How to Become a Teacher in Idaho
The short answer
Idaho traditional candidates complete an approved college or university educator preparation program with student teaching, pass State Board–approved Praxis assessments, obtain an Institutional Recommendation, and apply by mail with official transcripts and a $75 fee. A Background Investigation Check is required unless a qualifying Idaho BIC was completed for student teaching within three years. Completers receive an instructional certificate that renews on a five-year cycle.
- Complete an Idaho-approved educator preparation program
- Pass Idaho-required Praxis assessments
- Obtain an Institutional Recommendation and official transcripts
- Complete a Background Investigation Check if required
Key takeaways
- Idaho traditional candidates complete an approved college or university educator preparation program with student teaching, pass State Board–approved Praxis assessments, obtain an Institutional Recommendation, and apply by mail with official transcripts and a $75 fee. A Background Investigation Check is required unless a qualifying Idaho BIC was completed for student teaching within three years. Completers receive an instructional certificate that renews on a five-year cycle.
- Complete an Idaho-approved educator preparation program
- Pass Idaho-required Praxis assessments
- Obtain an Institutional Recommendation and official transcripts
Idaho certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Idaho State Department of Education — Educator Certification publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete an Idaho-approved educator preparation program
Finish a college or university educator preparation program that includes coursework, required assessments, and student teaching. Idaho lists approved in-state institutions on its Be an Educator page. Candidates hired during the student-teaching year may work with the hiring school on an Alternative Authorization.
Source: sde.idaho.gov
Pass Idaho-required Praxis assessments
The State Board of Education uses Praxis as the approved content and performance assessment for certification. Idaho graduates submit an official Praxis score sheet with the application; electronic ETS transmission to the Department is not accepted.
Source: sde.idaho.gov
Obtain an Institutional Recommendation and official transcripts
The College of Education at the Idaho institution completes the Institutional Recommendation verifying an Idaho certification program. Submit official transcripts from all colleges attended, verifying certification and endorsement areas.
Source: sde.idaho.gov
Complete a Background Investigation Check if required
Submit a completed Background Investigation Check packet and processing fee unless you completed an Idaho Department of Education BIC for student teaching within three years of the certification application.
Source: sde.idaho.gov
Apply for the Initial Certificate for Idaho Graduates
Mail a complete packet—application, $75 fee, transcripts, Institutional Recommendation, Praxis score sheet, and BIC if needed—to Idaho Teacher Certification. Check with your college first; some institutions submit on behalf of graduates.
Source: sde.idaho.gov
Idaho still processes traditional graduate applications as paper packets mailed to Teacher Certification in Boise rather than through a fully self-service online portal. That workflow makes completeness the real gate: the Department will not process an application until the signed form, non-refundable $75 fee, official transcripts, Institutional Recommendation, Praxis score sheet, and Background Investigation Check (when required) are all in hand. Electronic Praxis reports cannot be sent from ETS to the Department, so candidates must include a score sheet in the packet. Graduates should confirm with their College of Education whether the institution files on their behalf or they must mail the packet themselves.
Praxis is the State Board of Education’s approved content and performance assessment for certification. Traditional completers take the endorsement-aligned Praxis tests required by their program. American Board (ABCTE) completers are treated differently: the Department’s certification FAQ states that Praxis is not required when the candidate used ABCTE assessments, though adding later endorsements through a traditional program may still require Praxis. Cut scores and test fees are published by ETS, not as a single dollar amount on Idaho’s certification pages.
Idaho’s literacy and mathematics conditions are distinctive state overlays. Educators working on interim certificates—including alternate authorizations, non-traditional routes, reinstatement, and many out-of-state entrants—must complete a State Board–approved Idaho Comprehensive Literacy Course or the Idaho Comprehensive Literacy Assessment before a standard instructional certificate is issued. Candidates with All Subjects K–8, special education, or mathematics endorsements may also be required to complete Mathematical Thinking for Instruction / Teaching Mathematical Thinking. Those courses sit beside Praxis rather than replacing it.
Out-of-state mobility is certificate-forward, not exam-only. The official out-of-state application accepts a current, valid credential from another state after a state-approved program, or a CAEP/AAQEP institutional recommendation if the program was finished in the last two calendar years. Applicants without a current credential must document content testing. The Department will not accept an expired out-of-state certificate; the published remedy is to renew that credential first, then apply, or to enter a non-traditional Idaho route such as ABCTE, CSI, LCSC, or Teach For America.
Required exams and fees
Idaho uses ETS Praxis content and performance assessments (Idaho State Board–approved). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Praxis content and performance assessments — endorsement-specific
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Idaho certification exams, Idaho State Department of Education — Be an Educator. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Renew through the Idaho Educator Certification Application. The Department’s application form lists a $75 renewal fee when renewing certificate types (one fee covers multiple certificate types renewed together).
Moving a license to Idaho
Idaho’s out-of-state page accepts a current, valid out-of-state certificate issued after full completion of a state-approved certification program, or a CAEP- or AAQEP-approved program completed in the last two years. Content assessment is required when applying with an institutional recommendation instead of a current credential. Expired out-of-state certificates are not accepted until renewed. Many out-of-state and interim holders must complete the Idaho Comprehensive Literacy Course or Assessment (and Teaching Mathematical Thinking where indicated) before the five-year renewable certificate.
Official Idaho reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Idaho
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Idaho. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $101,090
- Employed
- 1,830
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $101,200
- Employed
- 870
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $61,600
- Employed
- 6,850
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $60,930
- Employed
- 2,360
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $61,690
- Employed
- 6,570
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Idaho, May 2025. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Idaho
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Idaho subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2025-2026. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Idaho preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
How much is the Idaho traditional certification application fee?
The Initial Certificate for Idaho Graduates page lists a $75.00 application fee, payable to the Idaho Department of Education. Payment is non-refundable.
Does Idaho use Praxis for teacher certification?
Yes. The Educator Certification FAQ states that Praxis is the State Board–approved content and performance assessment used for Idaho certification. Register through the Praxis website for the tests aligned to your endorsement.
Can I apply if my out-of-state teaching certificate is expired?
No. Idaho’s out-of-state applicants page states the office cannot accept applications from educators whose out-of-state certification has expired. Renew that certificate first, or pursue a non-traditional Idaho interim route.
Do Idaho graduates need a new background check?
A completed Background Investigation Check packet is required unless you completed an Idaho Department of Education BIC for student teaching within three years of applying for certification.
References
- Idaho State Department of Education — Be an Educator. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Pass Idaho-required Praxis assessments. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Obtain an Institutional Recommendation and official transcripts. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Idaho certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.