How to Become a Teacher in Nevada
The short answer
Nevada traditional licensure requires regionally accredited preparation with student teaching (or an NAC 391.042 experience waiver), Praxis Core, Principles of Learning and Teaching, and any content tests, then an OPAL application. New applications cost $210 and are nonrefundable. A Standard license lasts five years; a Professional license lasts six years for educators with a graduate degree and five years of full-time teaching. SAT 1100, ACT 21, and other NAC 391.036 exceptions can waive Praxis Core. Incomplete testing can still yield a three-year non-renewable provisional license.
- Complete academic preparation and student teaching
- Pass required Praxis competency tests
- Use approved Core exceptions if you qualify
- Apply through OPAL and pay the new-application fee
Key takeaways
- Nevada traditional licensure requires regionally accredited preparation with student teaching (or an NAC 391.042 experience waiver), Praxis Core, Principles of Learning and Teaching, and any content tests, then an OPAL application. New applications cost $210 and are nonrefundable. A Standard license lasts five years; a Professional license lasts six years for educators with a graduate degree and five years of full-time teaching. SAT 1100, ACT 21, and other NAC 391.036 exceptions can waive Praxis Core. Incomplete testing can still yield a three-year non-renewable provisional license.
- Complete academic preparation and student teaching
- Pass required Praxis competency tests
- Use approved Core exceptions if you qualify
Nevada certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Nevada Department of Education — Educator Licensure publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete academic preparation and student teaching
Meet the coursework and student-teaching requirements for the specific Nevada license you want—early childhood, elementary, middle, secondary, or special education. Full-time contracted teaching experience may waive student teaching in some cases under NAC 391.042. Send official transcripts from a regionally accredited institution to transcripts@doe.nv.gov.
Source: doe.nv.gov
Pass required Praxis competency tests
NAC 391.036 requires Praxis tests completed within ten years before application. Most licenses need Praxis Core (Reading, Writing, and Mathematics), a grade-band Principles of Learning and Teaching test, and any content tests for the endorsement. NDE accepts Core forms 5712/5722/5732, 5713/5723/5733, or a mix.
Source: doe.nv.gov
Use approved Core exceptions if you qualify
NDE waives Praxis Core for an equivalent basic-skills test, a qualifying GRE at or above the midpoint with a master's or higher earned within ten years, an SAT of at least 1100, or an ACT of at least 21 (scores accepted up to ten years). Regulation 0067-24 also allows a Department-approved course of study completed with a grade of B or better after a failed Core subtest.
Source: doe.nv.gov
Apply through OPAL and pay the new-application fee
Create an Online Portal for Application and Licensure (OPAL) account and submit the electronic application with transcripts, score reports, and fingerprinting. NDE lists a $210 nonrefundable fee for new applications or reapplications of expired licenses. All licensing fees are nonrefundable under NAC 391.045.
Source: doe.nv.gov
Receive a Standard or Professional license, or a three-year provisional
A Standard license is five years for educators who meet all requirements and do not hold a graduate degree. A Professional license is six years for those with a master's or higher plus at least five years of verifiable full-time teaching. Applicants who still have testing or limited coursework deficiencies may receive a three-year non-renewable provisional license.
Source: doe.nv.gov
Nevada still runs a full Praxis stack—Core, pedagogy, and content—rather than a single content exam. The ten-year recency rule in NAC 391.036 means older passing scores can expire even for experienced teachers who let a license lapse and then reapply. NDE's willingness to mix old Core forms (5712/5722/5732) with new forms (5713/5723/5733) helps people who passed two subtests on the prior generation, but it does not extend scores beyond the ten-year window. Candidates should pull ETS score reports before they pay the $210 OPAL fee so a missing PLT does not become a provisional condition they did not expect.
The Standard versus Professional distinction is degree-and-experience based, not a residency program. Educators without a graduate degree receive a five-year Standard license even if they have long classroom careers. The six-year Professional license requires both a master's or higher and at least five years of verifiable full-time teaching. That split affects renewal calendars and is easy to miss when a master's is in progress: OPAL will not automatically issue the longer term until the degree and experience are documented. Retiree licenses are a separate six-year option after 15 years of Nevada public, charter, or private school service.
Provisional licensure is Nevada's pressure valve for almost-qualified traditional applicants. NAC 391.056 lets the Superintendent issue a three-year non-renewable license when testing is unfinished or when credit deficiencies are six semester hours or less. Those provisions print on the license and must be cleared before expiration or the educator cannot convert to Standard or Professional. Unlike some states' renewable intern licenses, this provisional is a one-term catch-up document. Traditional completers should not treat it as an alternative route; it is a deficiency wrapper around an otherwise regular application.
Fees are high relative to neighboring states and are explicitly nonrefundable once paid in OPAL. The published schedule is $210 for new or expired-license reapplications, $180 for on-time renewals, $80 per added endorsement, and $30 for a single six-month extension. A $25 military discount applies to new applications and renewals for active duty, retired, and veteran service members and their spouses when a military ID or DD214—and a marriage certificate for spouses—is uploaded. Additional endorsements are not eligible for that discount. Paying before transcripts arrive is a common way to lose $210 without a finished evaluation.
Required exams and fees
Nevada uses ETS Praxis Core, Principles of Learning and Teaching, and content assessments (NAC 391.036). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators (Reading, Writing, Mathematics)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching (K–6, 5–9, or 7–12)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis content assessments — endorsement specific
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Nevada certification exams, Nevada Department of Education — Educator Licensure. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Renew current licenses in OPAL up to nine months before expiration for $180. A one-time six-month extension is available for $30 no more than six months before expiration. Additional endorsements are $80 each. A $25 military discount applies to new applications and renewals for eligible service members, veterans, retirees, and spouses with required documentation.
Moving a license to Nevada
Applicants who hold a valid, non-conditional, non-provisional, unexpired educator license from another state or country may be eligible for reciprocal Nevada licensure. Reciprocity still runs through OPAL and is subject to Nevada fingerprinting and any remaining competency-testing rules. NDE does not reciprocate Alternative Route to Licensure licenses from other jurisdictions.
Official Nevada reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Nevada
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Nevada; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $109,420
- Employed
- 2,490
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $88,810
- Employed
- 1,320
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $65,040
- Employed
- 9,550
- Projected growth
- +1.2%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $66,300
- Employed
- 3,910
- Projected growth
- +1.2%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $65,520
- Employed
- 8,920
- Projected growth
- +1.5%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Nevada, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Nevada
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Nevada subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Nevada preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
How much is a new Nevada educator license?
NDE lists $210 for new applications or reapplications of previous/expired licenses. Renewals are $180. All licensing fees are nonrefundable under NAC 391.045 once paid in OPAL.
Can SAT or ACT scores replace Praxis Core in Nevada?
Yes, if the SAT is at least 1100 or the ACT is at least 21 and the scores are no more than ten years old. NDE also lists GRE, equivalent basic-skills tests, and an approved B-or-better coursework option after a failed Core subtest.
How long is a Nevada Standard teaching license valid?
Five years. A Professional license is valid for six years when the educator holds a master's or more advanced degree and at least five years of verifiable full-time teaching.
What if I have not finished all Praxis tests?
NAC 391.056 allows a three-year non-renewable provisional license so an otherwise qualified applicant can complete required tests. Provisions must be removed before the license expires.
References
- Nevada Department of Education — Educator Licensure. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete academic preparation and student teaching. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Pass required Praxis competency tests. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Apply through OPAL and pay the new-application fee. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.