Alternative Teacher Certification in Arizona
The short answer
Arizona's alternative route requires enrollment in a Board-approved alternative or preparation program, IVP fingerprint clearance, and an Alternative Teaching Certificate application through My Certification Portal. Candidates teach while completing program requirements on a certificate valid up to two years, extendable yearly for two consecutive years maximum, and not issuable more than once in five years.
- Enroll in a Board-approved alternative or preparation program
- Obtain IVP fingerprint clearance
- Apply for the Alternative Teaching Certificate
- Teach while completing program requirements
Key takeaways
- Arizona's alternative route requires enrollment in a Board-approved alternative or preparation program, IVP fingerprint clearance, and an Alternative Teaching Certificate application through My Certification Portal. Candidates teach while completing program requirements on a certificate valid up to two years, extendable yearly for two consecutive years maximum, and not issuable more than once in five years.
- Enroll in a Board-approved alternative or preparation program
- Obtain IVP fingerprint clearance
- Apply for the Alternative Teaching Certificate
Arizona alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Arizona Department of Education publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Enroll in a Board-approved alternative or preparation program
Secure admission to an ADE-approved alternative route or preparation program that supports candidates teaching while completing certification requirements.
Source: azed.gov
Obtain IVP fingerprint clearance
Complete the Arizona IVP fingerprint clearance card process required before serving as a teacher of record.
Source: azed.gov
Apply for the Alternative Teaching Certificate
Request the Alternative Teaching Certificate through My Certification Portal. The certificate is valid for up to two years and may be extended yearly for a maximum of two consecutive years.
Source: azed.gov
Teach while completing program requirements
Serve as a teacher of record in an Arizona public or charter school while finishing coursework, assessments, and mentoring prescribed by your approved program.
Source: azed.gov
Convert to a standard certificate
Upon completing all program and assessment requirements, apply for the appropriate standard Arizona educator certificate. Note that the alternative certificate cannot be issued more than once in any five-year period.
Source: azed.gov
Arizona's Alternative Teaching Certificate exists specifically for candidates who need employment authorization before finishing a Board-approved alternative or preparation program. It is not a permanent credential but a structured bridge that lets districts hire teachers of record while those educators complete coursework, mentoring, and assessments. ADE caps the initial term at two years and allows yearly extensions for up to two consecutive years, which gives programs flexibility for part-time completion or delayed testing but prevents indefinite provisional status.
The once-in-five-years restriction is an important policy detail for career changers. If a candidate previously held an alternative certificate and let it lapse without converting to standard certification, they may be ineligible to receive another alternative certificate within five years. Hiring officials and candidates should verify this timeline early in recruitment. Combined with IVP fingerprint requirements and AEPA or NES testing, the alternative pathway still demands substantial preparation even though student teaching timelines may differ from traditional EPP routes.
Alternative route candidates use the same My Certification Portal as traditional applicants, which centralizes document submission and fee payment. Program providers typically coordinate verification of enrollment and completion, but the candidate remains responsible for timely applications and extensions. Upon finishing all program requirements and passing required assessments, educators transition to the standard certificate type appropriate to their role, at which point Arizona's renewal rules—including 15 clock hours per year of the certificate term—apply going forward.
Required exams and fees
Arizona uses AEPA/NES. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- Arizona Educator Proficiency Assessments (AEPA)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Arizona certification exams, Arizona Department of Education. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
Alternative certificate extensions require continued enrollment in an approved program and ADE approval; convert to a standard certificate upon completion.
Moving a license to Arizona
The Alternative Teaching Certificate is for candidates enrolled in Arizona-approved programs; out-of-state reciprocity follows separate ADE reciprocity rules for standard certificates.
Official Arizona reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Arizona
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Arizona; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $97,480
- Employed
- 5,270
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $103,280
- Employed
- 5,140
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $56,590
- Employed
- 24,240
- Projected growth
- +1.5%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $59,710
- Employed
- 9,020
- Projected growth
- +1.4%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $58,360
- Employed
- 21,190
- Projected growth
- +2%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Arizona, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Arizona
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Arizona subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Arizona preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
How long is the Arizona Alternative Teaching Certificate valid?
It is valid for up to two years and may be extended yearly for a maximum of two consecutive years while the candidate remains enrolled in an approved program.
Can I receive the Alternative Teaching Certificate more than once?
No. ADE limits issuance so the Alternative Teaching Certificate cannot be granted more than once in any five-year period.
Do alternative route candidates take AEPA exams?
Yes. Alternative route candidates must meet the same professional and subject knowledge proficiency requirements, typically through AEPA or NES assessments aligned to their certificate area.
References
- Arizona Department of Education. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Obtain IVP fingerprint clearance. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Arizona Department of Education. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Arizona certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.