How to Become a Teacher in Ohio
The short answer
To become a teacher in Ohio, complete an ODHE-approved preparation program, pass OAE exams including Professional Knowledge (220), and apply for a four-year Resident Educator license through OHID/CORE for $80. Complete the two-year Resident Educator Program, then advance to a five-year Professional license.
- Complete an ODHE-approved educator preparation program
- Pass required OAE examinations
- Apply for a Resident Educator license
- Complete the two-year Resident Educator Program
Key takeaways
- To become a teacher in Ohio, complete an ODHE-approved preparation program, pass OAE exams including Professional Knowledge (220), and apply for a four-year Resident Educator license through OHID/CORE for $80. Complete the two-year Resident Educator Program, then advance to a five-year Professional license.
- Complete an ODHE-approved educator preparation program
- Pass required OAE examinations
- Apply for a Resident Educator license
Ohio certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as State Board of Education of Ohio publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete an ODHE-approved educator preparation program
Earn a bachelor's degree and complete an Ohio Department of Higher Education-approved educator preparation program (EPP) including clinical experience. Program approval to recommend candidates is separate from institutional accreditation. Traditional candidates enter Ohio’s pipeline through this route before the Resident Educator license, not through a generic out-of-state brochure.
Source: sboe.ohio.gov
Pass required OAE examinations
Take and pass the Ohio Assessments for Educators (OAE), including assessment code 220 (Professional Knowledge) and content-area tests as applicable. Some areas may also accept Praxis II. Ohio’s licensure testing page documents which OAE content tests align with each license area; score reporting feeds CORE. Relocating educators should verify whether existing Praxis II scores satisfy Ohio rules before retesting.
Source: sboe.ohio.gov
Apply for a Resident Educator license
Submit your application through OHID/CORE for a four-year Resident Educator license. The Resident Educator license fee is $80. This is the entry credential for new teachers under State Board of Education oversight, not a substandard permit. Delays in testing or recommendation can compress the four-year window.
Source: sboe.ohio.gov
Complete the two-year Resident Educator Program
Participate in the Resident Educator Program with mentoring and formative assessments during your first two years of teaching. Ohio treats this induction as part of the credential lifecycle, not optional district programming. Successful completion is required before a Professional license.
Source: sboe.ohio.gov
Advance to a five-year Professional license
Upon successful completion of the Resident Educator Program, advance to a five-year Professional educator license. That transition unlocks Ohio’s long-term five-year renewal cycle. Out-of-state educators undergo credential review rather than automatic reciprocity.
Source: sboe.ohio.gov
Ohio's educator licensure system is built around the Resident Educator license as the entry credential for new teachers, administered through the OHID/CORE portal under State Board of Education oversight. Traditional candidates complete ODHE-approved preparation programs and pass Ohio Assessments for Educators (OAE), including the Professional Knowledge assessment (code 220), before receiving a four-year Resident Educator license priced at $80. Ohio also accepts some Praxis II scores for certain licensure areas, creating a mixed testing environment candidates must navigate carefully.
The two-year Resident Educator Program is Ohio's structured induction framework, pairing new teachers with mentors and formative assessments during their initial years of practice. Successful completion is required to advance from the Resident Educator license to a five-year Professional license. This progression embeds supported onboarding into the credential lifecycle rather than treating induction as optional district programming.
Ohio's licensure testing page documents which OAE content tests align with each license area, and candidates should register early because score reporting feeds directly into CORE application workflows. The four-year Resident Educator window provides time to complete induction while teaching, but delays in testing or program completion can compress the timeline. Out-of-state educators undergo credential review rather than automatic reciprocity, with determinations based on preparation equivalency and exam requirements.
Because Ohio maintains both OAE and limited Praxis II acceptance, educators relocating from Praxis-primary states should verify whether their existing scores satisfy Ohio rules before retesting. The Resident Educator to Professional transition represents the critical career milestone that unlocks long-term five-year renewal cycles for experienced Ohio educators.
Required exams and fees
Ohio uses OAE. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- Ohio Assessments for Educators (OAE)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- OAE 220 Professional Knowledge
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Ohio certification exams, State Board of Education of Ohio. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
Professional licenses renew on a five-year cycle; Resident Educator license holders must complete the two-year Resident Educator Program to advance.
Moving a license to Ohio
Out-of-state educators may apply for Ohio licensure through credential review; specific requirements depend on preparation and experience.
Official Ohio reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Ohio
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Ohio; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $99,590
- Employed
- 12,480
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $87,370
- Employed
- 6,880
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $77,370
- Employed
- 47,870
- Projected growth
- -2.5%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $77,090
- Employed
- 30,450
- Projected growth
- -2.5%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $78,800
- Employed
- 49,540
- Projected growth
- -1.8%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Ohio, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Ohio
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Ohio subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Ohio preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Ohio Resident Educator license fee?
The Resident Educator license application fee is $80, submitted through OHID/CORE.
What exams are required for Ohio teacher licensure?
Candidates must pass Ohio Assessments for Educators (OAE), including assessment 220 (Professional Knowledge), and applicable content-area tests. Some Praxis II scores are accepted for certain areas.
How long is the Ohio Resident Educator license valid?
The Resident Educator license is valid for four years. Educators must complete the two-year Resident Educator Program to advance to a five-year Professional license.
What is the Resident Educator Program?
It is Ohio's two-year induction program with mentoring and formative assessments required for new educators before advancing to a Professional license.
References
- State Board of Education of Ohio. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Pass required OAE examinations. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- State Board of Education of Ohio. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Ohio certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.