Alternative Teacher Certification in Pennsylvania
The short answer
Pennsylvania's Experience-Based Instructional pathway (formerly Intern) allows teaching for up to five service years while completing preparation requirements. Candidates pass Praxis or PECT exams, apply via TIMS at typically $150, and advance to Instructional II with Act 48 compliance after completing the program.
- Meet eligibility for experience-based certification
- Pass required Praxis or PECT examinations
- Apply through TIMS for experience-based Instructional I
- Teach while completing program requirements
Key takeaways
- Pennsylvania's Experience-Based Instructional pathway (formerly Intern) allows teaching for up to five service years while completing preparation requirements. Candidates pass Praxis or PECT exams, apply via TIMS at typically $150, and advance to Instructional II with Act 48 compliance after completing the program.
- Meet eligibility for experience-based certification
- Pass required Praxis or PECT examinations
- Apply through TIMS for experience-based Instructional I
Pennsylvania alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Pennsylvania Department of Education publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Meet eligibility for experience-based certification
Qualify for Pennsylvania's Experience-Based Instructional certification pathway (formerly Intern certification), typically requiring a bachelor's degree and relevant qualifications. This route authorizes teaching while you finish approved preparation, not a permanent bypass of Instructional I and Level II rules.
Source: pa.gov
Pass required Praxis or PECT examinations
Complete the Praxis or PECT exams required for your certification area before or during the experience-based pathway. Elementary and special education candidates often sit PECT; many other fields sit Praxis. The dual testing system is the same as the traditional route.
Source: pa.gov
Apply through TIMS for experience-based Instructional I
Submit your application via TIMS for the Experience-Based Instructional certificate, which authorizes teaching while completing requirements. Fees are typically $150; confirm the current PDE schedule when you file.
Source: pa.gov
Teach while completing program requirements
Serve as a classroom teacher for up to five service years while finishing your approved preparation or alternative program requirements. The service-year cap is a hard window: remaining on the experience-based credential indefinitely is not a published option.
Source: pa.gov
Advance to Instructional II (Level II)
Upon completing all requirements within the service-year limit, advance to Instructional II and comply with ongoing Act 48 professional development. Level II holders must complete 180 Act 48 hours every five years.
Source: pa.gov
Pennsylvania's Experience-Based Instructional certification—formerly known as Intern certification—permits candidates to serve in classrooms for up to five service years while completing educator preparation requirements. This pathway targets career changers and candidates who have secured employment before finishing a traditional student teaching sequence, but it still requires passage of Praxis or PECT exams aligned to the certification area.
TIMS manages applications for experience-based credentials alongside traditional Instructional I issuance. The five-service-year cap parallels the broader Instructional I framework but applies specifically to candidates completing requirements while employed. Failure to finish within the allotted service years can jeopardize continued certification eligibility, making coordination between the employing district, preparation provider, and PDE essential.
Upon completing the experience-based pathway, educators advance toward Instructional II (Level II) status and must eventually satisfy Act 48's 180-hour professional development requirement every five years. Application fees are typically around $150. Candidates should consult CSPG guidance and current PDE publications to confirm subject-area test requirements and program approval status before accepting employment under this certificate type.
Required exams and fees
Pennsylvania uses Praxis / PECT. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- Praxis
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Pennsylvania Educator Certification Tests (PECT)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Pennsylvania certification exams, Pennsylvania Department of Education. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
Complete all pathway requirements and advance to Instructional II; Level II holders must meet Act 48 requirements of 180 hours every five years.
Moving a license to Pennsylvania
Experience-Based Instructional certification is for candidates completing Pennsylvania-approved pathways; out-of-state educators apply through separate TIMS credential evaluation.
Official Pennsylvania reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Pennsylvania
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Pennsylvania; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $118,710
- Employed
- 14,460
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $103,740
- Employed
- 8,000
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $77,060
- Employed
- 48,370
- Projected growth
- -0.3%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $77,930
- Employed
- 22,720
- Projected growth
- -0.3%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $78,800
- Employed
- 52,240
- Projected growth
- -0.1%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Pennsylvania, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Pennsylvania
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Pennsylvania subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Pennsylvania preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
What is Pennsylvania's Experience-Based Instructional certificate?
It is Pennsylvania's alternative pathway (formerly Intern certification) allowing candidates to teach for up to five service years while completing preparation requirements.
How long can I teach on an Experience-Based Instructional certificate?
The Experience-Based Instructional certificate may be issued for up to five service years while completing program requirements.
What exams are required for the experience-based pathway?
Candidates must pass the Praxis or PECT examinations required for their certification area, the same as traditional route candidates.
References
- Pennsylvania Department of Education. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Pennsylvania Department of Education. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Pennsylvania certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.