Alternative Teacher Certification in Idaho
The short answer
Idaho’s non-traditional route is for bachelor’s-degree holders who enroll in ABCTE, CSI, LCSC, or Teach For America, demonstrate content knowledge, and teach as teacher of record on a three-year Interim Certificate while completing a two-year mentor program plus Idaho Comprehensive Literacy and any required Teaching Mathematical Thinking coursework. The interim application fee is $100. Completers then pay $75 for the five-year renewable certificate.
- Hold a bachelor’s degree and choose an Idaho non-traditional program
- Demonstrate content knowledge
- Apply for the three-year non-traditional Interim Certificate
- Complete mentoring, ICLC, and any MTI/TMT conditions
Key takeaways
- Idaho’s non-traditional route is for bachelor’s-degree holders who enroll in ABCTE, CSI, LCSC, or Teach For America, demonstrate content knowledge, and teach as teacher of record on a three-year Interim Certificate while completing a two-year mentor program plus Idaho Comprehensive Literacy and any required Teaching Mathematical Thinking coursework. The interim application fee is $100. Completers then pay $75 for the five-year renewable certificate.
- Hold a bachelor’s degree and choose an Idaho non-traditional program
- Demonstrate content knowledge
- Apply for the three-year non-traditional Interim Certificate
Idaho alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Idaho State Department of Education — Educator Certification publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Hold a bachelor’s degree and choose an Idaho non-traditional program
Non-traditional routes serve candidates who already hold a baccalaureate degree. Idaho recognizes American Board (ABCTE), College of Southern Idaho, Lewis-Clark State College, and Teach For America. Each program has its own content areas, mentoring model, and approximate program cost published on the Be an Educator page.
Source: sde.idaho.gov
Demonstrate content knowledge
ABCTE candidates pass ABCTE subject-area and Professional Teaching Knowledge assessments. CSI, LCSC, and TFA candidates typically pass Praxis II in the subject they will teach, or meet CSI/LCSC content-qualifier rules (bachelor’s in the content area, Praxis, or the Uniform Standard for Evaluating Content Competency rubric).
Source: sde.idaho.gov
Apply for the three-year non-traditional Interim Certificate
Submit the Idaho Educator Certification Application, $100 fee, Background Investigation Check, official transcripts showing a baccalaureate degree, and the program-specific letter or ABCTE certificate. During the three-year interim, you must be an Idaho teacher of record in a certified assignment.
Source: sde.idaho.gov
Complete mentoring, ICLC, and any MTI/TMT conditions
Complete a two-year State Board–approved mentor program with successful evaluations, the Idaho Comprehensive Literacy Course or Assessment, and Teaching Mathematical Thinking if your endorsement requires it. Meet every condition printed on the interim credential within the three-year validity period.
Source: sde.idaho.gov
Apply as an Interim Certificate Completer for the five-year renewable certificate
After all interim conditions are met, apply as an Interim Certificate Completer with the $75 fee, mentor recommendation, and literacy/math documentation. A new background check is not required for this conversion.
Source: sde.idaho.gov
Idaho’s alternative pipeline is unusually explicit about being a teacher of record. The Interim Certificate for Non-traditional Candidates page states that during the three-year validity period the applicant must be an Idaho teacher of record in a certified assignment and meet every condition listed on the credential. That employment tie distinguishes Idaho from states that issue a provisional license before a job is secured. Districts that hire a candidate still finishing ABCTE are steered toward Alternative Authorization–Content Specialist rather than the non-traditional interim.
The four recognized providers are not interchangeable. ABCTE is a self-paced online sequence ending in ABCTE subject and Professional Teaching Knowledge tests and a Classroom Ready Certificate, followed by clinical experience under a mentor in the first interim year. CSI and LCSC build Individualized Learning Plans, Praxis or rubric-based content proof, pedagogy modules, and Idaho’s Common Summative Assessment. Teach For America adds a summer bootcamp, two Boise State courses in year one, and six graduate credits or equivalent in year two. The Be an Educator page publishes approximate program costs for ABCTE, CSI, and LCSC; those are provider tuition figures, not Idaho certification fees.
State-specific coursework is a hard conversion gate. All interim candidates must complete the Idaho Comprehensive Literacy Course or Assessment. All Subjects K–8, special education, and mathematics endorsements also carry Mathematical Thinking for Instruction / Teaching Mathematical Thinking. The signed District/Charter and Mentor Recommendation for Non-Traditional Completers must accompany the five-year application. Missing either the mentor documentation or the literacy/math condition keeps the educator on interim status until the three-year window closes.
Fee structure splits the alternate path from the traditional graduate path. Non-traditional interim applications are $100; converting as an Interim Certificate Completer is $75 and does not require a new background check. Traditional Idaho program graduates pay $75 at the outset. Alternative Authorizations for Content Specialist, pupil service, and Teacher-to-New routes are published at $100 on the 2026–2027 Alternative Authorizations packet. Candidates should not assume the first fee they pay covers conversion to the five-year renewable certificate.
Required exams and fees
Idaho uses ETS Praxis content and performance assessments (Idaho State Board–approved). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Praxis II content assessment or ABCTE subject and professional teaching assessments
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Idaho certification exams, Idaho SDE — Interim Certificate for Non-traditional Candidates. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
The three-year interim is a conditions-based credential, not a standard renewable license. Convert to the five-year renewable certificate as an Interim Certificate Completer ($75) after mentoring and state-specific coursework. Thereafter renew under Idaho’s standard renewal application ($75).
Moving a license to Idaho
Non-traditional interim certificates are Idaho employment-and-program pathways, not a transfer of another state’s alternate credential. Out-of-state licensed teachers use the separate Certificate for Out-of-State Applicants page. Educators who cannot renew an expired out-of-state certificate may enter ABCTE, CSI, LCSC, or Teach For America to obtain an Idaho interim.
Official Idaho reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Idaho
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Idaho. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $101,090
- Employed
- 1,830
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $101,200
- Employed
- 870
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $61,600
- Employed
- 6,850
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $60,930
- Employed
- 2,360
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $61,690
- Employed
- 6,570
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Idaho, May 2025. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Idaho
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Idaho subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2025-2026. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Idaho preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
How long is the Idaho non-traditional Interim Certificate valid?
It is a three-year interim certificate. During that period you must be an Idaho teacher of record and complete all conditions on the credential to qualify for a five-year renewable certificate.
What is the fee for a non-traditional interim certificate?
The Interim Certificate for Non-traditional Candidates page lists a $100.00 application fee. Converting later as an Interim Certificate Completer is $75.00.
Do ABCTE candidates also take Praxis?
The Department’s certification FAQ states that Praxis is not required if you took the ABCTE test. Additional certificates or endorsements added later through a traditional program may require Praxis.
Which non-traditional programs does Idaho recognize?
The Be an Educator page lists American Board (ABCTE), College of Southern Idaho, Lewis-Clark State College, and Teach For America.
References
- Idaho SDE — Interim Certificate for Non-traditional Candidates. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Hold a bachelor’s degree and choose an Idaho non-traditional program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Apply as an Interim Certificate Completer for the five-year renewable certificate. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Idaho State Department of Education — Educator Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Idaho certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.