How to Become a Teacher in Arizona
The short answer
To become a teacher in Arizona, obtain an IVP fingerprint clearance card, complete a Board-approved educator preparation program with student teaching (or meet the experience-plus-coursework pathway), pass AEPA or NES subject and professional knowledge exams, and apply online through the My Certification Portal at mycert.azed.gov with a $60 application fee.
- Obtain an IVP fingerprint clearance card
- Complete an approved educator preparation program
- Demonstrate professional and subject knowledge proficiency
- Apply through My Certification Portal
Key takeaways
- To become a teacher in Arizona, obtain an IVP fingerprint clearance card, complete a Board-approved educator preparation program with student teaching (or meet the experience-plus-coursework pathway), pass AEPA or NES subject and professional knowledge exams, and apply online through the My Certification Portal at mycert.azed.gov with a $60 application fee.
- Obtain an IVP fingerprint clearance card
- Complete an approved educator preparation program
- Demonstrate professional and subject knowledge proficiency
Arizona certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Arizona Department of Education publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Obtain an IVP fingerprint clearance card
Before or during your application, complete the Arizona Department of Public Safety Identity Verified Print (IVP) fingerprint clearance process required for educator certification.
Source: azed.gov
Complete an approved educator preparation program
Earn a bachelor's degree and complete a Board-approved educator preparation program (EPP) that includes student teaching, or meet the two-years-of-teaching-plus-coursework pathway if applicable.
Source: azed.gov
Demonstrate professional and subject knowledge proficiency
Pass the required Arizona Educator Proficiency Assessments (AEPA) or National Evaluation Series (NES) exams for your certificate area, or meet approved alternatives documented by ADE.
Source: azed.gov
Apply through My Certification Portal
Submit your application online via mycert.azed.gov with transcripts, exam scores, IVP clearance, and program verification. The standard application fee is $60.
Source: azed.gov
Arizona routes most new educators through the Arizona Department of Education's educator certification unit, which operates the My Certification Portal as the single point for applications, renewals, and document uploads. Unlike states that rely primarily on Praxis, Arizona uses the Arizona Educator Proficiency Assessments and National Evaluation Series for content and professional knowledge verification. Candidates should confirm which assessment series applies to their intended certificate area before registering, because ADE aligns specific tests to elementary, secondary, special education, and administrative credentials differently.
The Identity Verified Print fingerprint clearance card is a distinctive Arizona gatekeeper that runs parallel to academic preparation. ADE requires IVP clearance before issuance of many certificate types, and the process involves DPS-coordinated fingerprinting rather than a generic background check alone. Traditional candidates typically complete a Board-approved educator preparation program that includes supervised student teaching; ADE also recognizes a pathway for individuals who already hold two years of teaching experience plus required coursework, which can matter for career changers relocating within the state or returning to the profession.
Certificate renewal in Arizona is tied to ongoing professional learning measured in clock hours rather than semester credits alone. Educators must accumulate 15 clock hours of approved professional development or college coursework for each year of the certificate term being renewed. This structure rewards in-service growth but requires careful recordkeeping, because ADE expects documentation that aligns with approved providers and topics. Reciprocity applicants with valid comparable out-of-state certificates may bypass Arizona exam requirements when ADE determines their credentials are equivalent, though fingerprint clearance and application review still apply.
Arizona's alternative teaching certificate is a time-limited credential designed for candidates enrolled in Board-approved alternative or preparation programs who need to teach while completing requirements. It is issued for up to two years and may be extended yearly for a maximum of two consecutive years. ADE restricts this pathway so it cannot be used more than once in any five-year period, which shapes hiring decisions for districts seeking long-term staffing versus short-term coverage. Understanding the distinction between a standard certificate earned through a full EPP and the alternative certificate's provisional status helps candidates plan whether they need additional coursework or exams before moving to a renewable credential.
Required exams and fees
Arizona uses AEPA/NES. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- Arizona Educator Proficiency Assessments (AEPA)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- National Evaluation Series (NES)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Arizona certification exams, Arizona Department of Education. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
Complete 15 clock hours of professional development or college credit per year of the certificate term.
Moving a license to Arizona
Arizona offers reciprocity for holders of a valid comparable out-of-state certificate. Required exams may be exempt when reciprocity criteria are met.
Official Arizona reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Arizona
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Arizona; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $97,480
- Employed
- 5,270
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $103,280
- Employed
- 5,140
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $56,590
- Employed
- 24,240
- Projected growth
- +1.5%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $59,710
- Employed
- 9,020
- Projected growth
- +1.4%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $58,360
- Employed
- 21,190
- Projected growth
- +2%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Arizona, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Arizona
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Arizona subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Arizona preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
Does Arizona use Praxis for teacher certification?
No. Arizona uses the Arizona Educator Proficiency Assessments (AEPA) and National Evaluation Series (NES), not Praxis, for educator certification testing.
What is the application fee for Arizona educator certification?
The standard educator certification application fee is $60, submitted through the My Certification Portal at mycert.azed.gov.
Can out-of-state teachers get Arizona certification without retaking exams?
Yes, in many cases. Arizona offers reciprocity for valid comparable out-of-state certificates, and required exams may be exempt when reciprocity criteria are met.
How many professional development hours are required to renew an Arizona certificate?
Educators must complete 15 clock hours of professional development or college credit per year of the certificate term being renewed.
References
- Arizona Department of Education. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Apply through My Certification Portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Arizona Department of Education. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Arizona certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.