How to Become a Principal in Ohio
The short answer
Ohio’s Professional Principal License requires a master’s degree, an approved principal-preparation program with a dean’s recommendation, passing OAE 015 Educational Leadership, and two years of successful teaching under a standard or professional license—or a professional pupil-services license—for the ages and grade levels of the license sought. Licenses are grade-banded. An alternative principal pathway is described on the State Board’s administrator-licenses page. Apply through CORE / OH|ID.
- Earn a master’s degree
- Complete an approved principal-preparation program
- Pass OAE 015 Educational Leadership
- Document two years of successful teaching for the ages you will lead
Key takeaways
- Ohio’s Professional Principal License requires a master’s degree, an approved principal-preparation program with a dean’s recommendation, passing OAE 015 Educational Leadership, and two years of successful teaching under a standard or professional license—or a professional pupil-services license—for the ages and grade levels of the license sought. Licenses are grade-banded. An alternative principal pathway is described on the State Board’s administrator-licenses page. Apply through CORE / OH|ID.
- Earn a master’s degree
- Complete an approved principal-preparation program
- Pass OAE 015 Educational Leadership
Ohio principal requirements, step by step
Professional Principal License. Each requirement is stated as State Board of Education of Ohio publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Earn a master’s degree
Hold a master’s degree as required for the Professional Principal License. The degree accompanies an approved principal-preparation program; it does not replace that program.
Source: sboe.ohio.gov
Complete an approved principal-preparation program
Finish a principal-preparation program approved by the State Board of Education of Ohio and obtain the dean’s recommendation. Recommendation is a distinct step from simply completing coursework.
Source: sboe.ohio.gov
Pass OAE 015 Educational Leadership
Pass the Ohio Assessments for Educators Educational Leadership examination, test code 015. This is the assessment the State Board lists on the principal-licenses pathway.
Source: sboe.ohio.gov
Document two years of successful teaching for the ages you will lead
Complete two years of successful teaching under a standard or professional license, or under a professional pupil-services license, for the ages or grade levels of the principal license sought. Ohio issues grade-banded principal licenses (early childhood, middle, 5–12, and related bands) based on that teaching experience.
Source: sboe.ohio.gov
Apply through CORE / OH|ID — or review the alternative principal pathway
Submit the Professional Principal License application in CORE using an OH|ID account. An alternative principal pathway also exists; the State Board describes it on the administrator-licenses page.
Source: sboe.ohio.gov
Ohio’s principal license is grade-banded, which is the detail that most often undoes an otherwise complete CORE application. The State Board of Education of Ohio issues a Professional Principal License tied to early childhood, middle-level, 5–12, or related bands that match the ages and grade levels of the candidate’s qualifying teaching. Two years of successful high-school teaching under a standard or professional license supports a 5–12 principal license; those same years do not automatically unlock an early-childhood principal license. Professional pupil-services experience can substitute for teaching when it is the professional pupil-services license and the ages align, but a pupil-services role in a high school does not, by itself, create a PK–6 principal license.
Preparation is an approved principal program plus a dean’s recommendation, not a self-assembled transcript of leadership electives. The State Board’s principal-licenses page treats the recommendation as a required element. Candidates who finish coursework, pass OAE 015, and then wait months for a dean’s letter are not “done” in CORE until that recommendation posts. OAE 015 Educational Leadership is the examination the pathway names; other Ohio Assessments for Educators content tests used for teaching licenses do not replace 015.
An alternative principal pathway sits on a different State Board page—the administrator-licenses overview—rather than inside the standard principal-licenses checklist. People who are already serving in a leadership role sometimes belong on that alternative route instead of forcing a traditional program match. The existence of the alternative path does not waive OAE 015 or the age-band experience rules unless the administrator-licenses page says so for that specific route; read that page before assuming a shortcut.
Applications file through CORE with an OH|ID login, the same infrastructure classroom educators already use. Selecting “administrator” without choosing the correct principal band is a recurring data-entry error. Because the two successful teaching years must be under a standard or professional license (or professional pupil services), time on a substitute, alternative, or temporary credential generally will not count toward the principal license even if the classroom assignment looked identical. Align the teaching-license type, the grade band, the dean’s recommendation, and OAE 015 before paying the CORE application fee.
Required exams and fees
Ohio uses OAE 015 Educational Leadership. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Ohio Assessments for Educators 015 Educational Leadership
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Ohio principal / administrator exams — State Board of Education of Ohio — Principal Licenses. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Institutions with educational leadership programs
The table lists educational leadership CIP codes and award levels from IPEDS. This extract reported no completion counts, so none are shown. An award conferred does not mean the program is approved to recommend candidates for Professional Principal License. Verify approval with State Board of Education of Ohio.
| Institution | CIP | Award level |
|---|---|---|
| Antioch University (Yellow Springs, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Ashland University (Ashland, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Ashland University (Ashland, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Baldwin Wallace University (Berea, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Baldwin Wallace University (Berea, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Bowling Green State University-Main Campus (Bowling Green, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Bowling Green State University-Main Campus (Bowling Green, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Bowling Green State University-Main Campus (Bowling Green, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Capital University (Columbus, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Cleveland State University (Cleveland, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Cleveland State University (Cleveland, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Franciscan University of Steubenville (Steubenville, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Heidelberg University (Tiffin, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| John Carroll University (University Heights, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Kent State University at Kent (Kent, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Kent State University at Kent (Kent, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Kent State University at Kent (Kent, OH) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Miami University-Oxford (Oxford, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Miami University-Oxford (Oxford, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Muskingum University (New Concord, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Muskingum University (New Concord, OH) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Master’s |
| Notre Dame College (Cleveland, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Ohio Dominican University (Columbus, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Ohio University-Main Campus (Athens, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Ohio University-Main Campus (Athens, OH) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Doctorate (research) |
| University of Akron Main Campus (Akron, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Akron Main Campus (Akron, OH) | 13.0408 Elementary and Middle School Administration/Principalship | Master’s |
| University of Cincinnati-Main Campus (Cincinnati, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Cincinnati-Main Campus (Cincinnati, OH) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Doctorate (research) |
| University of Dayton (Dayton, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of Dayton (Dayton, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Mount Union (Alliance, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Toledo (Toledo, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (other) |
| University of Toledo (Toledo, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of Toledo (Toledo, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Ursuline College (Pepper Pike, OH) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Ursuline College (Pepper Pike, OH) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Master’s |
| Ursuline College (Pepper Pike, OH) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Wright State University-Main Campus (Dayton, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Wright State University-Main Campus (Dayton, OH) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Master’s |
| Xavier University (Cincinnati, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Youngstown State University (Youngstown, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Youngstown State University (Youngstown, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Youngstown State University (Youngstown, OH) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
Renewal and professional development
Renewal follows State Board of Education of Ohio rules for the Professional Principal License. Confirm the current cycle and professional-development expectations in CORE before the license expires.
Moving an administrator credential to Ohio
Confirm out-of-state administrator evaluation rules directly with State Board of Education of Ohio. This site does not republish NASDTEC interstate-agreement text.
Salary and job outlook in Ohio
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Ohio; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $99,590
- Employed
- 12,480
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $87,370
- Employed
- 6,880
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $77,370
- Employed
- 47,870
- Projected growth
- -2.5%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $77,090
- Employed
- 30,450
- Projected growth
- -2.5%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $78,800
- Employed
- 49,540
- Projected growth
- -1.8%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Ohio, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Frequently asked questions
Does Ohio issue one PK–12 principal license for every candidate?
No. Professional Principal Licenses are grade-banded (early childhood, middle, 5–12, and related bands) based on the ages and grade levels of the candidate’s two years of successful teaching or professional pupil-services experience.
Which exam does Ohio require for the Professional Principal License?
Ohio Assessments for Educators 015 Educational Leadership, plus a master’s degree, an approved principal-preparation program, and a dean’s recommendation.
Is there an alternative route to an Ohio principal license?
Yes. The State Board of Education of Ohio describes an alternative principal pathway on its administrator-licenses page. Applications still file through CORE / OH|ID.
Can pupil-services experience replace teaching for an Ohio principal license?
Two years of successful experience under a professional pupil-services license can qualify when it matches the ages or grade levels of the principal license sought, as stated on the State Board’s principal-licenses page.
References
- State Board of Education of Ohio — Principal Licenses. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Apply through CORE / OH|ID — or review the alternative principal pathway. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- State Board of Education of Ohio. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Ohio credential portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.