does not mean the program is approved to recommend candidates for Instructional Leader License (ILL); also ILL-A (Aspiring) and ILL-P (Professional). Verify approval with Tennessee Department of Education.
| Institution | CIP | Award level |
|---|---|---|
| Austin Peay State University (Clarksville, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Austin Peay State University (Clarksville, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Carson-Newman University (Jefferson City, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Carson-Newman University (Jefferson City, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Carson-Newman University (Jefferson City, TN) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Doctorate (research) |
| Carson-Newman University (Jefferson City, TN) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Master’s |
| Carson-Newman University (Jefferson City, TN) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Carson-Newman University (Jefferson City, TN) | 13.0408 Elementary and Middle School Administration/Principalship | Master’s |
| Christian Brothers University (Memphis, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Cumberland University (Lebanon, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| East Tennessee State University (Johnson City, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| East Tennessee State University (Johnson City, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| East Tennessee State University (Johnson City, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Freed-Hardeman University (Henderson, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Freed-Hardeman University (Henderson, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Freed-Hardeman University (Henderson, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Lee University (Cleveland, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (professional) |
| Lee University (Cleveland, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Lee University (Cleveland, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Lee University (Cleveland, TN) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Lee University (Cleveland, TN) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Lincoln Memorial University (Harrogate, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Lincoln Memorial University (Harrogate, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Lincoln Memorial University (Harrogate, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Lipscomb University (Nashville, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Lipscomb University (Nashville, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Middle Tennessee State University (Murfreesboro, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Middle Tennessee State University (Murfreesboro, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Milligan University (Milligan, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Rhodes College (Memphis, TN) | 13.0410 Urban Education and Leadership | Master’s |
| South College (Knoxville, TN) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Master’s |
| Southern Adventist University (Collegedale, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Southern Adventist University (Collegedale, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Southern Adventist University (Collegedale, TN) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Master’s |
| Southern Adventist University (Collegedale, TN) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Strayer University-Tennessee (Memphis, TN) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Master’s |
| Tennessee State University (Nashville, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Tennessee State University (Nashville, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Tennessee State University (Nashville, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Tennessee Technological University (Cookeville, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga (Chattanooga, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga (Chattanooga, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga (Chattanooga, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| The University of Tennessee-Knoxville (Knoxville, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| The University of Tennessee-Knoxville (Knoxville, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| The University of Tennessee-Martin (Martin, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Trevecca Nazarene University (Nashville, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Trevecca Nazarene University (Nashville, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Trevecca Nazarene University (Nashville, TN) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Doctorate (research) |
| Union University (Jackson, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Union University (Jackson, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Union University (Jackson, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Union University (Jackson, TN) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Doctorate (research) |
| Union University (Jackson, TN) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Master’s |
| Union University (Jackson, TN) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Union University (Jackson, TN) | 13.0410 Urban Education and Leadership | Master’s |
| University of Memphis (Memphis, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of Memphis (Memphis, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Vanderbilt University (Nashville, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Vanderbilt University (Nashville, TN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Vanderbilt University (Nashville, TN) | 13.0410 Urban Education and Leadership | Master’s |
Renewal and professional development
Renew ILL and ILL-P through TNCompass. TASL credits apply to renewal of ILL and ILL-P for practicing administrators. ILL-A is valid no more than four years while the holder is enrolled in an approved program.
Moving an administrator credential to Tennessee
Confirm out-of-state administrator evaluation rules directly with Tennessee Department of Education. This site does not republish NASDTEC interstate-agreement text.
Salary and job outlook in Tennessee
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Tennessee; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $97,590
- Employed
- 6,180
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $100,850
- Employed
- 2,680
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $59,980
- Employed
- 28,240
- Projected growth
- +8.5%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $60,690
- Employed
- 13,060
- Projected growth
- +8.5%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $61,860
- Employed
- 21,230
- Projected growth
- +8.8%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Tennessee, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between Tennessee’s ILL-A, ILL, and ILL-P?
ILL-A is the Aspiring license for bachelor’s-level candidates enrolled in an approved program and is valid no more than four years. ILL is the Instructional Leader License, also valid no more than four years. ILL-P is the Professional license, valid no more than eleven years, advanced from ILL.
What does Tennessee require for the Instructional Leader License?
An advanced degree from a CHEA- or USDOE-recognized institution, at least three years of qualifying educator experience, a State Board-approved instructional leader program with provider recommendation, and qualifying scores on all assessments in the Professional Assessments for Tennessee Educators Policy.
How do TASL credits relate to Tennessee instructional leader licenses?
TASL credits apply to renewal of ILL and ILL-P for practicing administrators. Renewals and advancements file through TNCompass.
Where is the official Tennessee instructional leader rule?
Rule 0520-02-03-.10, including the June 2025 official compilation of 0520-02-03. TDOE’s instructional-leaders page restates the license types and the TNCompass process.
References
- Tennessee Department of Education — Instructional Leaders. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Meet the ILL academic and experience requirements. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete a State Board-approved instructional leader preparation program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Tennessee Department of Education. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Tennessee credential portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.