Alternative Teacher Certification in New Mexico
The short answer
New Mexico alternative licensure runs through a state-approved Alternative Educator Prep Program or the two-year Online Portfolio for Alternative Licensure. Applicants need a qualifying bachelor's, master's, or doctoral background in a teaching field, a $150 alternative application, and a Teacher Licensure background check. Alternative EPP completers who finished the university portfolio skip most Praxis exams except Elementary 5205 and Special Education 5355. The resulting Level 1 license keeps the alternative title until the educator advances to Level 2.
- Choose the Alternative Educator Prep Program or the OPAL pathway
- Document the degree hours and program or district support
- Apply for alternative licensure and complete the background check
- Finish the program or OPAL requirements, including any remaining Praxis
Key takeaways
- New Mexico alternative licensure runs through a state-approved Alternative Educator Prep Program or the two-year Online Portfolio for Alternative Licensure. Applicants need a qualifying bachelor's, master's, or doctoral background in a teaching field, a $150 alternative application, and a Teacher Licensure background check. Alternative EPP completers who finished the university portfolio skip most Praxis exams except Elementary 5205 and Special Education 5355. The resulting Level 1 license keeps the alternative title until the educator advances to Level 2.
- Choose the Alternative Educator Prep Program or the OPAL pathway
- Document the degree hours and program or district support
- Apply for alternative licensure and complete the background check
New Mexico alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as New Mexico Public Education Department — Professional Licensure Bureau publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Choose the Alternative Educator Prep Program or the OPAL pathway
Bachelor's holders who did not complete a traditional education program may use a state-approved alternative educator preparation program or the Online Portfolio for Alternative Licensure (OPAL). OPAL lets a candidate teach for two years in a New Mexico public school district while being mentored and completing required reading coursework and licensure exams.
Source: web.ped.nm.gov
Document the degree hours and program or district support
Alternative EPP applicants upload official transcripts showing a bachelor's with 30 semester hours, a master's with 12 graduate hours, or a doctoral degree in a teaching field, plus a letter of acceptance into an approved alternative teacher education program. OPAL applicants add a signed letter of interest and a district support plan on school letterhead. Secondary first endorsements still need 24 credit hours with 12 upper-division hours.
Source: web.ped.nm.gov
Apply for alternative licensure and complete the background check
File the alternative application in the NMPED online portal with the $150 non-refundable initial fee and register fingerprints for Teacher Licensure. Cleared background is required before entering a virtual or in-person classroom.
Source: web.ped.nm.gov
Finish the program or OPAL requirements, including any remaining Praxis
After an alternative EPP, submit transcripts conferring the education certificate and a completion letter. If the university portfolio for assessment was completed, NMPED says no exams are required except Elementary 5205 and Special Education Foundational Knowledge (5355). Candidates who did not complete that portfolio must provide Praxis proof. OPAL candidates complete reading courses and required exams while teaching.
Source: web.ped.nm.gov
Hold Level 1 with the alternative title until you advance
NMPED leaves the word alternative on the Level 1 license until the educator advances. The remaining term of the Level 1 license is granted at conversion from the alternative program. Advance to Level 2 through APL micro-credentials or National Board certification to drop the alternative designation.
Source: web.ped.nm.gov
New Mexico offers two genuinely different alternate doors that people collapse into one nickname. The Alternative Educator Prep Program is a post-baccalaureate, state-accredited program at named New Mexico colleges and universities. OPAL is a district-mentored, two-year teach-and-portfolio path that also requires reading coursework and exams. Choosing OPAL without a district letter of support is not an application NMPED can finish. Choosing an alternative EPP without the 30-semester-hour (or master's/doctoral) teaching-field background is the other common reject. Read the checklist for the path you actually intend to file.
The word 'alternative' staying on a Level 1 license is policy, not a clerical error. NMPED's own FAQ explains that Level 1 is a provisional five-year license and that the alternative designation remains until the educator advances. Completing the EPP or OPAL does not by itself produce a clean Level 2 professional license. Educators who want the designation removed must finish APL micro-credentials or National Board and meet the evaluation and experience rules. That is a multi-year horizon, not a paperwork flip at program graduation.
Testing exceptions are narrower than program marketing sometimes implies. Alternative EPP completers who finished the university portfolio avoid most Praxis batteries, but elementary and special education statutory exams remain. OPAL participants have Core waived and must still pass the other required exams. Anyone who skipped the portfolio must produce Praxis evidence for the license. The safe planning assumption for K–8 and special education alternate candidates is that 5205 or 5355 will still be on the checklist.
Money stacks quickly if OPAL review fees apply. The license application is $150, IdentoGO is $59, and NMPED still publishes a $320 initial OPAL/PDD submission fee with $110/$220/$320 strand resubmissions. Even though advancement for standard Level 1 teachers has moved to APL, those OPAL review amounts remain on the official fee schedule. Candidates should ask the Licensure Bureau which fee applies to their specific OPAL file before assuming the dossier prices are historical only.
Required exams and fees
New Mexico uses ETS Praxis where still required (Teaching of Reading: Elementary 5205 and Special Education: Foundational Knowledge 5355 by statute); approved EPP standardized portfolio otherwise for 2024 and later completers. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Praxis Teaching of Reading: Elementary (5205) — required for K–8 elementary alternative completers
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis Special Education: Foundational Knowledge (5355) — required for PreK–12 special education
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
New Mexico certification exams, NMPED — Alternative Educator Prep Program. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Convert from the alternative program to the remaining Level 1 term, then renew or advance like other Level 1 teachers. Same-level renewal is $120. Advancement uses APL or National Board, not the closed Professional Development Dossier. OPAL/PDD review fees published by NMPED are $320 initial, $110 per strand resubmission, $220 for two strands, and $320 for three strands.
Moving a license to New Mexico
Alternative licensure is a New Mexico pathway for bachelor's holders without a traditional education degree. Out-of-state alternate credentials are evaluated through the initial $150 application and, if needed, the Approved Program Completion Verification Form. NMPED does not treat a third-party alternate certificate as an automatic Level 2 license.
Official New Mexico reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in New Mexico
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for New Mexico; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $107,720
- Employed
- 2,290
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $109,480
- Employed
- 1,160
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $74,550
- Employed
- 6,210
- Projected growth
- +3.2%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $75,240
- Employed
- 4,260
- Projected growth
- +3.2%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $75,900
- Employed
- 8,120
- Projected growth
- +3.6%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, New Mexico, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in New Mexico
The U.S. Department of Education designates these New Mexico subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every New Mexico preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
What degree do I need for New Mexico alternative teacher licensure?
NMPED lists a bachelor's degree including 30 semester hours, a master's including 12 graduate hours, or a doctoral degree in a teaching field, plus acceptance into an approved alternative program or a district OPAL support letter.
Do alternative candidates take Praxis exams?
If the university portfolio for assessment was completed, NMPED says no exams are required except Praxis 5205 for elementary and 5355 for special education. Without that portfolio, Praxis exams for the license are required. OPAL candidates must complete required licensure exams other than waived Core.
Why does my New Mexico license still say alternative after I finished the program?
NMPED keeps the alternative title on the Level 1 license until you advance. Completing the alternative program grants the remaining Level 1 term; Level 2 advancement removes the designation.
References
- NMPED — Alternative Educator Prep Program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Apply for alternative licensure and complete the background check. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- New Mexico Public Education Department — Professional Licensure Bureau. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- New Mexico certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.