Alternative Teacher Certification in Nevada

Requirements verified Sep 7, 2026 against the Nevada Department of Education — Educator LicensureTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

Nevada's Alternative Route to Licensure requires a regionally accredited bachelor's degree, acceptance by a Commission-approved ARL provider, an initial ARL letter, and an OPAL application with the $210 new-application fee. Candidates teach while completing the provider's program and required Praxis tests, then convert to a Standard license. NDE fingerprints again at conversion and does not reciprocate ARL licenses from other jurisdictions. Coursework is set by the approved provider, not by a single state course list.

  1. Enroll with a Commission-approved ARL provider
    NAC 391.461 requires Alternative Route to Licensure programs to be appr…
  2. Obtain the provider's initial ARL letter
    NDE's ARL candidate FAQ requires enrollment in an approved ARL program…
  3. Apply for the ARL license in OPAL
    Create an OPAL account and submit the electronic application, supportin…
  4. Complete the ARL program and required Praxis tests while teaching
    Finish the provider's instructional and training requirements and the P…

Key takeaways

  • Nevada's Alternative Route to Licensure requires a regionally accredited bachelor's degree, acceptance by a Commission-approved ARL provider, an initial ARL letter, and an OPAL application with the $210 new-application fee. Candidates teach while completing the provider's program and required Praxis tests, then convert to a Standard license. NDE fingerprints again at conversion and does not reciprocate ARL licenses from other jurisdictions. Coursework is set by the approved provider, not by a single state course list.
  • Enroll with a Commission-approved ARL provider
  • Obtain the provider's initial ARL letter
  • Apply for the ARL license in OPAL

Nevada alternative certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as Nevada Department of Education — Educator Licensure publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Enroll with a Commission-approved ARL provider

    NAC 391.461 requires Alternative Route to Licensure programs to be approved by the Commission on Professional Standards. Minimum ARL/conditional licensure rules in NAC 391.057 include acceptance by a qualified provider and a bachelor's degree or higher from a regionally accredited postsecondary institution.

    Source: doe.nv.gov

  2. Obtain the provider's initial ARL letter

    NDE's ARL candidate FAQ requires enrollment in an approved ARL program and an initial ARL letter from the provider before you apply. Coursework details come from the provider, not from a single statewide syllabus.

    Source: doe.nv.gov

  3. Apply for the ARL license in OPAL

    Create an OPAL account and submit the electronic application, supporting documents, and the $210 new-application fee. Fingerprinting is required. Nevada does not reciprocate ARL licenses issued by other states, territories, or countries.

    Source: doe.nv.gov

  4. Complete the ARL program and required Praxis tests while teaching

    Finish the provider's instructional and training requirements and the Praxis assessments that apply to the license area. ARL is a conditional license; competency-testing rules in NAC 391.036 still apply unless a listed exception is met.

    Source: doe.nv.gov

  5. Convert the ARL license to a Standard license in OPAL

    After program completion, apply for ARL conversion through OPAL. NDE requires fingerprinting again for a new license, a renewal, or conversion of an ARL license. Conversion is a new application event, not an automatic upgrade.

    Source: doe.nv.gov

Nevada's ARL is provider-defined rather than a single state syllabus. NAC 391.461 puts program approval with the Commission on Professional Standards, and NDE's own FAQ tells candidates to ask the provider what coursework they must take. That decentralization means two ARL teachers in the same endorsement can be on different pacing and clinical models. The only statewide constants at entry are a regionally accredited bachelor's degree, provider acceptance, the initial ARL letter, OPAL filing, and fingerprints. Shopping providers is part of the licensure strategy, not an optional extra.

The no-reciprocity rule for ARL is unusually blunt. NDE states it does not reciprocate ARL licenses from other U.S. states, territories, or countries. An educator who finished an alternate program elsewhere and holds only an alternate or conditional credential should not expect OPAL to treat that document like a Standard license. The productive fork is either a regular reciprocal review if the other state's license is non-conditional and non-provisional, or a fresh Nevada ARL enrollment. Importing an out-of-state ARL letter will not substitute for a Nevada-approved provider.

Conversion is a second full licensure event. NDE requires fingerprinting whenever someone applies for a new license, a renewal, or conversion of an ARL license, so the background check completed at ARL issuance does not carry automatically. Combined with the $210 new-application fee culture and nonrefundable OPAL payments, candidates should budget time and money for the conversion packet the same way they budgeted for the original ARL filing. Waiting until the conditional license is nearly expired is how ARL teachers become ineligible to continue in the classroom.

ARL candidates still sit inside Nevada's Praxis regime unless they qualify for a published Core exception. The alternative route changes how pedagogy is learned—on the job with a provider—not whether content and professional knowledge must be demonstrated. Districts that advertise ARL as 'no testing' are describing enrollment, not conversion. The same SAT 1100, ACT 21, GRE, and B-or-better coursework options that help traditional applicants can also keep ARL candidates from carrying a Core provision for three years.

Required exams and fees

Nevada uses ETS Praxis Core, Principles of Learning and Teaching, and content assessments (NAC 391.036). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).

Nevada certification exams, NDE — Alternative Route to Licensure (ARL) Candidate Information. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Renewal and professional development

ARL licenses convert to Standard or Professional licensure after program completion; NDE fingerprints again at conversion. Do not assume an ARL license from another state will transfer—NDE states it does not reciprocate ARL licenses.

Certificate term
3 years
ARL licensure is a conditional/alternative authorization issued after enrollment with an approved provider. Convert to a five-year Standard or six-year Professional license through OPAL after the provider program and remaining testing provisions are completed. Nevada also issues separate three-year non-renewable provisional licenses for testing or limited-credit deficiencies.
Application fee
$210
As published by the state agency

Moving a license to Nevada

The Nevada Department of Education does not reciprocate ARL licenses from other U.S. states, territories, or countries. Out-of-state educators who already hold a valid, non-conditional, non-provisional license should use the regular reciprocal path rather than ARL. ARL is for candidates accepted by a Nevada-approved provider.

Official Nevada reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in Nevada

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Nevada; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $109,420
    Employed
    2,490
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $88,810
    Employed
    1,320
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $65,040
    Employed
    9,550
    Projected growth
    +1.2%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $66,300
    Employed
    3,910
    Projected growth
    +1.2%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $65,520
    Employed
    8,920
    Projected growth
    +1.5%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Nevada, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in Nevada

The U.S. Department of Education designates these Nevada subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

Computer ScienceCore SubjectsEarly ChildhoodHealth and Physical FitnessLanguage ArtsMathematicsScienceSpecial EducationSupport Staff

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, Nevada, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every Nevada preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View Nevada outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

Does Nevada accept an ARL license from another state?

No. NDE states that it does not reciprocate ARL licenses from other U.S. states, territories, or countries. Candidates must enroll with a Nevada-approved ARL provider.

Do I need a bachelor's degree for Nevada ARL?

Yes. NAC 391.057 requires a bachelor's degree or above from a regionally accredited postsecondary institution and current acceptance by a qualified ARL provider.

Do I have to be fingerprinted again when I convert ARL to a standard license?

Yes. NDE requires fingerprinting for a new license, a renewal, or conversion of an ARL license.

References

  1. NDE — Alternative Route to Licensure (ARL) Candidate Information. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  2. Complete the ARL program and required Praxis tests while teaching. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  3. Nevada Department of Education — Educator Licensure. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.