Alternative Teacher Certification in Ohio
The short answer
Ohio's Alternative Resident Educator pathway requires a bachelor's degree with 2.5+ GPA, OAE content exams, completion of an Intensive Pedagogical Training Institute (IPTI), and employment as a teacher. Candidates receive an Alternative Resident Educator license for $80, complete the two-year Resident Educator Program, then advance to a Professional license.
- Meet Alternative Resident Educator eligibility
- Pass required content examinations
- Complete an Intensive Pedagogical Training Institute (IPTI)
- Secure employment and apply for Alternative Resident Educator license
Key takeaways
- Ohio's Alternative Resident Educator pathway requires a bachelor's degree with 2.5+ GPA, OAE content exams, completion of an Intensive Pedagogical Training Institute (IPTI), and employment as a teacher. Candidates receive an Alternative Resident Educator license for $80, complete the two-year Resident Educator Program, then advance to a Professional license.
- Meet Alternative Resident Educator eligibility
- Pass required content examinations
- Complete an Intensive Pedagogical Training Institute (IPTI)
Ohio alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as State Board of Education of Ohio publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Meet Alternative Resident Educator eligibility
Hold a bachelor's degree with a minimum 2.5 GPA and meet other eligibility criteria for the Alternative Resident Educator pathway. This route serves career changers who can demonstrate content knowledge through OAE examinations without having completed a traditional EPP before employment.
Source: sboe.ohio.gov
Pass required content examinations
Complete OAE content-area examinations (and Professional Knowledge as required) for your intended license area. Because Ohio accepts some Praxis II scores alongside OAE for certain areas, alternative candidates with prior testing from other states should review licensure testing guidance before registering for new exams.
Source: sboe.ohio.gov
Complete an Intensive Pedagogical Training Institute (IPTI)
Finish the required Intensive Pedagogical Training Institute before or during initial employment as prescribed by Ohio rules. IPTI provides concentrated pedagogical preparation that substitutes for much of the pre-employment coursework traditional candidates receive through university programs. It does not bypass induction.
Source: sboe.ohio.gov
Secure employment and apply for Alternative Resident Educator license
Obtain a teaching position and apply through OHID/CORE for an Alternative Resident Educator license. Employment is a prerequisite because the pathway assumes on-the-job learning supported by district mentors. The $80 Resident Educator license fee applies to alternative route candidates as well.
Source: sboe.ohio.gov
Complete the Resident Educator Program and advance to Professional license
Participate in the two-year Resident Educator Program while teaching, then advance to a five-year Professional license upon successful completion. Alternative Resident Educator license holders enter the same four-year Resident Educator framework as traditional completers. The alternative pathway replaces pre-service university preparation with IPTI and employment-based completion; it does not skip mentoring.
Source: sboe.ohio.gov
Ohio's Alternative Resident Educator pathway serves career changers who hold bachelor's degrees with at least a 2.5 GPA and can demonstrate content knowledge through OAE examinations without having completed a traditional EPP before employment. The Intensive Pedagogical Training Institute (IPTI) provides concentrated pedagogical preparation that substitutes for much of the pre-employment coursework traditional candidates receive through university programs.
Alternative Resident Educator license holders enter the same four-year Resident Educator license framework and must complete the two-year Resident Educator Program with mentoring before advancing to a five-year Professional license. Employment is a prerequisite because the pathway assumes on-the-job learning supported by district mentors and state induction requirements. The $80 Resident Educator license fee applies to alternative route candidates as well.
Because Ohio accepts some Praxis II scores alongside OAE for certain licensure areas, alternative candidates with prior testing from other states should review licensure testing guidance before registering for new exams. The alternative pathway does not bypass induction; it replaces pre-service university preparation with IPTI and employment-based completion while preserving Ohio's commitment to mentored early-career support.
Required exams and fees
Ohio uses OAE. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- Ohio Assessments for Educators (OAE)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Ohio certification exams, State Board of Education of Ohio. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
Complete the two-year Resident Educator Program and advance to a five-year Professional license.
Moving a license to Ohio
The Alternative Resident Educator pathway is for career changers meeting Ohio alternative criteria; out-of-state educators follow separate credential review processes.
Official Ohio reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Ohio
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Ohio; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $99,590
- Employed
- 12,480
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $87,370
- Employed
- 6,880
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $77,370
- Employed
- 47,870
- Projected growth
- -2.5%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $77,090
- Employed
- 30,450
- Projected growth
- -2.5%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $78,800
- Employed
- 49,540
- Projected growth
- -1.8%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Ohio, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Ohio
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Ohio subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Ohio preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
What GPA is required for Ohio's Alternative Resident Educator pathway?
Candidates must hold a bachelor's degree with a minimum 2.5 GPA to qualify for the Alternative Resident Educator pathway.
What is the IPTI requirement?
Candidates must complete an Intensive Pedagogical Training Institute (IPTI) as part of the Alternative Resident Educator pathway.
Do alternative route teachers complete the Resident Educator Program?
Yes. Alternative Resident Educator license holders must complete the same two-year Resident Educator Program before advancing to a Professional license.
References
- State Board of Education of Ohio. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Pass required content examinations. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- State Board of Education of Ohio. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Ohio certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.